Main Content
Due to high order and call volume we are seeing delays in processing and customer service wait times.
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968

Sea Eagle 393rl Inflatable Kayaks and Canoe Reviews

2 Discount Packages available. starting at $999

393rl Reviews (70 total, avg. review: 4.7 out of 5)

8/26/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Rick Clark , Tampa, Florida Verified Owner

If you want a high-performance inflatable kayak, it's hard to do better than the RazorLite 393; especially for the price. If you’ve read many reviews, you already know how most 393RL owners feel about this kayak. Instead of echoing all the praise, I’ll just say that I recently bought a RazorLite, and I’m about to buy another for my companion. Even then I’ll have spent less on both than it would cost to get just one hard shell kayak of similar quality and performance. The best advice I can give anyone is to contact Sea Eagle’s “Hawaiian Dan.” He’s the fellow who does the informative instructional videos. Dan can answer any question you could possibly think of about the 393RL, or any other Sea Eagle product.

6/10/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Matt Soeffner , Mesa Verified Owner
Matt Soeffner's boat

I just upgraded to the 393RL for another brand and wow, what an upgrade!

The kayak is impressive with its rigid bow & drop stitch design which rivals the design of a hard shell kayak.

I was able to average 3.5 mph on my first outing at a comfortable cruising speed, there is definitely a lot more speed with extra effort.

Tracking is straight and true with its large skeg, although maybe too tall as it hit a few rocks in shallow water where my other kayak would not have.

show full review ▼

The 393RL is amazing with heavy wind & cuts right through it & resists weathercocking very well.

In terms of comfort the 393RL has an amazing seat! The tall back seat is very comfortable even after 5 hours on the lake.

Only thing I would change is a better carrying bag. My other inflatable came with an oversized bag which could hold the kayak, seat & pump.

Its quite a squeeze with the 393RL bag & definitely isn't fitting the seat.

Still, its an amazing package if you're looking to do more than just float on a body of water.

6/8/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Adam Johnson , Charlotte, NC Verified Owner

I upgraded from the SE330 to the Razrolite 393 because I am on the river all day performing primatological research on wild macaques in Florida. This boat glides so smoothly and quickly in the water. It performs very well while travelling upstream. It stays straight as an arrow but even with the skeg inserted, is incredibly responsive. I am incredibly pleased with the quality of this kayak. It is allowing me to perform my research and feel safe while not fatiguing me.

5/30/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Judi Vitale , Pittsburgh, PA Verified Owner

WOW. I was skeptical about whether an inflatable kayak could satisfy my needs, but the people at SeaEagle have developed one awesome product. As an older (and kind of small) woman, lifting a regular kayak on to my German motor sport car seemed like a possible, and quite expensive, disaster. Today I pu this inflatable kayak in the river for the first time, and it was a fabulous experience. It inflated rapidly, even with the hand pump, and it handles as well as some kevlar I have piloted. The people I was with looked at me kind of funny while I was inflating it, but when I glided past them and their plastic "tubs" in the water, they all wanted to know where they could get one!

1/13/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Robert Worthley , Ventura, CA Verified Owner

Received my boat on 1/7/16, a day earlier than scheduled. Customer service, purchase and shipping notification process were great. On morning of Saturday the 9th, with very light rain, launched from a dock at Ventura marina. Age 77, am retired Navy and manufacturing, I'm used to a SUP board and cycling. I found the RazorLite to be quite stable from the outset. Speed-wise, I was faster than folks walking at a good clip. No hard shells with which to compare. Tracking was outstanding ... straight as an arrow whether padding or "coasting." After an hour of padding in the harbor, I headed for the open sea. Encountered wakes from large fishing vessels and purposely hit them nose in and angled. Some pitch and yaw, but easy to retain balance and remain in control. There was slight to medium chop once out of the harbor. I had to work against the tide a bit reentering but with very little difficulty.

show full review ▼

Summary: I love the RazorLite and look forward to using it in other environments.

1/7/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. George Astle , Schenectady, NY Verified Owner

my kayak arrived in a timely manner. I am most happy with its performance not tippy for what it is it's fast enough. Very maneuverable, Folds down to a small enough package that I can take it along on my Motorcycle. I am considering buying another Kayak the 380.

1/6/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Jessie Stewart Verified Owner

One of the best purchases I've made in years. Every time I went out this summer and fall people would stop to ask about it and were amazed how how simple it was to inflate/deflate/stow and carry. Please treat yourself right and upgrade to the lightest paddle. The seat is comfortable with plenty of storage on the back and easy to adjust while in the kayak if needed. My dog Pirate always looks forward to going for a ride. Thank you for this design!

1/6/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. John Scollon , Chapin, SC Verified Owner

Truly love this boat! Had it almost a year now, and I've really been getting my money's worth out of it. It's so comfortable... I call it the "floating La Z Boy". I can slouch with my feet up on the sides, or dangling in the water with no loss of stability. Will buy from Sea Eagle again!

9/2/2015
4.5 out of 5 stars. R.G. posted on Paddling.net

We purchased two 393rl in late June 2015 and have been happy with their performance thus far. This is our first flat water kayak so we can't compare them to a hard shell kayak, we wanted an inflatable for the convenience of using a smaller vehicle to transport them and to store them with limited space. The kayak was fairly stable while getting in, making sure to keep weight centered/balanced. We have taken them out a half dozen times, all of which had low to high winds.

show full review ▼

The Razor Lite cuts right through the wind and waves, and in the highest winds we were quite impressed how well they moved. The foot brace is especially helpful in windy conditions. The seats are comfortable, although sometimes needed to pull the bottom front of the seat forward to create a slight incline for comfort, especially when wearing a PFD, we have learned to get the seat "right" before we get in and go. The inside of the kayak has a good deal of leg room, enough to lie down flat if you like (we are under 6' tall).

