180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states, excluding RIBs) available through 9/30/2018
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 473rl Inflatable Kayak Reviews

2 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,299

473rl Reviews (20 total, avg. review: 4.7 out of 5)

6/6/2017
Rogier J , Zurich (CH) Verified Owner
Rogier J's boat Rogier J's boat

Got my 473rl about 1.5 years ago and took it for 25 shorter and longer trips (incl. overnight) on lakes and rivers in Switzerland. Setup is easy and fast and the kayak is stable but at the same time reasonably sleek and streamlined. With skeg, I am impressed with the tracking and without I gain maneuverability. It feels at home on gentle rivers and on lakes when not too windy. It's not intended for whitewater and I indeed found class 2 the upper limit because of the hard-nose bow and the limited self-bailing, I’m sure that the material can handle it though. For one person, it is a bit challenging to carry everything but handling on the water is ok and the flexibility to take a passenger is great. The backpack could be further developed, esp. for use with public transport: straps and clips quality, handles at the side, a bigger side pocket or an option to attach paddles. Overall, I am very happy and impressed with the kayak and looking forward to many trips this summer and to new waters with an Explorer 420x.

4/30/2017
Aaron Wilson , Idaho Falls, ID Verified Owner
Aaron Wilson's boat

We started our second season with our 473rl with an afternoon trip up the Snake River under the Perrine Bridge. Last year I seriously considered finding a canoe to get the family out on the water but I've always preferred kayaks. The 473rl has the best parts of both, cargo room of a canoe as well as the speed and double paddle of a hard body kayak, on top of that it fits in any vehicle without a rack system. It can be easily be reconfigured to distribute load (and people). Having run over many rocks (hitting hard and dragging bottom), I can vouch that 473rl is rugged. The “soft” bottom is super comfortable for kids to move around on and nap. Finally having the “speed” to travel against the wind and current is a safety issue in many settings and this boat performs as well as anything this size. So far I've done more than a hundred miles of rivers and lakes (mostly with kids). Looking forward to camping in spots that only a boat can access. In total the 473rl does everything I expected it to and more.

4/22/2017
James Wolf , NEW HOPE Verified Owner

We love this kayak!! It is very portable and easy to inflate with compressor pump. It is sturdy and strong. We enjoy that it's portability can take us to lakes , ponds and rivers. Thank you Sea Eagle

Sea Eagle's reply:

James Wolf, has the Sea Eagle approved BTP electric pump: www.seaeagle.com/Accessories/pumps/electric-turbo-pump

4/12/2017
Terry Fairbrother , Rotorua Verified Owner

This boat has been amazing!!!

Unsinkable, kids love it they can lie down in it, climb in and out of it easily, move around in it without hurting themselves. It was perfect for a five-day trip on Lake Waikaremoana, the 5-year-old went to sleep in it on long sections of our trip- quite comfortable.

It is really reassuring to know that even if it gets swamped you can paddle it to shore. It has had so much use this summer, down rivers over lakes along the rocks on the coast. Sometimes with two adults and two kids, sometimes with one adult and camping gear for 5 days-perfect.

more ▼
1/17/2017
Michael Wesseler , Loveland Verified Owner

We love our Sea Eagle tandem inflatable kayak. It is perfect for taking on our RV camping trips, as the oversized backpack with the kayak and pump in it fits in the back seat of our mid-sized truck for handy use anywhere we want to paddle. We used it in the Thousand Islands St. Lawrence Seaway area of Ontario,various small lakes and on Lake Superior during our 6 week extended trip there last summer. It only takes about 15 minutes to set up and tracks smoothly through the water, doesn't get blown around like the balloon-sided old style inflatable we used to have. No need to have a rooftop carrier or trailer.

1/6/2017
Thomas Boinay , SHEFFIELD Verified Owner

my wife and I were happily waiting for the arrival of our new baby back in the summer before our vacation time in New Hampshire.

we gave it life with the electric air pump we had ordered along with the eagle and it fulfilled all our expectations. easy up, easy to handle,

easy down and easy stow away for the next outing. We did three different ponds and lakes , each a bit different than the next and the eagle

more ▼
12/12/2016
Brooks Bell , Los Gatos, CA Verified Owner
Brooks Bell's boat

Very happy with the RazorLite 473rl. Rugged enough for the lakes I've been using it on. Throw it in the back of the Cherokee and we go. Tracks great and makes good time even in a headwind. We take our dog and he's got enough room to move around (35lbs - I don't know if it would be big enough for a much larger dog).

I ended up getting the motorized pump. It can be run off the car battery but I've been using the portable battery. Everything sets up fast. Will be faster once I remember the valve operation - I've used it about once every two months and it still takes me two tries to recall how they go.

more ▼
3/4/2016
Lon Kincannon , Lakewood, Washington Verified Owner
Lon Kincannon's boat Lon Kincannon's boat

Tested out a "Sea Eagle Razorlite® 473RL" (2 paddler) inflatable kayak this afternoon. It arrived in the shipping box at my house at 2:30 pm and I was paddling it near by American Lake at 4:30. I'm really glad that I bought the electric pump. This way I spend my time paddling and not pumping. Had no problem paddling it like a canoe (with a canoe paddle not the kayak paddle). It's very good at holding a straight line when paddling on one side for 20 or more strokes yet is easy to maneuver. Easily got it up to 11:30 min/mile pace. Had a short sprint of 7:53 min/mile (probably wind aided). Tried to flip it when I finished paddling but it wouldn't go over. 38 pounds and folds up into a a very nice backpack for traveling. Plan on taking it to Australia for 2 weeks this May to keep in shape for long distance outrigger canoe racing in Hawaii this September and October. Rides well on J-racks on top of my small half ton Ranger pick-up truck.

more ▼
1/8/2016
Don Baker , Newton Falls, OH Verified Owner

It's winter here so I have not been able to set up the boat yet, not to mention I just received it. I was disappointed that it was so heavy, and everything will not fit into the pack. Perhaps I didn't read the information carefully enough, but I thought I did. Anyhow, I am looking forward to trying it.

1/6/2016
William Goldman , Chapel Hill, NC Verified Owner
William Goldman's boat

See my blog post: https://www.vanscapes.net/blog/2015/12/23/sea-eagle-razorlite-inflatable-tandem-kayak-review

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images