Sea Eagle 473rl Inflatable Kayaks and Canoe Reviews

2 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,499

Guy Abbate Verified Owner 6/13/2021 2.0 out of 5 stars.

In general I am very disappointed with the product and at this point wish I hadn't purchased it.

My primary complaint is that I find the kayak too narrow and unstable. I've spent some time trying

show full review ▼

to devise an outrigger, similar to something you see on Polynesian canoes. I also experienced significant

difficulty inserting and removing the foot rests. Both factors have played a major role in the kayak remaining in

storage while we use our individual kayaks for routine local trips.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Thank you for the review. We offer a 120 day return policy for any reason.

Otherwise we'd be very happy to offer you assistance in the use of your boat. We hope we can make it work for you and get you out there enjoying your RazorLite.

Feel free to reach out at anytime.

Norbert Doll Verified Owner 6/12/2021 3.0 out of 5 stars.

I wish I had known about a shorter version of this boat.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Thank you for the review. Please feel free to contact us and we can assist you in the use or your boat.

Rowan Richardson Verified Owner 5/3/2021 5.0 out of 5 stars.

We bought this kayak last year to offset being isolated for C-19, what better way to be outside than on the SF bay every Sunday? It's been great in calm and rough weather, it regularly sees 2ft swells out in the bay and when we can, we put the sail up and cruise (likely in higher winds than recommended). We ballast the front of the kayak with 3 x 1 gallon ziplock bags filled with water to offset our weight difference (I'm 120lbs heavier than my wife). We leave it inflated and haven't noticed any issues with doing that. Overall a great purchase!

Dennis Marquis Verified Owner 4/30/2021 3.0 out of 5 stars.

It is my estimation the the Sea Eagle 473RL is not for experienced novices.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Thank you for the review Dennis. As listed on the RazorLite page we recommend it for intermediate paddlers. We firmly believe you can improve very quickly and we'd be very happy to help.

Please feel free to contact us anytime.

Basil G Smith Verified Owner 4/24/2021 4.0 out of 5 stars.

I really like the boat but it feels a bit unsteady as if it will easily tip over. Otherwise I really like it.

Todd Kelsey Verified Owner 4/24/2021 5.0 out of 5 stars.

First, a huge shout out to Sea Eagle for not raising their prices during the pandemic like other businesses. We have had our kayak out many times on NC lakes and rivers. Initially, it felt tippy but once realizing it's quite stable side to side that disappeared. It is super easy to transport and within 10 minutes using the standard pump we're ready to hit the water. It also packs back down really fast. Drying out after use has also been easy. We plan to load it up for some barrier island camping this spring and summer. The engineering is very impressive. The hulls and rudder are a softer plastic so I just put black gorilla tape to help protect them from scratching. Finally, a shout out to a kind soul in Portland that has owned this kayak for years, created several complimentary youtube videos, and answered several questions before we purchased. Sea Eagle is a great example of a small company doing business the right way.

Eliezer Benitez Verified Owner 3/1/2021 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Well made, portable, ideal if you life in a small apartment in a big city

F C Verified Owner 1/3/2021 4.0 out of 5 stars.

I paddle surfskis and high-end sea kayaks. I wanted a tandem that I could handle by myself when I go out with my kids, so a heavy poly boat wouldn't work. I am impressed by the 473rl performance. Great boat, durable construction, setup takes less than 10 minutes with an electric pump. Exceeded my expectations.

show full review ▼

I bought an used one that was like new other than for some scuffs. Delivery was on time even during the pandemic chaos.

The not so good:

- The included paddles are too heavy and too long. Invest in a good lightweight paddles to improve your experience.

- It lacks a handle around the middle of the kayak to be carried by a single person on land. I am improvising with a strap.

- The older version had seat hooks and pegs for solo paddling. The new one switched that by better footpegs. It is still possible to go solo, but the seat attachment is funky and no footpegs.

- It's very hard to put the kayak back in the backpack. Not a big deal as it usually goes from car trunk to water directly.

Mauricio Mesa Verified Owner 10/27/2020 4.0 out of 5 stars.

I love this kayak, there is only one thing that will make you hate it at first, that being the foot rest or Flex-brace system as they call it. So, if you find yourself setting up your kayak in 10 just minutes but spending 20 minutes or more installing or removing the aluminum rods from the feet flex-brace don't panic, after cutting my fingers trying to do so I contacted SeaEagle, they suggested to cut half a cm of each rod which makes the task easier, now you know. Besides this the kayak is great, quick set-up, with their car electric pump it takes 5 minutes to inflate. Glides easily and fast on the water. It's on the shaky side, so it takes a bit to get your balance, if you're a nervous person better pick a wider one like the Fast-track or explorer models. As for the looks, you'll never think is inflatable, it's fun when people see you deflating it in 5 seconds before start folding it. It's on the heavy side, hard for just one person to carry, so I got a cart for it. The carrying bag should be bigger.

Yves Bergevin Verified Owner 10/9/2020 5.0 out of 5 stars.

We have used the 473 RazorLite for one year now and it is truly wonderful. It is the fastest inflatable kayak we have ever used, is nearly as fast as a hard shell kayak, tracks superbly and will accommodate 2 people with gear. We have used it in varying conditions, including 3-foot waves and winds to 20 knots. For training and safety, we have tested re-entry in 3-foot waves; it is easy to re-enter the boat if capsized (we recommend attaching the boat to your life jacket with a rope if there is heavy wind so that you are not separated from the boat, and having leashes for your paddles and scupper, the latter to remove the remaining water). In order to be fast, it has to be narrow (30 inches) and so it is a bit less stable than wide slower kayaks; you get to appreciate the speed and ease of paddle from its narrow hull. It is wonderfully light and easy to carry / portage. It folds easily and fits neatly in its bag opening endless possibilities beyond those of hardshell kayaks. Highly recommended.