Sea Eagle 435ps Inflatable Boat Reviews

John Fettig Verified Owner 12/6/2018 3.0 out of 5 stars.

Hello,

We have used our boat one time after we purchased it last spring. The quality is very good, but it is too large and heavy for us. We had intended to keep it in our motorhome for occasional use when camping near water. In hindsight, we should have chosen a smaller, lighter two person kayak. I don't know if it is possible to trade-in our boat for something smaller....I have not checked into this with Sea Eagle. I'm just now fillng out this review after being prompted by email.

Renald Guillemette Verified Owner 2/4/2019 4.0 out of 5 stars.

In general, I have been very happy with the kayak. Quality seems very nice.

I did do an upgrade. I bought it with the electric motor. Securing the battery was a real issue the first time I used it. My upgrade was to use some 1/2 inch by 1/2 inch aluminum angle iron. Made a frame so the battery sat in it. Now with the supplied straps, the battery stays in place nicely. The battery lasts longer than I thought. The whole setup is very nice. When we feel for some exercise we use the oars, if we want to relax we use the motor.

show full review ▼

Very happy.

Ron,

Nate Goulet Verified Owner 5/8/2019 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Our Paddleski is 10 years old now. Wanted to upgrade my rating from 4 stars to 5.

I still feel it's your best inflatable kayak because of it's versatility. I don't have a truck to pull a boat, and it fit's concealed in my sedan's trunk! I have many accessories including an electric pump, a full sail rig for both up & down wind, and a Torqeedo 1003s motor, which is more powerful than the motors other IK's can handle. Check out the YouTube video with keywords "Torqeedo 1003s sur annexe" to see how fast this motor can go on an inflatable! Also check out the many sailing adventures people have posted using the Paddleski.Our boat has been up & down the east coast from Maine to Florida twice, launched in most states in between, and even flown as free luggage. It's been used in more than 100 locations, which keeps boating exciting for us. Ultimate sight seeing boat.

show full review ▼

Cheers to another 10 years!

Neal Schuster Verified Owner 6/30/2019 5.0 out of 5 stars.

We took our 435 Paddleski for its maiden voyage yesterday on the Milwaukee River. We bought it couple of months ago after moving into an apartment and selling our hard shell kayak and canoe. We used it as a tandem kayak in the River. It took us a maximum of 25 minutes from car to inflate, secure seats, ropes and paddle leashes to launch. It felt very stable and durable. Next time we are planning on using either the sail or rowing attachment or, both. Next year, we may add a motor transom and an electric motor.

C. Thompson Verified Owner 9/27/2019 4.0 out of 5 stars.

BEST purchase! Boat is so easy to use, very durable. Blowing it up with the foot pump really doesn't take very long. The only thing that was kind of a waste was the "sail" which I find unusable; nice idea, but I wouldn't suggest buying it. You can not control it. The part that we like best is the stability of the boat. It is very stable so getting 2 people in and out of it is easy. We ran into very choppy water, which made me nervous, but it handled like a pro. It is pretty cool when you see another person in a Sea Eagle, you will get a "Hey, a LOVE your boat!"

Mike Carter 7/29/2015 4.5 out of 5 stars.

I purchased the PaddleSki 435ps after much internet research. Having had hard shell sea kayaks for many years, I wanted something more portable. I was not disappointed. I purchased the pro carbon package, and then I added the sail kit.

show full review ▼

As a kayak the Paddle Ski performs exceptionally well . I added a 2.5 Suzuki outboard and it worked great. My wife and i used the sail option on our recent vacation. I must say, I have never sailed before, so it took some time to learn how to harness the wind. On a good day the sail option works very well. We were able to use the sail to navigate from one end of the lake to the other, then quickly switch to paddles to explore shallow hidden coves. I was very impresses.

The Sea Eagle PaddleSki exceeded my expectations. I look forward to taking it out again. I only gave it a 9 out of 10 due to the seat straps stitching coming undone, and the sea bag zipper breaking right off the bat. Both issues are minor fixes. Great product Sea Eagle!

ChuckB 6/30/2015 4.5 out of 5 stars.

I've had my PaddleSki for well over 10 years. This boat is incredibly durable, flexible and highly portable. I have never had a puncture despite many hours of paddling through shallows, scraping bottom on lake beds, streams and dragging onto shore. The ONLY puncture came from a mouse who decided to chew through the canvas cover and through the right pontoon and make a nest one year. This was quite a feat as the material used is just this side of impenetrable. Easily patched and back on the water in 24 hours after letting the patch cure.

show full review ▼

I have heavily modified my boat with the upgraded seats (highly recommended), sonar and transducer, anchor with pulley/trolly system, paddle clips, extra bungee lines, rod holders, etc. It is extremely stable and virtually will not tip. As others have said....though this boat paddles easily and is fast... a strong head or sidewind is not your friend - but it's doable. I find it not as fast as a kayak yet faster than canoes. I have had it on the ocean with 2 adults and it was a blast. Very fast and stable. My 9 year old son started fishing and paddling with me this last year and it is a great boat for two and a fabulous fishing platform.

