180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 6/30/2018
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

4 Discount Packages available. starting at $799

285fpb Reviews (73 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

1/5/2016
John E McCoy , Washington, DC Verified Owner

Ask me again in April or May:

Purchased my boat early so I could get it set-up the way I want before the Fishing season starts down here.

The purchase experience from Sea-Eagle was OUTSTANDING! people, Quality and service are all 12's out of a possible 10:)

I was amazed at the overnight shipping. A little expansive but your not waiting around for days.

more ▼
1/5/2016
John Green , Fredonia, NY Verified Owner

It is well made easy to set up only drawback is it could be a little bit wider about a foot would great.

1/5/2016
Chris Seipel , Grove City, OH Verified Owner

QUsed the 285fpd a dozen times. The fishing boat works fine . Would like a protective edge glued on the outside. I got a hole in it at a concrete dock when another boat came by to fast and made a lot of waves. A bumper around the boat would be nice. Patched the hole and still going strong. Can't be use in wind the boat gets blown all over the lake. Caught a nice channel cat fish 28" long that pulled more ▼

1/5/2016
Charlotte Rochon , SASKATOON, SK, Canada Verified Owner

I love my pontoon boat. it is sturdy and built of material even stronger than I had hoped for, and it takes less than 20 minutes to get onto the water.Am especially impressed with the foot pump's effectiveness: it is fast and inflates the boat to a satisfying fullness. all attachments are well thought out and designed, and made of quality materials. This is a boat that I can use for years without worrying about decay and replacement of parts! It is compact and goes everywhere with me.

more ▼
1/5/2016
Nicholas Skatell , Erwin, NC Verified Owner

I love the boat. It is a treat to have vs the old wooden boat that I have used for many years. I actually have my grandfather's old wooden boat that is approx. 50 yrs old. The only issue that I have, is that I have a small leak in the left pontoon that I cannot find. I have tried soap suds, and various other methods to find the leak, without success.

more ▼
Sea Eagle's reply:

Hi Nicholas, we've attempted to contact you via email and phone. Please call us at 1-800-748-8066 or email tech support supervisor Jerry Allen at Jerry@SeaEagle.com and we'll assist you in resolving this issue.

1/5/2016
Mark Swindlehurst , Ewing, NJ Verified Owner

After spending a lot of time reviewing boats to buy I came across Sea Eagle 285fpb and purchased a used one. It was one of the best decisions I made since it is light enough for me to load and unload by myself and the storage inside is perfect for a day on the water. It has been thru hell and back with me and still works like a dream. The nicest thing about this boat is you can get into tight spots where fish stack up on one another and other boats can't which makes it a winner. I had one problem with the boat which was self inflicted by stupidity, but when I called customer service to fix it they were outstanding with their knowledge and sent what I need out quickly. I should get a commission from them with the amount of people I send to them after they talk to me out on the water. A great boat for a great price - I highly recommend you buy one and try it for yourself.

1/4/2016
Steve Washburn , Lubbock, TX Verified Owner
Steve Washburn's boat

Overall I like the boat. It's a little small for a guy 6' 2",but it's still fun. I didn't get to use it as much as I was hoping but the few times I did it handled the way it was advertised. It packs away nicely and is easy to transport. I have already recommended the sea eagle brand to my brother in law and he bought the 2 man boat. He and his dog like it very much. If I ever had to buy another one, I would upgrade to a 2 man just for extra space.

1/4/2016
Jeff Hahne , Strasburg, CO Verified Owner

Entering 4th season with my 285FPB. Performs well and is easy to launch and retrieve. I seldom collapse it but it has withstood 3 hard winters in cold temps. It is not quick as my wife in her pontoon can blow me away even with the motor (30 pound thrust) on full. It is very easily affected by the wind but so is my wife's pontoon. I got the folding seat and it is quite comfortable for several hours just floating on my local reservoir or nearby lake. I am a horrible fisherman but enjoy the view from the water, listen to my MP3 player, and enjoy an adult beverage. Best feature: it is light and easy to launch. Worst feature: heading into high wind driven waves the boat will fill over the bow. Suggested modification (new models are better already): Move the rod holders forward. They are behind me so seeing them twitch (which they never do, hence horrible fisherman) is difficult. A good purchase overall. I have also been looking at the 285FPB's big brother because my wife and I would like to float together.

1/4/2016
Kim / Chad Dilts , Lansing, MI Verified Owner

Well haven't used it much but when I did I liked it ,very busy with work lately, bought it to quick and wish I waited and got the green one, I have the gray one, wish they did a trade in for other one, has better rod holders and seat design, well is what it is but wish I had the newer model green one , thanks Chad.

1/4/2016
Fred Standefer , Edmond, OK Verified Owner

Primary useage for me is Colorado rivers. I purchased this boat and my brother purchased a similar type inflatable with two separate inflatable pontoons held together with a rigid frame. The craft my brother purchased is better than the Sea Eagle for my missions primarily because the rigid frame with its higher stance is much better in fast water. The Sea Eagle is very well constructed and I am very pleased with the service and quality of workmanship. Although the oar lock mechanism on the Sea Eagle is well made its lack of rigidity in fast water makes control much more difficult and far less accurate. I highly recommend Sea Eagle, but I should have understood the difference between the two designs before I made my purchase. Great boat, but understand the mission you plan to use it for.if you are going to be working a lot of fast rivers you might want to consider other designs.

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images