Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

4 Discount Packages available. starting at $799

David Freschi Verified Owner 2/18/2019 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Quality is superb. Having a lot of fun and catching some fish. Its a little time consuming to assemble but this seems to improve with practice. Quite a few pieces to work with but they all work well together. Standing up is a quiet water activity only and maybe for somebody quite a bit younger. Love this boat though. Beats messing with a trailer and launch ramp. Now if somebody would only come up with a 2 pound 12 volt battery it would be perfect.

Terrence Flatley Verified Owner 2/12/2019 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Great little one man boat. I have used the boat more than a dozen times. Fairly easy to transport inside car or in cartop carrier. Have yet to transport on roof rack but needs to be nearly or fully inflated to do so. Fair stability when standing up on water for fly fishing. Used electric trolling motor which works well with boat, but mostly go without - easy to row, fast on the water, and sneaks aptly into the shallows. Love the swivel seat and how easily it mounts. Boat is super durable. I use the foot pump and it inflates boat quickly. Recommend buying the pressure guage for inflating to proper psi. I recommend this boat.

show full review ▼

Shortfalls: could be six inches longer and wider for more space at feet (width) and behind seat (length). Floor can test patience when installing especially in cold weather. Too many buckles get in way of line when fishing - don’t use them for attaching bags. Bags are not waterproof. Could use a mount up front for installing a second anchor.

Rick Snowden Verified Owner 2/8/2019 2.0 out of 5 stars.

Unfortunately I injured my elbow shortly after getting the boat and was only able to use it once. I should have returned it after that first disappointing use.

I thought I would give it another chance but the season ended before I did. The problem with the craft is the oar setup. It is virtually impossible to propel the craft by oars alone in any sort of current or wind. The boat would only be safe on the smallest ponds. The problem is the length of the oar from the oarlock to the paddle is too short and the length from the oarlock to the handle is too long. After struggling with this issue I looked a some reviews and found several people who did modifications to the oar setup. Not interested in doing this. I did invest in an electric motor and battery and will try the boat again next spring. if not more satisfied I hope I could still return. The quality of construction is fine. It simply is not usable on anything but small ponds on a calm day.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Thank you for the review. Please contact us and we will gladly assist you in the use of your 285 FPB in many various bodies of water.

Stanley Rusinak Verified Owner 2/4/2019 3.0 out of 5 stars.

I pretty much like the product except the plywood deck is extremely hard to install and already popped out of the left and right slots when I first used it. Have only used it that once due to cold weather here that started in October.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Please see our instructional video for tips on installing the floorboard, and please feel free to call us should you need any further assistance.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YmT9eNmWCE&t=171s

Larry Kelm Verified Owner 1/12/2019 5.0 out of 5 stars.

I love the boat. Did not use it much in 2018 as I had rotator cuff surgery in September. I will make up for it this year. The ease it is to put together and getting it on the water is great. I also bought the trolling motor and it has plenty of thrust. I would recommend this boat to anyone looking for a small boat. The only drawback is I wish it was a little wider.

Chad Dean Verified Owner 1/9/2019 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Love it. Easy to pack in and out. Easy to set up. Great on the water. Highly recommended!

Robert Dashiell Verified Owner 1/9/2019 5.0 out of 5 stars.

I love my Eagle. I do have a suggestion tho. I’m trying to come up with some sort of Keel that I can attach up front. Its needed because it has a habit of swinging around when you’re working the bank

Sea Eagle's reply:

Thank you for the review. We do not have a keel but we do offer a 2 skeg kit that would fit. You can find it under parts in the extras section of our website.

Tim Banks Verified Owner 11/28/2018 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Quality is great.

Customer service is great.

Trying to paddle the boat with the current system is challenging due to the height of the seat.

I fish rivers with current. The boat works great in calm rivers.

Neil HELM Verified Owner 11/13/2018 5.0 out of 5 stars.

I got this boat for my birthday in October and have been out on it 4 times now, 2 on Silverwood Lake and 2 at Dan Point Harbor. All four times I've had a great time fishing in the 285FPB and caught a bunch of fish. The 1st time on the lake I didn't have my motor and the wind came up and pushed me into a bunch of rocks and a rock cliff but the boat handled it very well with no problems. It's a very good fishing boat, very durable, very stable, good leg room, great swivel seat and I added a couple of accessory glue pads up front for more options.

show full review ▼

Good Job Sea Eagle

John Rist Verified Owner 11/10/2018 4.0 out of 5 stars.

The SeaEagle 285fpb is a great little boat. It is sturdy, durable and safe. I'm an amputee and despite some difficulty getting into the boat, I feel very safe and stable sitting in this boat. I've added a verticlal handicap bar to the floorboard and that assists me in getting up out of the seat which for me was a little too low. I added a taller pedestal to get me higher in the seat since I'm 6' 4" and 240 lbs. This creates a problem with the oars since they don't function properly when the rowing angle changes due to the new higher seat profile. That's just what I have to do to make this pontoon work for me.

show full review ▼

The trolling motor is quite adequate in getting me around the water.

I've added a fish finder and an anchor to the standard package and both are very functional.

I can give this boat high marks!

John Rist