180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 6/30/2018
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

4 Discount Packages available. starting at $799

285fpb Reviews (73 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

1/4/2016
Jim Sayger , Bonita Springs, FL Verified Owner

Great buy! I added a 2.5hp Suzuki 4 stroke. I have only used it a few times, but plan on more this year. I built a small tilt trailer for it. Great look. I keep it inflated on the trailer. Holds air for months. I recommend getting the electronic air pump. I also added some more "D" rings.

I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

1/4/2016
Len Mack , Mesa, AZ Verified Owner

Great little boat but now my wife is also becoming an avid fly fisher so we are checking out 2 person fishing craft.

Like the foldcat but not enough cash on fixed income at this time.

cheers,

Len Mack

1/4/2016
Patrick Eddy , Creston, ID, Canada Verified Owner

This is a great boat and overall it has many advantages over other single man pontoon boats. There are only a couple of improvements and fixes that I would like to see. I got a leak on the second or third trip with the boat. I managed to limp back to shore but not without some hard work and disappointment. Turns out the leak was not in an area that you would suspect as an impact area. It was on the inside of the pontoon near the front cross member on what appeared to be a fold line of the original deflated packing plan. It took several attempt with the patch kit supplied to get the patch to seal completely. I now keep the boat inflated as I didn't want to take a chance at having the folded boat position compromising the patch. The other weak point of the boat was the paddles. They are lightweight but not strong enough. I had one of the paddles collapse on a river trip. Luckily I got both halves back and with duct tape and a branch got to the takeout.

more ▼
Sea Eagle's reply:

Patrick we thank you so much for your honest review and would like to apologize for any inconveniences. Please keep in mind that as of today 1/5/16 you are still covered under our 3 year warranty. Although the issues you have mentioned are not common, we are contacting you so as to address and look further into them. Your concerns are our concerns.

1/4/2016
Thomas Naleid , Avon Park, FL Verified Owner

I bought my 285 fpb three years ago to fish lakes on my northern Wisconsin property. The lakes range from 7 to 24 acres and the pontoon boat has proven to be a perfect match for me on the small lakes. I rigged up a 3 lb. window sash weight for an anchor using the motor mount to affix the anchor rope pulley/lock. I couldn't sit more than an hour in one of my Jon boats but I'm usually out for three hours or more in the pontoon boat and the swivel seat is fantastic. My boat sits out on the shoreline all summer and I dump rain water when necessary and give it a good scrub down before storing it for the winter. This is an exceptionally tough, well designed personal fishing boat.

1/4/2016
Ronnie Elmore , Valentine, NE Verified Owner
Ronnie Elmore's boat

Enjoyed much ,, has given me as much or more than expected .... Caught a lot of fish from this baby .... I have noticed some changes to the newer model ,, those changes were the right ones .... Even so this boat,, AKA Water Spider as named by me ,, cruises the water very well.... I have had to come out from behind a small island only to get in a 30 mph wind with white caps ,, opened my eyes knowing we had to make it back to dock with no choice .... We rode the wind an caps without problem .... Had to ride a 3 foot swell made from a jet boat .... Up an over smoothly ,, nothing got wet or lost .... All in all AKA Water Spider got us to places we wanted to go giving us the enjoyment we need .... Thank God for our Spider ....

more ▼
1/4/2016
Patrick Mayers , Midland, TX Verified Owner

I really enjoy the boat on Texas rivers, not as much on lakes because of high boat traffic. I love the ability to stand in the boat to fish and the motor is just enough.

The good far outweighs any bad but a few recommendations:

Suggest a higher powered motor package. The 30 amp will do in most cases, but the need for speed is always there.

more ▼
Sea Eagle's reply:
Patrick Mayers's boat

Please take into consideration the floorboard can be position further forward and the seat anchored at the front most location to create room for the marine battery.

1/4/2016
David A Lavigne , Windham, ME Verified Owner

Very satisfied with all aspects of this transaction. The boat is actually more than I expected. Very stable and because I am a senior very comfortable with the raised seating. I have installed an electric motor and again it performed excellently. On its maiden voyage on a remote trout pond in northern Maine landed 3 brook trout on a fly rod with the smallest being 19" and the largest being 23". all were released as this pond is designated as a trophy trout pond. Since seeing my boat in action My two fishing buddies are seriously considering purchasing the same boat as mine before our next trip. I would highly recommend this boat to anyone interested in a one person inflatable fishing boat. I would only make two suggestions to increase the versatility of this boat 1) add a leaning type bar to help when standing and 2) have the motor mount offset so that it would be easier to operate the motor.

1/4/2016
David Freitag , Baltimore, MD Verified Owner

I have used my Sea Eagle 285fpb about 50 times since I have owned it for the last 3 years. Overall I think it is a big upgrade to my old fishing kayak. The comfort and portabliity are superior to those provided by my 12 ft sit on fishing kayak.

I can set up the 285 is under 15 minutes from car to lake with the assistance of an electric inflation pump I bought from amazon. Many folks have asked me where I bought this unique boat and I have gladly pointed them to Sea Eagle. I am very much a supporter of the company. The build qualty is excellent for this craft.

more ▼
1/4/2016
Rick Perry , Chilliwack, BC, Canada Verified Owner

Great boat have only used it a couple of times because of serious surgery problem. My son now has it and is enjoying it with his 7 year old catching lots of trout in Prince George BC

1/4/2016
John T Czohla , Lafayette, NJ Verified Owner

I initially really liked the boat. Its easy to transport and deploy and extremely stable on the water and goes well ender power from a electric motor. the only downfall I experienced was that it doesn't track well using the oars and spins and blows around a lot in the wind. I am currently looking to sell the boat but only because I need something to accommodate another person

Sea Eagle's reply:

Thank you for your review John, we believe with a little practice controlling your boat will come easier. We also see that you are looking for a two person boat. Have you considered the STS10? Here's a link: www.seaeagle.com/FramelessFishingBoats/STS10. Please keep in mind that it does have a similar oar set up as your 285fpb.

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images