Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

4 Discount Packages available. starting at $799

Norman Benton Verified Owner 3/24/2018 5.0 out of 5 stars.

As far as the boat itself goes, I couldn't be happier. The quality seems excellent and it has performed as advertised. One suggestion I have is to offer the option of getting rod holders for fly rods not just spinning reels and somewhere to tie a anchor. I have not used my electric motor on it yet but expect that one will need to be careful because the boat floats easily while rowing and I am expecting that it will react quickly to application of electric power. We will see.

Paul Staffieri Verified Owner 3/29/2018 4.0 out of 5 stars.

Great fishing boat. I full time RV and I can not tow a boat behind a 5th wheel. This inflatable fits my needs. I am a big man and retired. The 285 pontoon boat works well for me.

Easy to inflate, easy to assemble. The floor board was a bit difficult to install but got it in. I use the oars, Using the oars effectively required a learning curve. Rowing forward with short strokes worked well for me on the Umpqua River show full review ▼ in Oregon.

in Oregon.

Spent some time figuring out how to best outfit the boat to accommodate my fishing style. Could have had more suggestions from Sea Eagle in that regard.

Looking forward to getting back on the water.

I would have given 5 stars except for the floorboard difficulty. Most likely part of the learning curve

Great boat for fishing.

Vincent Duobinis Verified Owner 4/26/2018 4.0 out of 5 stars.

I've only used my Sea Eagle four times, since I purchased, last fall. My thoughts:

1) Should have purchased the package deal that included the motor & battery. Would have saved a few dollars. 2) The craft is easy to maneuver. When using the motor, need to keep you hand on the throttle, or it will veer. 3) A little challenging using the oars, if your knees are bent. Have to keep my legs stretched out so the oars don't hit (I'm 5'9") 4) The oars should be a few inches shorter, as the ends come very close together when rowing. 5) As I feared, the boat registration stickers do not stay on due to the inflating/deflating of the boat. Luckily my state DNR said it's ok to attach to a piece of plastic and hang on the pontoons. 6) I've received a few comments: "That's a sweet set-up"; "Has to be a lot more comfortable than sitting in this kayak for 5 hours"; "I need one of those" 7) So far, not comfortable standing but just as easy to sit and catch 8) Overall, love my Sea Eagle. Would highly recommend.

Larry Dynes Verified Owner 5/10/2018 2.0 out of 5 stars.

On the plus side:

The 285fpb seems to be durable so far, and set up is reasonably quick. It's easy to launch and get in and out.

On the other hand:

Carrying in the pack is cumbersome, I tried to get the straps over my shoulders to pack on my back and tore one off.

show full review ▼

Then it's another three trips back and forth to get everything to the water - floorboard, seat, oars, motor mount, etc.

It's nearly impossible to get the floorboard installed under the rails that hold it in place.

Inflating with the foot pump, how are you supposed to check for 3.2 PSI?

Standing up on the floorboard with felt sole boots is like trying to stand on glare ice with teflon soles.

The handle ends of the oars hit when parallel to the water..

It doesn't track when rowing.

Skitters around on the water like a balloon, slight wind sends it off in another direction.

Fishing at anchor, it spins every time the wind changes.

Can't finish - post gets cut off - limited to a certai

Bill Shuey Verified Owner 6/14/2018 4.0 out of 5 stars.

I unpacked the boat in Grayling, MI to use on the Au Sable and Manistee Rivers. The boat was easy to assemble and set-up; just follow the instructions. The front of the boat tends to rise at more than minimal thrust with my 2.3 HP Honda.

show full review ▼

The optional wheel assembly I purchased made launching and retrieving the boat reasonable easy. I performed both functions by myself on log steps and a healthy incline; at age 74 easy of launching and loading was a concern.

The oar mounts are not fixed; after two float trips I still struggle with coordinating both paddles because of the flex in the mounting arms.

Well made boat - worth the money.

Ken Shigemi Verified Owner 6/28/2018 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Finally got the chance to try out my sea eagle 285. Quality of the boat itself is great, light weight and easy to transport. It handled very well in the wind and surpriseinly easy to oar in choppy water. The only complaint I have is how the oars are mounted on the boat. I found that I kept hitting my knees when I used the oars, there should some way of adjusting the length of the oar handles.

Jim Beste Verified Owner 7/3/2018 5.0 out of 5 stars.

I love my Sea Eagle boat. I rate it 5 stars. It's everything that I wanted in a rowboat. It's easy to assemble, easy to use, dependable, safe, etc. I've added a 1 1/2 lb anchor and a boat rope but that's all. I love rowing the boat since it's so easy and I'm not bothered mounting the motor mount or having to carry a trolling motor & battery in my van.

show full review ▼

Gregory Shmanske Verified Owner 7/19/2018 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Love it. Much better than a kayak. Still use. my canoe in some spots, but the 285 is like fishing in an easy chair. Easy to handle with my 55 trolling motor, also.

David Anklam Verified Owner 7/22/2018 4.0 out of 5 stars.

I was really looking for something more roomy and stable for fishing the mangrove marshes and kind of tired of my kayak so I bought one of these bad boys. All around the boat is pretty good and I like the room and stability caughten a lot of Redfish out of it however, I was fishing one night and caught a hard head catfish and brought it to the boat, once I got the hook out of it's mouth I released it and watched it hit the side of my pontoon and popped a hole in it with it's sharp pectoral fin. I have patched the hole since then and it's fine but now I know this boat is not as durable as I thought and for that I give it 4 stars.

Paul Staffieri Verified Owner 8/13/2018 4.0 out of 5 stars.

I have used my Sea Eagle 285 a number of times these last few months and am very happy with the boat. I can now keep the boat inflated from lake to lake with my boat rack which sits above my 5th wheel hitch. Now when we arrive at a new location in our travels I can inflate the boat and transport it around. I use the boat much more often not having to inflate and deflate all the time.

show full review ▼

This last trip we even used it to drop some crab pots in the Oregon Bay we were at. Caught our limit twice. I also have the EZ cart. This has enabled me to load the boat at the truck and wheel it to where I put into the water. The cart sits in the back of my truck when not in use. It is very useful as I need to be able to move the truck by myself.

Great boat.

Great cart.