420x Reviews (29 total, avg. review: 4.7 out of 5)

Add your Review
12/14/2017
Thomas Francis , SONORA Verified Owner

Overall, I like and recommend the 420X. It is easy to store and transport in a vehicle. It's not lightweight. That's good regarding heavy duty quality, but don't expect to easily pick it up and lug it around (as shown in the videos). When possible I try to use a cart to transport it to the water before pumping it up. It seems to take us longer to prepare the kayak for use than indicated in the videos, and I sometimes have the valves in the wrong position so that the air deflates when I disconnect the pump (thus adding more time and frustration). I take a fair amount of time cleaning the kayak of sand, dirt, and other debris before storing it since I don't want any grit wearing into the crevices (e.g., between the floor and sides). A hard sided kayak is probably easier to just wash and dry before storage. I've had the 420X about 6 months and I'm still working out my few issues with it.

12/5/2017
Eric Weiss , Upper Saddle River Verified Owner

I purchased the 420x back in May 2017. I wanted to have at least one season of experience before posting a review. My wife and I have used this kayak on lakes only so I can't comment on its ability to handle white water. We have kayaked on at least 15 different lakes over the past six months. The quality and durability of this kayak is outstanding. We have bounced off hidden rocks and branches with absolutely no damage to the hull. This kayak is extremely stable regardless of wind or rider movement. The portability is easily manageable with two people but can be carried by one person if you center it on your shoulders. The inflation time is about 7 minutes with the additionally purchased electric pump. It takes about 15 minutes total to get in the water after arrival at the launch site. Easy break down and storage, roughly 7 minutes. I would absolutely recommend this product without hesitation. If anyone needs some helpful tips please feel free to e-mail me I would be happy to help.

10/31/2017
Richard Gowans , MILTON Verified Owner

We love our sea eagle 420. It's super stable carries both of us and our two whippets with room left over. We have been down rivers, small rapids and on the Great Lakes this summer without any issues. The two stage pump makes Inflating and deflation a breeze. The kayak packs back into the storage bag with no issues very neat and tidy. I would recommend Sea Eagle to anyone, the customer service is outstanding.

7/11/2017
Mark Tatham , SALT LAKE CITY Verified Owner
Mark Tatham's boat

We bought our 420X for a multi day trip down the Rio Grande and it performed great. The water level was really low so we wouldn't have been able to use a regular kayak since they have a deeper draft. Our kayak is very controllable. The person at the back has to do most of the steering otherwise it will have a tendency to want to turn to go backwards down the river. Lots of room for camping kit and cooler box. Really a robust solid adventure machine. Love it.

6/18/2017
John Donaldson , BULLARD Verified Owner

I love it,I would by from you guys again,when I get all my parts for my new engine,I will send you a video,water whizz

4/21/2017
Richard Reynolds , Dripping Springs Verified Owner

Great little boat. Extremely convenient. We use it on rivers and lakes often, and I am impressed with the overall strength of material. After several river runs I was worried about all the times I've hit large rocks and dragged the bottom of the boat; however, you can barely see any scratches. Often, my son and I will head to the river and take the boat in a Smart Car (small two-seat vehicle with a little luggage space behind the seats). I can fit the boat, seats, oars, battery inflation, vests, storage bins, and a small cooler in there. People are stunned to see us inflate a boat twice the length of my car and jump in the river. Fun stuff.

Note for Staff: For future versions of this boat, you should include some kind of clip or bungee for all the drainage holes to make it easier to keep the caps completely open and off the drain holes for river runs. They can flop around a bit and partially cover the drainage holes from time to time. It's not a big deal, but something to consider.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Hi Richard, our recommendation is to tuck the caps in between inflatable floor and the rugged outer black fabric floor.

4/18/2017
Rick Mueller , Mesa Verified Owner
Rick Mueller's boat

We love our 420X Explorer. It's the perfect size for my wife and I plus our two dogs with gear. We find it to be a stable, comfortable boat on both rivers and lakes. I look forward to our first white water adventure with our Sea Eagle. Highly recommend this product.

4/1/2017
Breck Dickinson , El Centro, CA Verified Owner
Breck Dickinson's boat

I took this Kayak to the Aleutian Islands in January for its maiden voyage and was not disappointed. Next adventure is Prince of Wales Island in May, and then back to the Bering Sea in December. Most people are skeptical of inflatables but this is not a pool toy.

3/20/2017
William Brackin , Marysville, WA Verified Owner
William Brackin's boat

I have been quite impressed with my Sea Eagle 420x. I have used it on lakes, ocean, and rivers, and it has performed well in all environments.I used it on a recent trip on the Powell River Canoe Route in British Columbia where we paddled a series of lakes and portaged between them. At 42 lbs. it was easy to portage, and paddled well.We also recently ran a whitewater section of the Clackamas River in Oregon, and I was very impressed with how well it handled hitting rocks and dragging over gravel bars. I fully expected to see some damage on the bottom at the end of the trip, but there was none!

The size of the deflated boat is small enough to carry in the trunk of my Toyota Camry with room to spare. The foot pump inflates the 3 chambers very quickly, and the quick release valves allows it to be deflated and put away quickly too.William Brackin, WA

2/26/2017
Gregory Gillis , Ferndale Verified Owner

61 Years Old. I Absolutely LOVE My Sea Eagle 420x,, Quality Is Exceptional!! Ease Of Inflation, Storage And Portability Are Second To None!! I Have Kayaked The Bay,, VERY Stable In The Sea, Even With Bigger Swells. The River Was AWESOME!!,, And Kayak Camping On My Local Large Lake's Is So Fun!! Load It With Gear And Away You Go!! Even By Myself, Loaded For Camping It Paddles Effortless Thru The Water!! I Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND This Kayak,, And Do,, To The Many People Who Ask About It!! LOVE IT!! Keep Up The Great Work Sea Eagle!! Sincerely,, Greg