Main Content
180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 11/30/2019
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 385fta Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

4 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,049

385fta Reviews (21 total, avg. review: 4.7 out of 5)

12/5/2018
5.0 out of 5 stars. Raymond Jones , TN Verified Owner
Selfie of Raymond Jones with their boat Raymond Jones's boat

I finally got the slime on the new hull, SeaEagle has continued to make outstanding boats the performance of the #FastTrackAngler series are second to none #50Years and counting. I’m so proud to represent them on the 2019 #KBF and #CAKFG Trails in the upcoming season.

6/29/2018
5.0 out of 5 stars. Bryce Skeen Verified Owner

I bought the 385FT fast track angler about 4 years ago ( the older version) and loved it, always performed great and very convenient. The seams started coming apart so I contacted Sea Eagle customer support. Even though the Kayak was out of its warranty period they replaced it with the new and improved 385FTA! I believe Sea Eagle has the best product and the best product support hands down. Looking show full review ▼

forward to many more years paddling.
6/10/2018
5.0 out of 5 stars. Patrick Lagonotte , Niort Verified Owner

For some time I thought of buying a fishing kayak before to be retired. But why not also to take advantage of it before without waiting?

Thus I looked for an inflatable fishing Kayak also usable to make of the stroll and lower on quiet river and from the seaside. I look for a Swiss knife kayak! And the SeaEagle 385 FTA perfectly met my needs: configurable at the need and very evolutionary. At his reception, I was surprised very pleasantly by the quality of the product its robustness and its ease of inflating and folding. It is important to have an easily accessible tight box for keys and papers of the car, the camera, the phone and over, but also to store the life jacket, the repair kit, the skeg, the leachs, and all. I bought a box an Explore Cases 3818 GE who can put himself it of multiple places: the bow or the stern, between side chambers in the front or in the back, or as site riser.

5/1/2018
5.0 out of 5 stars. Sergey Khaitov , OAKLAND Verified Owner

Took this boat on a plane to Dominican Republic all inclusive resort... Had serious doubts with transportation, storage in the room... all turned to be as easy as it gets. For 7 days vacation took it out to Caribbean sea daily for fishing. Very stable. Handles well in rough surf and wind (by the time I was coming back trade wind would start). Caught tons of fish. I highly recommend this boat. BTW - I compared it to Hobies (paddle ones) the resort had - this boat outperformed hard shells. I have ocean kayak trident 13 which is little bit in a different league - this boat feels more stable! Also if you have spiny fish - EVA foam pads are superb protection...

show full review ▼
4/24/2018
5.0 out of 5 stars. Sheldon Kuwana , MERIDIAN Verified Owner
Sheldon Kuwana's boat

This kayak is awesome, I like to fish and my wife likes to get outside on the water and exercise so she paddles in back and I fish from the front, a match made in heaven! The 385fta fits in the trunk of our Honda Civic and sets up very quickly. The low profile, front keel and skeg make it easy to paddle and control in fast current and in windy conditions. It is so stable we have never felt unsafe whenever we were out on the water even with whitecaps coming over the bow. We put boat cushions under the seats to raise them up a few inches and it is very comfortable sitting for long periods. I added some rod holders in front and when going out solo I can move out of my seat to get to them and not feel like the boat will tip. The warranty and customer service are excellent! The crocodile padding started to delaminate and after sending in some pictures, Sea Eagle sent out a replacement before requiring us to return the old one both at no charge so we did not have to miss any time on the water!

4/11/2018
5.0 out of 5 stars. Andrew Barbaccia , South River Verified Owner
Selfie of Andrew Barbaccia with their boat Andrew Barbaccia's boat

I love my new 385fta .I bought it late fall and was able to enjoy the fall foliage here in N.J. . I gave up my traditional hard sit inside kayak for my new Inflatable for a couple of reasons. I am 6'1 240 lbs. My sit in was fine if I just wanted to paddle. Then I started fishing in it and it was tight. Years back I owned a Sea Eagle SE9 till my nephew took it over. Then one day I was starting to look for a new fishing/recreational kayak . The hard bodied ones were way to heavy for me to transport without a trailer. . Then I receive in the mail a Sea Eagle catalog. To make this long story shorter I purchased the 385fta. It is so comfortable glides through the water. Mainly lakes though I had it in the bay on calm days for fishing no problems. I can move around comfortably and safety. Throw my legs in the water. It is super stable. I love it. I can deflate it for long trips,our use my Hullavator for short trips. It is light enough to carry to shore withoutbreaking your back. Out of text. Or I would say more !

1/12/2018
4.0 out of 5 stars. Randal Knysh , FORT SASKATCHEWAN Verified Owner

Have used my seaeagle 385fta numerous times now and love how stable it is on the water. There is lots of floor space for gear when fishing or an extra passenger or two. The boat boat paddles easy and tracks good when calm. A bit harder to control with a wind on a lake but that is to be expected with how much of the boat is on top of the water. Easy to inflate or deflate. All the pieces do take up a fair bit of room but can still fit in the back of any car or SUV. The weight is ok for me but a little to heavy for my wife or daughter to lift and carry for any distance. The only things that could be better is if it was a bit lighter and cost less. Over all I am very pleased with this inflatable kayak and would recommend it to anyone.

1/9/2018
5.0 out of 5 stars. Dennis Nelson , Houston Verified Owner

Great Boat. Customer Service has been helpful when called. I have recommended to friends.

1/1/2018
5.0 out of 5 stars. Todd Rusch , Austin Verified Owner

We love the Sea Eagle FT 385 Angler. We switched from a tandem SOT kayak and no longer wanted to transport the old kayak on top of the car and thought the 385 FT A would be good for going together or solo and it has met our expectations and fulfilled our desires for a lightweight single or double that is rugged, durable, comfortable and easy to move and launch. It takes less than 10 minutes to manually inflate and we use a kayak cart to help with rolling the 385 to the launch point. This boat tracks straight and goes pretty fast. It has been very comfortable for some fishing trips to Lake Travis where we found sitting in the boat for 3 hours not to be a problem like the old hard bottom kayak. I was also happy to find I was able to easily handle the 385 on several solo trips with smart use of a standard kayak wheeled dolly and a bungee cord. I made several calls to customer service to ask pre purchase questions and I was well served and educated by the friendly staff. Thanks for a great boat.

6/14/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Tim DeLong , Ashburn, VA Verified Owner
Tim DeLong's boat

I’ve been in the market for a 2-person fishing kayak for a while. I wanted something that would work for 2 people but could also be conveniently handled by 1 person. I will either be going out by myself or with one of my kids and they are young enough that I would still be doing most of the heavy lifting. This kayak offers a wide range of options (motor, swivel seat, integrated rod holders, etc.) which combined with the ease of transport and storage make it worth the cost. Inflating the kayak was easy and took only a few minutes. My first trip out I was amazed at how stable the kayak was when I stood up and kneeled. The skeg and keel add an enormous amount of control in wind and strong currents. I had so much fun that I completely lost interest in fishing and spent a few hours paddling around enjoying the afternoon! Deflating and drying is also a trivial matter, especially with the Auto Dual Action Pump. I am extremely happy with my purchase and I'm looking forward to using this for years to come.