180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 4/30/2018
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 393rl Inflatable Kayak Reviews

2 Discount Packages available. starting at $849

393rl Reviews (49 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

11/13/2017
Dan Peacock , Hamilton Verified Owner
Dan Peacock's boat

Bought my 393RL in spring 2017 after owning a 385 Fast Track for two years. I was very happy with the Fast Track I just found it a lot of effort to paddle long distances and hard to keep up with friends in hard shell canoes on long trips. The Razorlite takes significantly less effort to paddle. It easily keeps up with and even outpaces standard canoes. The RazorLite tracks dead straight with the skeg attached but I also find that makes it harder to steer. Without the skeg it still tracks reasonably well and steers with much less effort. Because of this I find it easier to use than the Fast Track in very shallow water as the Fast Track does not track at all without the skeg. Setup and take down time are much less than the Fast Track. The included back pack style bag is an upgrade from the duffel style my Fast Track came with and is much easier to carry though harder to get the boat in the bag. Only downside is the manual pumps break often/easily and current model RL can't be cleaned between floor & hull.

11/1/2017
Liz Hartley , MUKILTEO Verified Owner

I like the kayak overall. Positives include ability to carry in back of SUV, fairly quick inflation time, and apparent sturdiness. Less than positive but not wholly negative include inferior maneuverability compared to fiberglass kayak w rudder, difficulty in cleaning debris from deep crevices and fully drying the crevices to prevent mold while storing. Most disappointing is the impossibility of using the “backpack” as a carrying device once it was removed the first time. There is no way this kayak, once used, can resume its size and shape that it was packaged in, and then try to cram in all the accessories! So, storage is a problem in a small house. The kayak sits folded up, outside the “backpack” full of accessories.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Aloha Liz, give this video ► youtu.be/Dfbp_lm3jGY a try. Should make packing pretty easy!

10/24/2017
Ellen McKinney , McCall Verified Owner

The 393rl is a smooth, reactive, fun boat on the water. Although it isn't heavy, it is awkward to carry easily and repacking it is frustrating. Multiple tries and many videos later, I am still unable to put the boat back into the bag along with the paddle and pump, as shown on the sites. As a result, I revert to my old hard-shell kayak for trips near home, and save the SeaEagle for when we travel.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Aloha Ellen, give this video ► youtu.be/Dfbp_lm3jGY a try! Should make packing pretty easy.

10/10/2017
William Heese , AKRON Verified Owner

The 393 RL is indeed a very unique kayak.

It assembly is fast and easy and it moves

Very nicely through the water.

As advertised it requires some experieance

To handle this kayak.

It is almost inpossible to get the deflated

Kayak back in the storage bag.

Better instructions would be helpful.

Sea Eagle's reply:

William, this video should help. Try packing it this way ► youtu.be/Dfbp_lm3jGY.

10/10/2017
Nancy Inabnit , LEBANON Verified Owner

I love my Sea Eagle 393l. We paddled hard kayaks for years and tired of loading and tying them down, Great thing about the inflatable is they just load right in your vehicle. People are astonished when I tell them what I'm paddling is an inflatable. It handles beautifully. The only difficulty I've had is getting it back in the bag. The bags could be a little larger. Especially for us older ladies it can be a little tough to fold the boat up super tidy and a roomier bag would allow a little more leeway. Of course after the first few times it has gotten easier but still a little annoying. I would definitely purchase my boat again.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Nancy, this video should help. Try packing it this way ► youtu.be/Dfbp_lm3jGY.

10/2/2017
Barb Cartwright , Aptos Verified Owner

I bought this boat to take my golden retriever. It is much more comfortable for them than the plastic boats. I paddle alone most of the time and I can easily carrier it to the put ins. It keeps up with most boats. I have recommended it to friends. I sold my first boat to my brother and bought a second one. The people at SeaEagle are easy and friendly to work with. Thank you.

9/29/2017
Alan Jones , ENCINO Verified Owner
Alan Jones's boat Alan Jones's boat

The Sea Eagle Razorlite 393rl is a high quality boat that paddles at least as well as my hard shell kayaks. The boat arrived right on time, and If you have questions while setting up or adding options, customer service is top notch. I leave my trailer and roof racks at home now. Get the electric pump with rechargable battery, and you are on the water in 5 minutes. In 40 years of paddling, this is my game changer. This is a very comfortable boat, tracks like an arrow, and goes over the wakes and swells in the harbor with ease. Nice Going!

more ▼
9/12/2017
James Rodriguez , Washougal Wa Verified Owner

I love my new kayak, the 393 Razorlite, it takes longer to set up than it does to dry off and get it back in the bag. I was used to the short wide hard shells and this is so easy to get going and is effortless to paddle for two hours. It handles wakes from speed boats with ease and nary a drop of water comes over the brow. I was nervous with the open design thinking that I was going to get soaked and had only minor droplets and only had sweat marks on my shirt when I got back in the car. There were about 10 others with inflatables out when I was and all of the ones that I talked to loved its sleek lines, were impressed on how it cut through the water, and marveled at how fast it went with me doing minimal work.

more ▼
8/7/2017
Emily Kennedy , Draper Verified Owner
Emily Kennedy's boat Emily Kennedy's boat

I am new to kayaking. As an enthusiastic beginner in the sport, I initially got the RazorLite because

it was the best in its class for exploring. I wanted to get comfortable with paddling before I got into any serious rapids. After receiving my RazorLite and taking it out on the water multiple times, I have now realized there are more perks than just it being a good kayak for exploring. I

more ▼
8/6/2017
John Shea Verified Owner

I've taken it out several times since buying last year (for trips I didn't want to put my other yak on the roof) and very happy with the performance and construction quality (should last a long time if well cared for). As others have said, don't need the skeg. My only complaint is the seat is too firm for my middle-age keister (but I find most yak seats make me want to stand up after half an hour without some supplemental padding). Like ability to adjust seat back angle (note to beginners -- should sit straight up and not lean back much).

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images