380x Reviews (69 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

Add your Review
2/20/2017
Robert Gotthardt, Jr , WHITEHALL Verified Owner

I Love it. I use it every weekend in the season. It seems very durable and packs up very well. We have a friend that owns 3 of them, 2 other friends that have the 300x, and my wife loved it so much she wanted one for herself so her father bought her the 300x for her birthday. I recommend it to everyone who wants to do any kayaking. Once I ordered it, it came very quickly. Thank you!!

1/8/2017
Corrie F , Henrico Verified Owner

I love my kayak! We have taken it in lakes and rivers with rapids ranging from ripples to class 4 and absolutely love it! The kayak is quite stable and it's a work horse. We can easily fit me, my wife, and our 8 year old along with coolers and dry bags with ease for a nice trip. As for durability, we have scrapped and ping ponged from rock to rock at times with out a scratch or any type of leak. So there are my positives.

Here is the negative: bailing ports don't get the job done due to the floor being too low. I can't kayak with the bailing ports open or the kayak fills with too much water causing there to be too much weight in the kayak which affects stability and maneuvering. This caused us to swim a couple times, one being a class 4 rapid that wasn't fun to swim. We now kayak with the ports closed and stop frequently to empty the water as we typically get less water that way then leaving the ports open. It would be great if SE offered us an exchange for their new 4 inch floor. :)

12/16/2016
Darren Lowe , Bunker Hill, WV Verified Owner
Darren Lowe's boat

I have a Foldcat 375 for 3 years and love it. I was looking for kayak style boat for fishing. I bought the 380X Fishing package in March 2016. Since March, I have done 27 river floats upto 15 miles per float all over the Shenandoah river. I can fish for hours without any discomfort. My buddies in their hard plastic kayaks will have to stop often and get out to strectch. The 380X fishing chair is very comfortable and the elevated seating allows your legs to be comfortably under you. I really like the transportablity of the 380X. I can carry the 380X in the back of my car and fish where ever I go. Set up in a breeze. The 380X is very tough. I have hit rocks and tree limbs with no problem. I will definitely buy one for the wife!

12/13/2016
David DeArmond , Merriam, KS Verified Owner

I purchased the 380xPro to go plein-air painting in the flooded Rio Grande River canyons of Big Bend National Park. After taking it to a local lake over a hundred times I felt experienced enough to give it a shot. I had to repair one side last summer and then re-repair it and recently the floor for tiny, slow air leaks. In November 2016 I did solo camping and painting trips into both St. Elena and Boquillas canyons, on the Mexican border. The low water conditions and common "riffles" on the Rio Grande caused me to have to remove the skeg and control was a common issue. No problem with the rapids but I did have it flip over when a strong fast current pushed it under overhanging brush. If I had it to do again I'd buy the larger 420x because of all the gear I had to carry and low water. Some sort of folding skeg with a spring would be an interesting accessory if available. I suggest anyone with a 380x run a light rope all around the boat, through the D-rings... I did and am very happy I did. Love the boat.

Sea Eagle's reply:

purchased the 380xPro to go plein-air painting in the flooded Rio Grande River Canyons, Love the boat.

11/29/2016
Anne Bojko , Phoenix Verified Owner

Hello Sea Eagle Staff,The purchase of the 380X was easy. The website discloses specific details that not all manufacturers advertise making Sea Eagle a top choice during comparison of competitors products. Although not designed for flat water paddling, the skeg and the option to close the self-bailing ports make this a truly versatile kayak. The factory seating positions are set for the most legroom for both paddlers but are situated more towards the rear of the kayak than other tandems we considered. Whitewater paddling is good but suffers from too thin of a floor to keep the rear paddler from sitting in standing water with the bailing ports open. This was only with a small cooler and 140lb front/165lb rear paddlers on very mild Class I/II rivers. Due to the floor being mostly lower than the outer tubes, the factory 3" floor is not sufficient. I have an idea for a custom floor that I would be interested in having made for purchase. I would purchase a 300x once the floor design is perfected.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Aloha Anne, we now offer a 4" floor for the Explorer iK's and they now also come with 4" floors from our factory.

6/11/2016
Jim Wick , Ventura, Ca 93001 Verified Owner

Bought the 380x earlier this year. Paddled in the ocean once before going down John Day River last week of May.I was on the river 7 days and 6 nights traveling 118 miles on a solo trip. The weather was excellent 80/50 and dry. The boat handled like a dream! It held all my gear without any issues what-so-ever! Through flat still water to stronger currents to the substantial rapids at Lower Clarno and in very strong winds my boat handled magnificently! 5 rafts went through the Lower Clarno Rapids before me 2 capsized! Rocks in the shallows and jagged, volcanic rocks mid river had no discernible effect on my kayak. The sturdy floor made everything much easier than it might have been. Packing my gear, strapping and securing my gear, moving around myself were all made easier by have sturdy footing. My gear fit very well and I'm sure my next trip will be even easier to load after this experience.

There was no need to top off my air throughout the entire trip since my boat held up very well.

1/31/2016
Judit Molnar , Quebec city, canada Verified Owner

Hi Sea Eagle team,I've had my Sea Eagle 380 for about 10 years and it is still as good as it was brand new. It is a very durable product. I got the kayak delivered to the cruise ship where I worked at the time. I enjoyed kayaking at many places in the Caribbean and since I moved to Canada, we've been kayaking on lakes and rivers mostly around Quebec city. I love that is is easy to handle and to store in our apartment. It is also very comfortable. I do love to paddle but sometimes I just turn over the inflatable seat that I use as a pillow, stretch out and read while floating a nice lake. That's something you can't do in a rigid kayak.

I would be tempted to buy a one-person kayak if you had a 2,8-3m model in the fast track.best regardsJudit Molnar

1/15/2016
Larry Harper , Orem, UT Verified Owner

This is the FOURTH Explorer 380x I've bought (so I guess that says something), although I have not taken this newest one out yet. I bought it "used" from SeaEagle, but it looks brand new; I inflated it in the house, & there were no air leaks. My other 380s'x were the older model, but I'd wanted to get the newer version, w/ the 16 self-bailing valves & the built-in, removable skeg. I've used the other kayaks in white water (up to Class 3 rapids), & on flat water--rivers, lakes, reservoirs, & even the ocean (in high winds & sea!), & it's perfect for my needs. I cannot do as big of rapids as an actual raft, nor paddle as fast as a canoe or hard-shell kayak, but I can still do all that those other water craft can do--again, to fit my needs. Further, if I'm in the boat alone, w/ others in their own boats, I can carry all my gear & food for extended trips. I've done several 12-14 day trips, plus numerous 6-8 day adventures. It can do it all.

1/10/2016
John Pendrey , Anchorage, AK Verified Owner

Great boat, use it fish in Summit Lake in the Kenai Peninsula, Alaska. Have referred two co-workers who both purchased and identified the 380 as the best boat for their needs as well.JWP,Retired US Coast Guard

1/10/2016
William H Spaur , Chesapeake, VA Verified Owner

380X Purchased October 2003 towed beautifully behind our Albin-25 diesel cruiser. We explored the swamps and marshes of the Chesapeake Bay and the Green Sea to the south on long cruises. We scrubbed many barnacled pilings and squashed against many rough docks. Rather than repair the gouges and scratches, I bought a new 385ft which is a delight.Because the 385ft is much lighter, I can carry it down the gangway easier and move it about the house more easily for winter storage. We paddle faster.

The SEAEAGLE kayaks are a delight.Don't know how to transfer photographs to this site. I'll send some email.