Main Content
Due to high order and call volume we are seeing delays in processing and customer service wait times.
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968

Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

4 Discount Packages available. starting at $599

285fpb Reviews (111 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

11/4/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Mary Priest , Midland, MI Verified Owner
Mary Priest's boat

This boat has been amazing! I use it in rivers, ponds and lakes. I added a bait board and extended the support floor board to the front. This boat allows me to fish for hours standing or sitting. With the addition of USB outlets on the battery box I can charge my phone or speakers. The fish finder has been a great addition as well. The use of an anchor allows me to fish in my favorite spots. My husband uses a kayak, but will join me in his Sea Eagle next summer (I bought him one for Christmas...shhh-it's a surprise!). I can't wait to hit the water together next summer! Love my Sea Eagle!

10/27/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Joe Fletcher , Lincoln, ca Verified Owner

Update...

After tapering the floor board and using soapy water on the rubber hold downs I now have no problems installing the board. I love the boat and it takes less than 20 minutes to get the boat ready for fishing. This includes installing the battery,motor seat,oars,fish finder and fishing gear. I want to thank Jerry in Tech support for all of your help. I now have a lot of friends in our fishing club interested show full review ▼ in buying a Sea Eagle boat.

in buying a Sea Eagle boat.

Thanks again

Joe Fletcher

10/23/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Robert Hoffman , GREENWATER Verified Owner

I have used the boat about 6 times since getting it. My experience is somewhat limited, but, overall I am very satisfied both with the performance and support. When I first got the boat and started to put it together I had a couple of questions which were resolved with a phone call. My initial time to assemble and launch was about an hour. This was primarily because I wanted to be sure it would work on the water. This is down to about 30 min now. I have had several positive comments about the boat and inquiries about cost and use. I expected that it would be affected by the wind, and it is, but, it also allows you to get in shallow water. I try to fish smaller water, so travel time is not a problem, but it is not as fast as a larger boat. I doubt that I would take it on a very large lake. I had one day in MN where I got a 3, 4, and 5 Lb. Largemouth in a small lake in the shallows. I think this was primarily due to the quietness of the boat and the ability to get in close by drifting.

10/18/2017
4.0 out of 5 stars. Joe Fletcher , Lincoln Ca Verified Owner

I purchased my Sea Eagle 285fpb in August 2017. I have taken it out 3 times and love the boat. The only problem so far is I can't get the floor board under all of the rubber hold down tabs. I followed the video instructions and still have problems with it. It worse when the air temperature is cold. I called customer service and they recommended that I install the floorboard when it is deflated...did not work. I am thinking about tapering the edges of the board so to make it easier to slide under the tabs....any suggestions??

show full review ▼

I still love the boat and would buy again....everyone that see's me on the lake wants one. It just takes me at least 20 minutes to install the floor board...taking up fishing time.

Joe Fletcher

10/9/2017
4.0 out of 5 stars. Bruce Mangers , CORVALLIS Verified Owner

I have enjoyed my boat. Set up is quick and the boat is stable and comfortable. My only complaints are the pole holders are in a inconvenient location while fishing. Also the rowing position can be awkward from either the length of the oars or the narrowness of the boat. My knees always seem to be in the way so I need to change my leg positions to row smoothly when I am trolling. Overall, i would recommend the boat. I would strongly look at your products if I need to replace the boat, but I hope that it will not be necessary for a long time because the quality of the boat seems very good. Bruce Mangers

9/29/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Ken Crites , GRAND JUNCTION Verified Owner

I couldn't be more happy with my 285. It does exactly what I expected when I purchased it. I would definitely recommend it to avid flyfishermen. In hindsight, I would have bought the 10 foot two person rig because my wife wants to go with me, so it will be my purchase in the very near future.

9/25/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Brian Knutson , PLOVER Verified Owner

Switched from kayak to sea eagle inflatable do to back issues. Now I can comfortably fish for hours. Perfect craft for getting into small landings. I would definitely purchase another sea eagle product. Thank you for creating such a fine inflatable.

Brian knutson

9/22/2017
4.0 out of 5 stars. Terrence Garner , LITTLE ROCK Verified Owner

Bought one for my wife, love it! Bought one for me, very durable. Very good buy, would recommend it to anyone.

9/16/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Frank Barber , St. Joseph MO Verified Owner

I recently purchased the 285fpb frameless fishing boat.

I have had it on the water 3 times now. I really like the boat. It handles great even in windy conditions. It's easy to setup and get in the water. It has a very shallow draft and therefore can get into very shallow water. The Minn Kota motor I got with the boat gets it across the lake very nicely. I researched my purchase for over a month looking at many different inflatable boats before I chose the 285fpb. I am very pleased with my purchase and would highly recommend it to anyone.

show full review ▼

Thanks Sea Eagle for making a great product.

8/24/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Louis Arslanian , HOLLYWOOD Verified Owner
Louis Arslanian's boat

Wow! I have used this boat in South Florida virtually every weekend. I already had a Torqueedo Travel (short shaft) for a small boat I keep behind my house. The Sea Eagle is my travel boat. I have taken the boat primarily into Biscayne Bay near downtown Miami for seatrout fishing, but I have taken it to other waterways, as well. With the motor, I can go anywhere easily, and run in about a foot of water!!! The motor mount and and short shaft allow me to do this. I have got used to the assembly, and can get this together in just a few minutes. I do strongly suggest a rechargeable battery-powered air pump. I use that to get some air into the boat - then put on the motor mount anslide in the wooden platform (on a flat, not angled, surface). Then use the pump to fill it up most of the way, and then use the provided bellow foot pump to fill it up the rest of the way. Also strongly suggest the 3M protectorant, as well. I've caught many fish (jacks, cudas, snapper and seatrout)!!