285fpb Reviews (67 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

Add your Review
1/5/2016
Mark Rodriguez , Lakewood, CA Verified Owner

Love the Sea Eagle 285fpb. Very easy to setup and to disassemble. Saves room in my truck when tent camping. Once you get to your site and setup, the back of your truck is empty….perfect to transport your boat from camp site to your favorite fishing lake.Two modification that I would recommend:1. Have a hard firm board between the 2 pontoons in front of the boat. The soft membrane in front flex’s too much which allows water into the boat. I made a board and attached it a small ice chest in front of me to keep it pulled back.

2. When trolling the pole holders are behind you. Not good. When you get a hit you have to spin to grab your pole and is not easy to grab and pull out of the holder. Holders need to be in front of you. I made a board over the soft membrane just in front of the floor board provide and put 2 pole holders on it and this resolved that problem.These two modifications have made my Sea Eagle 285fpb much more enjoyable.

Thank you for your time…Mark

1/5/2016
Victor Uriegas , San Antonio, TX Verified Owner

I have the older version gray in color. I simply love mine. Would I recommend it yes on some conditions. I am a weekend fisherman and if they made some simple changes on the new version of mine and the new stealth stalker. I really like that one but they need to make some changes on it for the avid fisherman or make it where you can order It from the factory that way as well. I would love to buy the new stealth stalker but there need some changes for the less fortunate people that already going to spend $1300 on the boat. And then having to spend more money on other features to make it a little more stable.

1/5/2016
Gregg Menge , Lewistown, MT Verified Owner

It is a good durable effective tool onto quiet lakes for solo fishing.. On larger bodies in distance to shore and quick arising storm winds, the low front exposure poses some challenges into choppy waves. It is a nice boat to have with inventory of other craft to fill the various calls of recreation. Overall a good tough durable product that can be easily strapped on a camper shell.One improvement sought in considering another purchase would be to increase the barrel size, without adding structure. I have yet to brave the swift upper Missouri River waters in spring and summer as was my intent in purchasing. Consider the stated weight limit and a 250# man (all muscle), 10# ale and lunch, 15# tackle, 15# trolling motor setup, 35# battery, 5# underwater camera, fish finder and 20# fish. The weight loss of fluids reflects to the unverified 20# catch? Seriously, such a vessel would be most excellent to waters out from the few remote access spots where motor boats take hours to access.

1/5/2016
Brad Smith , Chandler, AZ Verified Owner

Impressions and observations: boat set up very easily and took only a few minutes. I had to drag boat to the water, scraping along some rocks. The boat material is tough but I will be looking at some options here. The wheeled carrier on your web site seems a bit overkill for the purpose. I would like to see a single wheel and strut that attaches to the transom that allows the boat to be moved similar to a wheelbarrow. On the water I felt the oars are too short,though, and that an extra foot of length would improve things greatly. This should at least be an option ( an inexpensive one, I'd imagine). With no keel or legs hanging into the water, I was moved by the wind more than the tube boats on that lake, but being able to stand up offset that disadvantage. The oar was very easy to break down and remarkably fit back into the storage bag. Id like to have had the option on attachments for rod holders ( eg, fly rod, fish finder, anchor lock), rather than bait rod ( don't use). Overall a great product.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Thank you for your review Brad, your suggestions matter and we are currently looking into the possibilities of longer paddles/oars and a way to offset the effects of the wind.

1/5/2016
John E McCoy , Washington, DC Verified Owner

Ask me again in April or May:Purchased my boat early so I could get it set-up the way I want before the Fishing season starts down here.The purchase experience from Sea-Eagle was OUTSTANDING! people, Quality and service are all 12's out of a possible 10:)I was amazed at the overnight shipping. A little expansive but your not waiting around for days.I have yet to unroll my boat. but have checked out all the various parts. it's sitting in my shed waiting for warmer weather to actually get it pumped up, final asssembled and extra Scotty rigs and add-on mounted.

As of this date I'm happy with my purchase but can not rate it until I actually get her in the water.

1/5/2016
John Green , Fredonia, NY Verified Owner

It is well made easy to set up only drawback is it could be a little bit wider about a foot would great.

1/5/2016
Chris Seipel , Grove City, OH Verified Owner

QUsed the 285fpd a dozen times. The fishing boat works fine . Would like a protective edge glued on the outside. I got a hole in it at a concrete dock when another boat came by to fast and made a lot of waves. A bumper around the boat would be nice. Patched the hole and still going strong. Can't be use in wind the boat gets blown all over the lake. Caught a nice channel cat fish 28" long that pulled me round in it.

1/5/2016
Charlotte Rochon , SASKATOON, SK, Canada Verified Owner

I love my pontoon boat. it is sturdy and built of material even stronger than I had hoped for, and it takes less than 20 minutes to get onto the water.Am especially impressed with the foot pump's effectiveness: it is fast and inflates the boat to a satisfying fullness. all attachments are well thought out and designed, and made of quality materials. This is a boat that I can use for years without worrying about decay and replacement of parts! It is compact and goes everywhere with me.

I have a small 3 hp propane motor for it which is plenty of power given the boat's shallow draft. Mostly I use the oars as they allow for fast and effective access to all sorts or nooks and crannies where fish hide...I've also made a small modification: the addition of a short board on the front end of the floor to allow my whippet to ride with me. She loves the boat too!

1/5/2016
Nicholas Skatell , Erwin, NC Verified Owner

I love the boat. It is a treat to have vs the old wooden boat that I have used for many years. I actually have my grandfather's old wooden boat that is approx. 50 yrs old. The only issue that I have, is that I have a small leak in the left pontoon that I cannot find. I have tried soap suds, and various other methods to find the leak, without success.Thanks for any thoughts regarding this issue.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Hi Nicholas, we've attempted to contact you via email and phone. Please call us at 1-800-748-8066 or email tech support supervisor Jerry Allen at Jerry@SeaEagle.com and we'll assist you in resolving this issue.

1/5/2016
Mark Swindlehurst , Ewing, NJ Verified Owner

After spending a lot of time reviewing boats to buy I came across Sea Eagle 285fpb and purchased a used one. It was one of the best decisions I made since it is light enough for me to load and unload by myself and the storage inside is perfect for a day on the water. It has been thru hell and back with me and still works like a dream. The nicest thing about this boat is you can get into tight spots where fish stack up on one another and other boats can't which makes it a winner. I had one problem with the boat which was self inflicted by stupidity, but when I called customer service to fix it they were outstanding with their knowledge and sent what I need out quickly. I should get a commission from them with the amount of people I send to them after they talk to me out on the water. A great boat for a great price - I highly recommend you buy one and try it for yourself.