Main Content
Due to high order and call volume we are seeing delays in processing and customer service wait times.
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968

Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

5 Discount Packages available. starting at $799

285fpb Reviews (111 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

6/21/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. James Harshbarger , North Richland Hills Verified Owner
Selfie of James Harshbarger with their boat James Harshbarger's boat

The Sea Eagle is a great low profile boat that can be accessorized in many ways. I have added trolling motor and fishing accessories, including fish finder. It only weighs around 40 lbs. and folds up to 1 1/2 feet by 2 feet so I can fit it easily in a closet to store and in my Kia Sportage to take to lake. It only takes 5 minutes to blow up and then in 15 minutes it is ready to launch. The material it’s made from causes fishing lures to just bounce right off. It is very stable even in rough waters and winds up to 20 plus mph. We did not have the storage space or money for a boat and trailer so the Sea Eagle has been the perfect option for my bass fishing.

5/27/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. David Janssen , Michigan Verified Owner

I have been very happy with my 285fpb.I bought the boat for trout fishing our famous AuSable River here in Michigan and it has performed flawlessly I also do alot of pan fishing on inland lakes.It works great for that also.The boat is very stable and standing is no problem.I put a 2.5 mercury on mine when fishing lakes it moves it along nicely.It also paddels and tracks great.The material is super tough, I have went over rocks and drug it through the brush with no problems at all.

5/24/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Alan Lantz , Kirkland Verified Owner

Works as advertised. I have room for two flyrods and a spinning rod, small cooler and a small tackle bag. I normally fish on Lake Washington & Sammamish river.

As long as it's not too windy I can comfortably fish for 4-5hrs. Only complaint is when your under power,no matter what speed you have to continually keep your hand on the electric motor to steer. So it's hard to steer and fish at the same time. Fits into the back of my SUV while semi-inflated.Highly recommend for those who have no room for a boat & trailer. Get's you into skinny water with no problems. While you can certainly stand and use your flyrod the swivel chair works just fine.

5/1/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Richard Von Gunten , CAMDENTON Verified Owner

Because of health problems, I have only used my boat 1 time. I did use it on the Norfolk river in Arkansas last October. I am 80 years old and it performed as advertised and was very easy to inflate, transport, and maneuver. I couldn't bring up a picture so will send it separately.

3/8/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Samuel Davies , ANACONDA Verified Owner

I really like my sea eagle. It is a real stable raft and easy to get around.

3/5/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. JAN Knost , CHARLESTOWN Verified Owner

My new Sea Eagle is patiently waiting in my garage for me to put it together sometime during the week before trout season opens in April. I hope to enlist a neighbor to help me with the project since, at 82, I'm not the logical person I was. Keep your fingers crossed and suggest any printed steps I need to take to get it up and running. Thanx for asking. Reverend Jan

2/12/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Mike Maclean , Parker Verified Owner

Love it. Im 275 lbs and it's sturdy enough to stand up in. Trolling motor pushes it pretty good. I us it for trolling deep for trout and getting into back water ponds bass fishing

1/22/2017
4.0 out of 5 stars. James Harshbarger , North Richland Hills Verified Owner

I love the sea eagle it is very stable even in windy rough waves. Ive caught way more fish with the boat. The few negatives i have is getting the floor under the keepers and i wish it had D rings around it. It would be a nice feature.

I cut a board to fill in the space on the floor so i can put a milk crate in front of me. Would totally buy this again !!

show full review ▼

I get a lot of looks and comments about what it is and how i like it.

1/2/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Jim Nissen , Tenstrike Verified Owner

Love every aspect of this boat, with the exception of the portability. With such a light boat, there should be a much more efficient way to transport it. Seems it would be very easy to have virtually the same setup, but 2 straps instead of 1 so it can be carried as a backpack instead of a carry bag (unwieldy in back country). This would make a huge difference.

show full review ▼

On a MUCH more positive note, it exceeded my expectations in every way when it came to fishing. I bought the package that included the electric motor, but haven't taken it out of the box, as there was no need. It handles so well with the oars. I'm not a small guy (250 lb) but it holds the boat well out of the water and moves remarkably well using the oars alone, even in a brisk wind. The anchor allows for all the flexibility I need when it comes to fishing an area, then moving on to the next.

SUPER comfortable. Had a knee replacement a year ago so was worried about how long I'd be able to fish at one time. Not a concert at all.

12/13/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Otis Haerr , Taylorville, IL Verified Owner

After much research I ordered a Sea Eagle 285 with a Minnkota 30 motor and trailer - I used it about 10 times last season and it met or exceeded everything I expected from it. I had open heart bypass surgery this fall and will have to sell it. I will sorely miss my "lil Crappie killer"