Main Content
Due to high order and call volume we are seeing delays in processing and customer service wait times.
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968

Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

5 Discount Packages available. starting at $799

285fpb Reviews (111 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

1/6/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Mona Merritt , Rabbit Lake, SK, Canada Verified Owner
Mona Merritt's boat

I absolutely love my Sea Eagle 285fpb!! It fits perfectly in my hatchback car, the ease of setup is great....I'm on the water in minutes. It's very easy to row and can get me to weed patches where the Northern Pike are hiding. I get my limit almost every time. I actually prefer my Sea Eagle over the "big" boat hubby and I use on the weekends. I have recommended your product to many people and showed them pictures of my fish. I have had no problems with the boat, just know for sure that when the life of this one finally gives up, I will be purchasing another!

1/6/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Michael Neagle , Marietta, OH Verified Owner

I was very skeptical to purchase an inflatable boat but due to the reviews decided to give Sea Eagle a try and am glad I did! The 285fpb is a tough boat and I am very happy with my purchase. The motor mount works great and the layout is user friendly. Now if I can just get it to make the fish bite.

1/6/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Mohammad H. A Majeed , Kuwait City, KWT, Kuwait Verified Owner

One of the best products i ever had, works perfectly in kuwait "persian gulf" now that my sons grow up, im considering getting the bigger sizes :) thank you guys

1/5/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. John Jensen , Sanger, TX Verified Owner

I have enjoyed my boat. It's been a solid product and during the time I've owned it I have not had any issues with it. I haven't had much opportunity to use the boat this year as we have had really crazy weather here in North Texas. It's officially been the wettest year on record here which sounds great except we have only had three main rain events. Torrential rains have brought flash floods causing all the local lakes and parks to remain closed.

I have used the boat to get exercise in my pool when I couldn't get out. The boat has spent a lot of time in chlorinated salt water with no signs of corrosion or degrading of the materials. It has been also used by a group of children who like me to get it out so they can play "pirate ship" on it as the ultimate pool toy. I have to say that's a pretty good durability test which it passed with no issue.

show full review ▼

Hopefully in 2016 our lakes will find the happy medium between flood stage and drought dry...

1/5/2016
4.0 out of 5 stars. Mark Rodriguez , Lakewood, CA Verified Owner

Love the Sea Eagle 285fpb. Very easy to setup and to disassemble. Saves room in my truck when tent camping. Once you get to your site and setup, the back of your truck is empty….perfect to transport your boat from camp site to your favorite fishing lake.

Two modification that I would recommend:

1. Have a hard firm board between the 2 pontoons in front of the boat. The soft membrane in front flex’s too much which allows water into the boat. I made a board and attached it a small ice chest in front of me to keep it pulled back.

show full review ▼

2. When trolling the pole holders are behind you. Not good. When you get a hit you have to spin to grab your pole and is not easy to grab and pull out of the holder. Holders need to be in front of you. I made a board over the soft membrane just in front of the floor board provide and put 2 pole holders on it and this resolved that problem.

These two modifications have made my Sea Eagle 285fpb much more enjoyable.

Thank you for your time…

Mark

1/5/2016
4.0 out of 5 stars. Victor Uriegas , San Antonio, TX Verified Owner

I have the older version gray in color. I simply love mine. Would I recommend it yes on some conditions. I am a weekend fisherman and if they made some simple changes on the new version of mine and the new stealth stalker. I really like that one but they need to make some changes on it for the avid fisherman or make it where you can order It from the factory that way as well. I would love to buy the new stealth stalker but there need some changes for the less fortunate people that already going to spend $1300 on the boat. And then having to spend more money on other features to make it a little more stable.

1/5/2016
4.0 out of 5 stars. Gregg Menge , Lewistown, MT Verified Owner

It is a good durable effective tool onto quiet lakes for solo fishing.. On larger bodies in distance to shore and quick arising storm winds, the low front exposure poses some challenges into choppy waves. It is a nice boat to have with inventory of other craft to fill the various calls of recreation. Overall a good tough durable product that can be easily strapped on a camper shell.

show full review ▼

One improvement sought in considering another purchase would be to increase the barrel size, without adding structure. I have yet to brave the swift upper Missouri River waters in spring and summer as was my intent in purchasing. Consider the stated weight limit and a 250# man (all muscle), 10# ale and lunch, 15# tackle, 15# trolling motor setup, 35# battery, 5# underwater camera, fish finder and 20# fish. The weight loss of fluids reflects to the unverified 20# catch? Seriously, such a vessel would be most excellent to waters out from the few remote access spots where motor boats take hours to access.

1/5/2016
4.0 out of 5 stars. Brad Smith , Chandler, AZ Verified Owner

Impressions and observations: boat set up very easily and took only a few minutes. I had to drag boat to the water, scraping along some rocks. The boat material is tough but I will be looking at some options here. The wheeled carrier on your web site seems a bit overkill for the purpose. I would like to see a single wheel and strut that attaches to the transom that allows the boat to be moved similar to a wheelbarrow. On the water I felt the oars are too short,though, and that an extra foot of length would improve things greatly. This should at least be an option ( an inexpensive one, I'd imagine). With no keel or legs hanging into the water, I was moved by the wind more than the tube boats on that lake, but being able to stand up offset that disadvantage. The oar was very easy to break down and remarkably fit back into the storage bag. Id like to have had the option on attachments for rod holders ( eg, fly rod, fish finder, anchor lock), rather than bait rod ( don't use). Overall a great product.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Thank you for your review Brad, your suggestions matter and we are currently looking into the possibilities of longer paddles/oars and a way to offset the effects of the wind.

1/5/2016
3.0 out of 5 stars. John E McCoy , Washington, DC Verified Owner

Ask me again in April or May:

Purchased my boat early so I could get it set-up the way I want before the Fishing season starts down here.

The purchase experience from Sea-Eagle was OUTSTANDING! people, Quality and service are all 12's out of a possible 10:)

I was amazed at the overnight shipping. A little expansive but your not waiting around for days.

show full review ▼

I have yet to unroll my boat. but have checked out all the various parts. it's sitting in my shed waiting for warmer weather to actually get it pumped up, final asssembled and extra Scotty rigs and add-on mounted.

As of this date I'm happy with my purchase but can not rate it until I actually get her in the water.

1/5/2016
4.0 out of 5 stars. John Green , Fredonia, NY Verified Owner

It is well made easy to set up only drawback is it could be a little bit wider about a foot would great.