180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 7/31/2018
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 420x Inflatable Kayak Reviews

7 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,099

420x Reviews (35 total, avg. review: 4.7 out of 5)

2/28/2018
Dan Hartman , CASCADE Verified Owner

I am 57 years old and I had been wanting to get my lovely wife out on the water for some time. I knew I had to have something very stable to give her a feeling of security. When I saw the 420X and saw how wide it was, I took a chance and bought one. (By the way, I'm over 300 lbs, so if you think you're too heavy or too old to try kayaking, you're not!) The first time we took it out, we spent almost 3 hours on a lake at a state park in Pa. My wife, the farm-girl, never felt uneasy. The kayak tracked very well, even though there was a strong wind on the lake that day. Maneuverability was great and talk about stable! It is an unbelievable craft and I would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for tracking, stability and ability to carry a heavy load. I think I'm going to get the NN 14' SUP next.

2/21/2018
Yury Klokov , EAST FALMOUTH Verified Owner

Hi,

The boat is realy great! I enjoy it!

Disadvantage is the need to use a special tip of the pump to inflate the seats. I'm afraid that I will lose it sooner or later.

2/20/2018
Mitchell Mak , Singapore Verified Owner

I love the Sea Eagle Explorer 420x. I only use it in a sea for leisure kayaking or fishing as where Im from, there are no lakes or rivers. It moves a little slow in the sea maybe due to the flat bottom and I should have considered the fasttrack. The Explorer is worth every penny and this kayak is a real piece of work. I would definifely buy another kayak from sea eagle again, as a matter of fact, Im looking at the razorlite but the shipping is just too expensive. Would be great if you had a dealer in Singapore.

2/8/2018
Albert Dawson , FREDERICK Verified Owner

It's the best kayak I've ever owned out of my 3

1/31/2018
Colm Malone , BASKING RIDGE Verified Owner

Overall I like the boat, seats & watersnake motor. The quality is great and I have no complaints on that front.

One area where I do have a problem though is... on stability. I have the swivel (fishing) seats and I find that I am positioned so high up that my centre of gravity makes the whole setup feel unstable.

Reaching the motor from a sitting position is also very precarious

Sea Eagle's reply:

Colm, we see that you are having an issue with the Swivel Seat Fish Rigs and "stability" and being "positioned so high up that my center of gravity makes the whole setup feel unstable." It may take a couple outings to get used to. However, we do offer the Deluxe Inflatable Kayak Seat ► www.seaeagle.com/Accessories/seats/deluxe-inflatable-seat that sits lower than the rig and the Tall Back Kayak Seat ► www.seaeagle.com/Accessories/seats/tall-back-kayak-seat that sits the lowest.

1/24/2018
Dale Gilson , PARK CITY Verified Owner

Very nice and stable boat - only used it in flat water- skeg adds good stability in steering

Terrible carrying straps - can’t put it on your back, and awkward to carry any distance

Sea Eagle's reply:
Dale Gilson's boat

Hi Dale,

We do offer a very large Blue BackPackL with 8.4 cubic feet of storage space but you'll have to call in and ask for it specifically.

12/14/2017
Thomas Francis , SONORA Verified Owner

Overall, I like and recommend the 420X. It is easy to store and transport in a vehicle. It's not lightweight. That's good regarding heavy duty quality, but don't expect to easily pick it up and lug it around (as shown in the videos). When possible I try to use a cart to transport it to the water before pumping it up. It seems to take us longer to prepare the kayak for use than indicated in the videos, and I sometimes have the valves in the wrong position so that the air deflates when I disconnect the pump (thus adding more time and frustration). I take a fair amount of time cleaning the kayak of sand, dirt, and other debris before storing it since I don't want any grit wearing into the crevices (e.g., between the floor and sides). A hard sided kayak is probably easier to just wash and dry before storage. I've had the 420X about 6 months and I'm still working out my few issues with it.

12/5/2017
Eric Weiss , Upper Saddle River Verified Owner

I purchased the 420x back in May 2017. I wanted to have at least one season of experience before posting a review. My wife and I have used this kayak on lakes only so I can't comment on its ability to handle white water. We have kayaked on at least 15 different lakes over the past six months. The quality and durability of this kayak is outstanding. We have bounced off hidden rocks and branches with absolutely no damage to the hull. This kayak is extremely stable regardless of wind or rider movement. The portability is easily manageable with two people but can be carried by one person if you center it on your shoulders. The inflation time is about 7 minutes with the additionally purchased electric pump. It takes about 15 minutes total to get in the water after arrival at the launch site. Easy break down and storage, roughly 7 minutes. I would absolutely recommend this product without hesitation. If anyone needs some helpful tips please feel free to e-mail me I would be happy to help.

10/31/2017
Richard Gowans , MILTON Verified Owner

We love our sea eagle 420. It's super stable carries both of us and our two whippets with room left over. We have been down rivers, small rapids and on the Great Lakes this summer without any issues. The two stage pump makes Inflating and deflation a breeze. The kayak packs back into the storage bag with no issues very neat and tidy. I would recommend Sea Eagle to anyone, the customer service is outstanding.

7/11/2017
Mark Tatham , SALT LAKE CITY Verified Owner
Mark Tatham's boat

We bought our 420X for a multi day trip down the Rio Grande and it performed great. The water level was really low so we wouldn't have been able to use a regular kayak since they have a deeper draft. Our kayak is very controllable. The person at the back has to do most of the steering otherwise it will have a tendency to want to turn to go backwards down the river. Lots of room for camping kit and cooler box. Really a robust solid adventure machine. Love it.

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images