The D-rings behind the seat can also be used to tie down a small cooler, PFD and maybe a small storage bag. Our opinion on the removable skeg (when on) is that it's a hindrance, especially in a cross wind. The skeg seems to make it a treacherous chore to keep the kayak going straight and makes it harder to turn. We have decided to keep it off permanently. The stern and bow are so ridged that it tracks just fine on its own.

Pumping up the boat takes about 7-10 minutes. The pumps are tall and move very smoothly, you can stand up and pump with one hand till you get to about 7 psi, then it's a little work to get it to 10 lbs. The floor is nice and ridged and so is the entire structure of the kayak. The workmanship is of high quality, built to last. The outside stern and bow fabric has worn some, but seems stable, we are careful not to run up onto rocks, gravel, concrete or rough surfaces.

After using the kayaks we noticed there is hidden water under the floor, down the sides (inside) and in the bow and stern. We have decided to hang them in the carport to dry. For us, it is necessary to allow the kayak to dry a few days, before rolling up and storing in the bag. While paddling a little water does get in so we keep a small absorbent cloth in the drain hole area, this doubles as a way to keep the craft wiped out as debris gets in along the way. To experiment we opened the drain holes to see if it would self-drain, but it doesn't, lots of water came in real quick. We do not use the drains at all, flipping the kayak over is easier. There are a few little "cups" in the bow and stern that collect water also, putting a small cloth in there can get most of it out.

The ease of getting the kayak into the bag has taken some practice. We watched the SeaEagle video (how to), it was helpful. Don't see us ever getting the seat in the bag with the kayak. The backpack straps are padded and adjustable, and there is a spot on the outside to hang the pump/seat. We recommend watching any SeaEagle video they offer on performance, use and instruction.

So in conclusion, we love this kayak, IF it lasts us for the next 50 years it will be worth every penny. We have an old SeaEagle Explorer that is 30 yrs old this year, still in pretty good shape! Thanks SeaEagle

2/23/2015
4.0 out of 5 stars. KeithGD posted on Paddling.net

I bought a RazorLite 393rl at the end of 2014. Wasn't expecting to be able to take it out before March, but we're having a surprisingly mild February in the Rockies. I've taken the boat out twice: once for a couple of hours, the second time for four hours. I am 57 years old, 5'10", 185 lbs. I also own a Sea Eagle FastTrack 365 (original model), a Pathfinder IK, and a Native Watercraft Inuit 14.5 rotomolded kayak. Here are some initial impressions of the RazorLite.

show full review ▼

Build quality is as good as you'd expect for an IK costing over $1,000. It's well made.

The manual pump is impressive. Inflating all three chambers to 10 psi takes me only about 5 mins.--around 75 strokes per chamber. At 28 lbs., the boat is easy to carry.

When I got in for the first time, I was surprised at how tippy it felt. This is not your typical IK barge with round pontoon hulls, and I would be hesitant to lend it to a beginner. Under way, with my weight centered, the RazorLite feels quite stable. It has a flat bottom, but the bottom just isn't very wide, and it tapers towards bow and stern. If I shift my weight to one side past a certain point, the boat will lean suddenly and get my attention very quickly. I haven't yet tested the limits of its secondary stability to see how readily it will roll over.

I prefer to paddle with my knees raised. The seat is OK at first, but after about an hour it feels hard. I had to grasp the gunwales and lift my butt off the seat to restore circulation. In view of the tippiness, I'm reluctant to raise my center of gravity with much extra padding.

Sea Eagle provides a strap and a PVC pipe as a footrest, but I found it supports only my heels. I built myself a small wooden footrest to replace the pipe.

Sea Eagle promotes the boat as fast, capable of 5 mph. Paddling fairly hard but not all-out, I saw about 4 mph on my GPS. I was more comfortable cruising at around 3.5 mph. However, breeze and current made it hard to gauge speed through the water accurately, and I'm not yet sure how much faster the RazorLite is than my FastTrack.

One thing I'm sure about: tracking is outstanding, with very little yaw. The sharp bow and stern, together with the rear skeg, keep the boat gliding straight. It tracks much better than my other IKs or my Inuit hardshell, yet it's at least as maneuverable as they are. It turns easily with paddle strokes. I don't yet know whether it will hold an edge or allow leaned turns - which would be remarkable in an IK - or whether it will just capsize. (Hey, I'm on the water in February, in the Rockies, without a drysuit!)

The drop-stitch sidewalls of the hull are relatively narrow, and the boat collects more water off paddle blades than my FastTrack does. Also, this is not an easy boat to dry after a trip. On the FastTrack, the drop-stitch floor pulls out when deflated, and you can get a sponge or towel to all the crevices. On the RazorLite, each side of the drop-stitch floor is tape-welded permanently to the hull's side walls. I'm sure the designers had good reason to do that, but it means you can't get underneath the floor chamber with a towel. The two drain holes just forward of the skeg are specifically for clean-out, not for self-bailing, so they need to remain closed when on the water. They help when draining the boat after a trip, but water collects in the stern, under the dark blue aft deck.

The RazorLite has a hard-plastic bow and stern, inside of which is a grid of plastic dividers. They provide rigidity, but they create a series of deep pockets that retain water (and would collect sand and mud, too, I imagine). It's a little awkward to reach in there and clean them out. Flipping the boat drains much of the water but not all. I've used a sponge and towel. A ShopVac might help, too.

Pros:

well-built; tracks amazingly well; maneuvers well; feels pretty fast; feels stable unless leaned; inflates quickly; weighs only 28 lbs.

Cons:

tippy when leaned; difficult to clean and dry the inside; uncomfortable seat after an hour.