180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states, excluding RIBs) available through 1/31/2019
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 420x Inflatable Kayak Reviews

7 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,149

420x Reviews (40 total, avg. review: 4.7 out of 5)

12/2/2018
Susan and Robert Solomon , BOKEELIA Verified Owner

We take the Sea Eagle along in the back of our pick-up truck when we go camping here in Florida to our great State Parks. We love the flexibility of this inflatable which has allowed us some great experiences exploring waterways we would never have seen due to not having a kayak with us. The little trolling motor is a plus when we tire of paddling or are heading into a strong wind.

9/30/2018
Michael Purdy , Grand junction Verified Owner

What a hoot! The 420 is easy to set up, extremely portable, simple to paddle. My wife and I are seniors now, we have always been adventurous and kayaking has opened a new door. We use it mainly to run rivers during spring run off.

9/4/2018
Sandra Crespo Verified Owner

I can't say enough GREAT things about our new kayaks! Seriously we had no idea that inflatable kayaks would be SO awesome! We previously had two sit on top Hobie and Wilderness kayaks because we did not know having an inflatable more versatile one for our RV would even be possible! We have been full-time RV traveling for 2+ years and these Sea Eagles are super convenient because they don't take as much room and we don't have to constantly bring in and out of our RV!

more ▼
7/28/2018
David Helton , MENOMONEE FALLS Verified Owner

I purchased a Sea Eagle 126SR two years ago and quickly learned that not only was the boat great on Wisconsin's inland lakes and rivers, it could handle the waves of Lake Michigan as well. From the very first moment I spoke with Sea Eagle Sales Staff, until after the boat was delivered, I was amazed at the fantastic Customer Service. I was amazed that it only took a matter of days from order to delivery.

I was so impressed with Sea Eagle's product and service that I ordered the 420X this year. First time out, I was able to inflate the kayak and put in the water in less than 15 minutes. With three people and gear onboard, having a total weight of approximately 600 pounds, the kayak tracked well and glided effortlessly across the water. I wouldn't dream of owning another hard body kayak!

Thank you Sea Eagle for a job well done!!

4/30/2018
Rogier J , Zurich (CH) Verified Owner
Rogier J's boat

After positive flat-water experience with the 473rl, I got my 420x about a year ago and took it out to explore class II-IV rivers in Switzerland. It's robust and stable, and I am impressed with the excellent self-bailing capacity and how little damage it took from the rocks I hit in the sometimes narrow rivers. The separate floor makes cleaning and drying easy. It's not super lightweight but taking it on the train to starting points close to a station worked well for us. Sea Eagle service is very friendly. It would be great though to add flexibility to packages; I do, for instance, prefer the hand-piston pump, the backpack and would not have needed paddles. All in all, a 5-star recommendation to get this boat for white water or for great stability on flat water!

2/28/2018
Dan Hartman , CASCADE Verified Owner

I am 57 years old and I had been wanting to get my lovely wife out on the water for some time. I knew I had to have something very stable to give her a feeling of security. When I saw the 420X and saw how wide it was, I took a chance and bought one. (By the way, I'm over 300 lbs, so if you think you're too heavy or too old to try kayaking, you're not!) The first time we took it out, we spent almost 3 hours on a lake at a state park in Pa. My wife, the farm-girl, never felt uneasy. The kayak tracked very well, even though there was a strong wind on the lake that day. Maneuverability was great and talk about stable! It is an unbelievable craft and I would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for tracking, stability and ability to carry a heavy load. I think I'm going to get the NN 14' SUP next.

2/21/2018
Yury Klokov , EAST FALMOUTH Verified Owner

Hi,

The boat is realy great! I enjoy it!

Disadvantage is the need to use a special tip of the pump to inflate the seats. I'm afraid that I will lose it sooner or later.

2/20/2018
Mitchell Mak , Singapore Verified Owner

I love the Sea Eagle Explorer 420x. I only use it in a sea for leisure kayaking or fishing as where Im from, there are no lakes or rivers. It moves a little slow in the sea maybe due to the flat bottom and I should have considered the fasttrack. The Explorer is worth every penny and this kayak is a real piece of work. I would definifely buy another kayak from sea eagle again, as a matter of fact, Im looking at the razorlite but the shipping is just too expensive. Would be great if you had a dealer in Singapore.

2/8/2018
Albert Dawson , FREDERICK Verified Owner

It's the best kayak I've ever owned out of my 3

1/31/2018
Colm Malone , BASKING RIDGE Verified Owner

Overall I like the boat, seats & watersnake motor. The quality is great and I have no complaints on that front.

One area where I do have a problem though is... on stability. I have the swivel (fishing) seats and I find that I am positioned so high up that my centre of gravity makes the whole setup feel unstable.

Reaching the motor from a sitting position is also very precarious

Sea Eagle's reply:

Colm, we see that you are having an issue with the Swivel Seat Fish Rigs and "stability" and being "positioned so high up that my center of gravity makes the whole setup feel unstable." It may take a couple outings to get used to. However, we do offer the Deluxe Inflatable Kayak Seat ► www.seaeagle.com/Accessories/seats/deluxe-inflatable-seat that sits lower than the rig and the Tall Back Kayak Seat ► www.seaeagle.com/Accessories/seats/tall-back-kayak-seat that sits the lowest.

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images