473rl Reviews (17 total, avg. review: 4.8 out of 5)

Add your Review
4/12/2017
Terry Fairbrother , Rotorua Verified Owner

This boat has been amazing!!!Unsinkable, kids love it they can lie down in it, climb in and out of it easily, move around in it without hurting themselves. It was perfect for a five-day trip on Lake Waikaremoana, the 5-year-old went to sleep in it on long sections of our trip- quite comfortable.It is really reassuring to know that even if it gets swamped you can paddle it to shore. It has had so much use this summer, down rivers over lakes along the rocks on the coast. Sometimes with two adults and two kids, sometimes with one adult and camping gear for 5 days-perfect.

It does slip sideways a bit with a strong side wind. I have experimented with strapping a rectangular section down pipe under it as a keel, this has worked very well still perfecting attachment, thinking of using aluminium brackets.No hesitation recommending the one and only Sea Eagle 473RL. Takes no room to store, can transport it in any car, very safe, awesome.Service and support from the Sea Eagle team great.

1/17/2017
Michael Wesseler , Loveland Verified Owner

We love our Sea Eagle tandem inflatable kayak. It is perfect for taking on our RV camping trips, as the oversized backpack with the kayak and pump in it fits in the back seat of our mid-sized truck for handy use anywhere we want to paddle. We used it in the Thousand Islands St. Lawrence Seaway area of Ontario,various small lakes and on Lake Superior during our 6 week extended trip there last summer. It only takes about 15 minutes to set up and tracks smoothly through the water, doesn't get blown around like the balloon-sided old style inflatable we used to have. No need to have a rooftop carrier or trailer.

1/6/2017
Thomas Boinay , SHEFFIELD Verified Owner

my wife and I were happily waiting for the arrival of our new baby back in the summer before our vacation time in New Hampshire.we gave it life with the electric air pump we had ordered along with the eagle and it fulfilled all our expectations. easy up, easy to handle,easy down and easy stow away for the next outing. We did three different ponds and lakes , each a bit different than the next and the eagle

handled all the variations. Very comfortable seating, paddling a breeze with the low sideboards. All in all we are very satisfied with our eagleand have already recommended your company to others. Thanks for the fine design.Tom & Donna Boinay

12/12/2016
Brooks Bell , Los Gatos, CA Verified Owner
Brooks Bell's boat

Very happy with the RazorLite 473rl. Rugged enough for the lakes I've been using it on. Throw it in the back of the Cherokee and we go. Tracks great and makes good time even in a headwind. We take our dog and he's got enough room to move around (35lbs - I don't know if it would be big enough for a much larger dog).I ended up getting the motorized pump. It can be run off the car battery but I've been using the portable battery. Everything sets up fast. Will be faster once I remember the valve operation - I've used it about once every two months and it still takes me two tries to recall how they go.

In Northern California there are inspections to prevent invasive species unless you get the boat "locked" when you leave the lake. The lock is a cable tie like plastic piece. They can run it through two of the D-Rings to prevent the boat from being used without detaching it. This means that I can't hose the boat off at home (deflate it and lock it at the location). But it hasn't been a problem.

3/4/2016
Lon Kincannon , Lakewood, Washington Verified Owner
Lon Kincannon's boat Lon Kincannon's boat

Tested out a "Sea Eagle RazorliteĀ® 473RL" (2 paddler) inflatable kayak this afternoon. It arrived in the shipping box at my house at 2:30 pm and I was paddling it near by American Lake at 4:30. I'm really glad that I bought the electric pump. This way I spend my time paddling and not pumping. Had no problem paddling it like a canoe (with a canoe paddle not the kayak paddle). It's very good at holding a straight line when paddling on one side for 20 or more strokes yet is easy to maneuver. Easily got it up to 11:30 min/mile pace. Had a short sprint of 7:53 min/mile (probably wind aided). Tried to flip it when I finished paddling but it wouldn't go over. 38 pounds and folds up into a a very nice backpack for traveling. Plan on taking it to Australia for 2 weeks this May to keep in shape for long distance outrigger canoe racing in Hawaii this September and October. Rides well on J-racks on top of my small half ton Ranger pick-up truck.

I'm very happyI'll write another review when I return from Australia

1/8/2016
Don Baker , Newton Falls, OH Verified Owner

It's winter here so I have not been able to set up the boat yet, not to mention I just received it. I was disappointed that it was so heavy, and everything will not fit into the pack. Perhaps I didn't read the information carefully enough, but I thought I did. Anyhow, I am looking forward to trying it.

1/6/2016
William Goldman , Chapel Hill, NC Verified Owner
William Goldman's boat

See my blog post: https://www.vanscapes.net/blog/2015/12/23/sea-eagle-razorlite-inflatable-tandem-kayak-review