Main Content
180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states, excluding RIBs) available through 6/30/2019
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 420x Inflatable Kayak Reviews

7 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,149

420x Reviews (42 total, avg. review: 4.7 out of 5)

2/8/2018
4.0 out of 5 stars. Albert Dawson , FREDERICK Verified Owner

It's the best kayak I've ever owned out of my 3

1/31/2018
3.0 out of 5 stars. Colm Malone , BASKING RIDGE Verified Owner

Overall I like the boat, seats & watersnake motor. The quality is great and I have no complaints on that front.

One area where I do have a problem though is... on stability. I have the swivel (fishing) seats and I find that I am positioned so high up that my centre of gravity makes the whole setup feel unstable.

Reaching the motor from a sitting position is also very precarious

Sea Eagle's reply:

Colm, we see that you are having an issue with the Swivel Seat Fish Rigs and "stability" and being "positioned so high up that my center of gravity makes the whole setup feel unstable." It may take a couple outings to get used to. However, we do offer the Deluxe Inflatable Kayak Seat ► www.seaeagle.com/Accessories/seats/deluxe-inflatable-seat that sits lower than the rig and the Tall Back Kayak Seat ► www.seaeagle.com/Accessories/seats/tall-back-kayak-seat that sits the lowest.

1/24/2018
4.0 out of 5 stars. Dale Gilson , PARK CITY Verified Owner

Very nice and stable boat - only used it in flat water- skeg adds good stability in steering

Terrible carrying straps - can’t put it on your back, and awkward to carry any distance

Sea Eagle's reply:

Hi Dale,

We do offer a very large Blue BackPackL with 8.4 cubic feet of storage space but you'll have to call in and ask for it specifically.

12/14/2017
4.0 out of 5 stars. Thomas Francis , SONORA Verified Owner

Overall, I like and recommend the 420X. It is easy to store and transport in a vehicle. It's not lightweight. That's good regarding heavy duty quality, but don't expect to easily pick it up and lug it around (as shown in the videos). When possible I try to use a cart to transport it to the water before pumping it up. It seems to take us longer to prepare the kayak for use than indicated in the videos, and I sometimes have the valves in the wrong position so that the air deflates when I disconnect the pump (thus adding more time and frustration). I take a fair amount of time cleaning the kayak of sand, dirt, and other debris before storing it since I don't want any grit wearing into the crevices (e.g., between the floor and sides). A hard sided kayak is probably easier to just wash and dry before storage. I've had the 420X about 6 months and I'm still working out my few issues with it.

12/5/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Eric Weiss , Upper Saddle River Verified Owner

I purchased the 420x back in May 2017. I wanted to have at least one season of experience before posting a review. My wife and I have used this kayak on lakes only so I can't comment on its ability to handle white water. We have kayaked on at least 15 different lakes over the past six months. The quality and durability of this kayak is outstanding. We have bounced off hidden rocks and branches with absolutely no damage to the hull. This kayak is extremely stable regardless of wind or rider movement. The portability is easily manageable with two people but can be carried by one person if you center it on your shoulders. The inflation time is about 7 minutes with the additionally purchased electric pump. It takes about 15 minutes total to get in the water after arrival at the launch site. Easy break down and storage, roughly 7 minutes. I would absolutely recommend this product without hesitation. If anyone needs some helpful tips please feel free to e-mail me I would be happy to help.

10/31/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Richard Gowans , MILTON Verified Owner

We love our sea eagle 420. It's super stable carries both of us and our two whippets with room left over. We have been down rivers, small rapids and on the Great Lakes this summer without any issues. The two stage pump makes Inflating and deflation a breeze. The kayak packs back into the storage bag with no issues very neat and tidy. I would recommend Sea Eagle to anyone, the customer service is outstanding.

7/11/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Mark Tatham , SALT LAKE CITY Verified Owner
Mark Tatham's boat

We bought our 420X for a multi day trip down the Rio Grande and it performed great. The water level was really low so we wouldn't have been able to use a regular kayak since they have a deeper draft. Our kayak is very controllable. The person at the back has to do most of the steering otherwise it will have a tendency to want to turn to go backwards down the river. Lots of room for camping kit and cooler box. Really a robust solid adventure machine. Love it.

6/18/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. John Donaldson , BULLARD Verified Owner

I love it,I would by from you guys again,when I get all my parts for my new engine,I will send you a video,water whizz

4/21/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Richard Reynolds , Dripping Springs Verified Owner

Great little boat. Extremely convenient. We use it on rivers and lakes often, and I am impressed with the overall strength of material. After several river runs I was worried about all the times I've hit large rocks and dragged the bottom of the boat; however, you can barely see any scratches. Often, my son and I will head to the river and take the boat in a Smart Car (small two-seat vehicle with a little luggage space behind the seats). I can fit the boat, seats, oars, battery inflation, vests, storage bins, and a small cooler in there. People are stunned to see us inflate a boat twice the length of my car and jump in the river. Fun stuff.

show full review ▼
Sea Eagle's reply:

Hi Richard, our recommendation is to tuck the caps in between inflatable floor and the rugged outer black fabric floor.

4/18/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Rick Mueller , Mesa Verified Owner
Selfie of Rick Mueller with their boat

We love our 420X Explorer. It's the perfect size for my wife and I plus our two dogs with gear. We find it to be a stable, comfortable boat on both rivers and lakes. I look forward to our first white water adventure with our Sea Eagle. Highly recommend this product.

menu images