We have (again) upgraded to a 45lb thrust trolling motor and those headwinds are now a thing of the past. I probably could have gone to a lesser thrust motor but the extra power is great.

SeaEagle is fabulous with support and help. I have called many times with "silly" and "serious" questions and have never felt I was given anything but dedication and concerned responses. For storage (at SeaEagles suggestion) I moved the boat from the garage to a large pool deck box. It's ok to be in freezing weather...just make sure you do not inflate a "frozen" boat. Let it warm up and adjust first.

I can't say enough about this boat and we intend to have it for many more years.

Fred 6/16/2014 4.5 out of 5 stars.

If you need a long term review, here it is. I have had my Sea Eagle Paddleski 435PS since 2002 (12 years and counting!) and I love it. I mostly just use it as a kayak, though I do on occasion break out the rowing seat. I take my son and our dog out on the water all the time (he's not quite old enough to be much help paddling yet, but getting close.) I have made my own fishing seat for the boat, and I am kicking around adding a trolling motor for windy days (happens a lot in Nebraska.)

show full review ▼

Pros:

Holds a fair amount of weight (I am 6'7" and 280 lbs) and is fairly fast for an inflatable. It is pretty dry unless you get crazy with the paddles, and very dry if you row. It can be used for a variety of things if you either invest in the various kits and attachments or spend some time modifying it yourself.

Cons:

Wind is an issue with this boat, as a headwind can slow you to a crawl and a side wind can make holding a course very difficult. The seats that came with it are not great, but they changed those a long time ago, so I don't know how the new ones are.

Overall I think it's a great boat, as I have had it for a long time and it has never had any leaks or punctures. Rowing is faster but, for me at least, not as fun as using the kayak paddles. Buy one with confidence, if you take care of it, it will last for a long time.

nategoulet 4/21/2013 4.0 out of 5 stars.

This past September I purchased the current 42 Lbs Paddleski barely used 2nd hand complete with older model SailRig, 28 Lbs trolling motor and many accessories. After purchasing a Sea Eagle 330SE and loving it a couple years ago, I was interested in getting one of their more expensive boats. Since I was a kid I wanted a Sunfish sailboat, but wasn't about to buy larger gas guzzling vehicle just so I had the ability to transport it.

show full review ▼

The Paddleski is the most flexible kayak on the market for a kayak that will fit in the trunk of a small car, offer a full sail rig (vs a small down wind only sail) and the ability to motor too. It's a jack of all trade. True it's a master of none, few boats if any can match it for all it does as a single boat.

Paddling with no wind alone or with a friend works well. With some wind, much easier with two paddling. If it's stronger wind, can always sail or motor. The original Sail Rig offers a larger more traditional sail than the current version, and it also folds small enough to fit in my trunk vs the current model. However, the rudder is very inefficient for turning sharp which is needed in narrow areas, solved on the current model. sailboatstogo.com offers a "pair" of steering oars that will likely solve this problem for me.

How cool is it that I can leave this boat concealed in the trunk of my fuel efficient car, and it's ready to paddle, sail or motor on Cape Cod, Newport and many other places I'll be taking it.

Sea Eagle support has been spectacular I'll mention. They recommended I wait for the sailing kit for the Fast Track or Explorer only came on the market in the past month or so. Can't complain with the deal I got though. Pros & Cons if I had gone that route. I like the option to motor, still not avail on those boats. Paddleski is more stable in rougher water, and I plan on using it on the ocean some of the time. I would like having an open cockpit vs sit on top. Some pros & cons to that too. inflatableboats4less.com swears by the Paddleski as their favorite kayak. They sell all Sea Eagle models. That kind of sold me. Will update my review after this summer...

tomfla 1/6/2012 5.0 out of 5 stars.

I have had my Paddleski for over two years. The reason I selected the Paddleski was I was having problems using my Sea Eagle FoldCat in the narrow, shallow, side channels of the NW Florida spring fed rivers I paddle in. The Paddleski is narrower and draws less water and is easier to pull over barely submerged logs I often encounter. There are also lots of weeds which often times reach the surface and the Paddleski skids over them much better than hard shelled boats. I also use the Paddleski on lakes and agree in high winds it can be a handful, especially with stuff in dry bags lashed to the deck.

There are tradeoff with all kayaks. The key is to select the one that best meets your needs. I wanted a boat I could carry a lot of gear on and deal with shallow weed infested log filled narrow water ways and the Paddleski fills that bill.