Main Content
180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 12/25/2019
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

4 Discount Packages available. starting at $799

285fpb Reviews (109 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

5/24/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Alan Lantz , Kirkland Verified Owner

Works as advertised. I have room for two flyrods and a spinning rod, small cooler and a small tackle bag. I normally fish on Lake Washington & Sammamish river.

As long as it's not too windy I can comfortably fish for 4-5hrs. Only complaint is when your under power,no matter what speed you have to continually keep your hand on the electric motor to steer. So it's hard to steer and fish at the same time. Fits into the back of my SUV while semi-inflated.Highly recommend for those who have no room for a boat & trailer. Get's you into skinny water with no problems. While you can certainly stand and use your flyrod the swivel chair works just fine.

5/1/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Richard Von Gunten , CAMDENTON Verified Owner

Because of health problems, I have only used my boat 1 time. I did use it on the Norfolk river in Arkansas last October. I am 80 years old and it performed as advertised and was very easy to inflate, transport, and maneuver. I couldn't bring up a picture so will send it separately.

3/8/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Samuel Davies , ANACONDA Verified Owner

I really like my sea eagle. It is a real stable raft and easy to get around.

3/5/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. JAN Knost , CHARLESTOWN Verified Owner

My new Sea Eagle is patiently waiting in my garage for me to put it together sometime during the week before trout season opens in April. I hope to enlist a neighbor to help me with the project since, at 82, I'm not the logical person I was. Keep your fingers crossed and suggest any printed steps I need to take to get it up and running. Thanx for asking. Reverend Jan

2/12/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Mike Maclean , Parker Verified Owner

Love it. Im 275 lbs and it's sturdy enough to stand up in. Trolling motor pushes it pretty good. I us it for trolling deep for trout and getting into back water ponds bass fishing

1/22/2017
4.0 out of 5 stars. James Harshbarger , North Richland Hills Verified Owner

I love the sea eagle it is very stable even in windy rough waves. Ive caught way more fish with the boat. The few negatives i have is getting the floor under the keepers and i wish it had D rings around it. It would be a nice feature.

I cut a board to fill in the space on the floor so i can put a milk crate in front of me. Would totally buy this again !!

show full review ▼
1/2/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Jim Nissen , Tenstrike Verified Owner

Love every aspect of this boat, with the exception of the portability. With such a light boat, there should be a much more efficient way to transport it. Seems it would be very easy to have virtually the same setup, but 2 straps instead of 1 so it can be carried as a backpack instead of a carry bag (unwieldy in back country). This would make a huge difference.

show full review ▼
12/13/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Otis Haerr , Taylorville, IL Verified Owner

After much research I ordered a Sea Eagle 285 with a Minnkota 30 motor and trailer - I used it about 10 times last season and it met or exceeded everything I expected from it. I had open heart bypass surgery this fall and will have to sell it. I will sorely miss my "lil Crappie killer"

6/12/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Eric Brown , Seattle, WA Verified Owner
Eric  Brown's boat

When searching for a one man fishing boat I was thrilled to discover the Sea Eagle 285. The boat offers a solution to anyone who does not have the space or convenience to purchase and store a large fishing boat. The Sea Eagle 285 along with its accessories and my fishing gear all fit in my small compact sedan. The boat is compact, lightweight and very easy to handle. Set up takes a little longer than advertised (it takes me about 15 minutes) but does get easier the more you do it. I purchased a 55 pound thrust trolling motor and would recommend this addition if you plan on fishing larger lakes. That being said, the boat is easily rowed. Once you get your item placement dialed in, the Sea Eagle 285 offers ample space for comfortable fishing. The product feels very durable and safe. The boat can handle wind and choppy waters just fine, however comfort and maneuverability are much better on calmer waters. Overall, if you are searching for a one man boat that travels and stores easily, I highly recommend SE285.

5/26/2016
4.0 out of 5 stars. Steve Smith , Red Deer Verified Owner

Have now spent six hours on the water in the boat. My observations:

1. Setup gets easier every time. Floor board goes into place easier now.

2. The oars are too long. Getting the paddles out of the water on the return stroke requires your legs straight...no knee bend.

3. The pump supplied broke after four uses.

4. Deflate,dismantle and fold up is a breeze.

show full review ▼