Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

4 Discount Packages available. starting at $799

Byrl Shaver Verified Owner 9/22/2020 5.0 out of 5 stars.

I've been looking at this boat for years, but when I saw the ad with the kid I thought it may be too small, but I was wrong. This boat is a fish catching machine! I love the stability and ease of maneuverability, you can float in several inches of water and handle waves with ease. I'm 6'5" and weigh 240 lbs. and it works great for me. I've owned a pontoon and sea Nymph and numerous plastic boats and kayaks. None of them have been the pleasure that this craft has brought. I've only owned the 285fpb for a couple of months and I've put more time on the water with this boat than any of the others I've previously owned. I don't even deflate mine often, it is light weight and I throw it in the back of my truck and off you go! You won't be disappointed with this boat. It is rugged and takes a licking and keeps on floating. I love my Sea Eagle 285fpb. Its a keeper.

Bruce Baillie Verified Owner 9/20/2020 5.0 out of 5 stars.

The boat is great. It rows well even in the wind, which is important on some of the lakes I fish. Very stable, but can be a bit difficult to get in and out of at the boat launches. I use my wading staff to help getting in and out. Other than that, it's the best little fishing boat I've ever had.

Lou Ferraro Verified Owner 9/14/2020 5.0 out of 5 stars.

the 285fpb is a great fishing boat. It's easy to transport, set up and get into the water.

Gordon Love Verified Owner 8/1/2020 5.0 out of 5 stars.

I also have to say how great the customer service is and how they helped me by answering any and all questions insuring I was completely satisfied with my choice and purchase.

Gordon Love Verified Owner 8/1/2020 5.0 out of 5 stars.

This boat is exceptional. Easy to setup and handle making portability a dream. I put on a 2.5 Honda motor and can go where the big boats go but go even more places they can’t making the versatility unlimited. Being 75 yrs old being so easy to setup and move around has made this my senior yacht, Highly recommend this product.

David Moreno Verified Owner 6/10/2020 5.0 out of 5 stars.

I love this boat! It handles very well. Even with lots of chop/heavy waves, it's stable. You can stand on it if needed (it's a little wobbly towards the sides). Fishing is a real treat on this. It moves easily in wind so an anchor is essential. With a Minn Kota Endura 30 trolling motor, there's plenty of power to move. Steers very quickly - can make very sharp turns without issue. The EZ Cart wheels offer easy transport to/from the boat launch and I leave them attached (they don't slow the boat down). I'm a heavy guy over 300 lb. and even with the extra weight (70 lb. deep cycle battery, etc.), this boat has no issues. Setup time is ~ 20 min. Get a powered air inflator to save time. Attach rope to front handles for easier handling, use 303 PVC protectant spray to clean/protect it, and get a milk crate for gear storage at the front. The floor board's a pain to install the first few times; the grooves will stretch - it'll be much easier afterwards (a screwdriver is handy here to pry the groove over the board).

Tom Corbiere Verified Owner 5/29/2020 5.0 out of 5 stars.

I am a disabled vet. I can no longer stand in river safely to fly fish. . After looking at all the options available, I chose the Sea Eagle 285.

I ordered the pro package with electric trolling motor.

show full review ▼

I had an issue with installing the floor board in the boat as per instructions. I contacted Sea Eagle and received a call with in 24 hours. Jason was a great help. After putting together I recommend putting into sun to let it stretch in to shape before taking on trip. It will help with future setups. Entire package, motor and battery fits in my compact car. I have had it out half dozen times now and has takes about 30-40 min to set up and 20-30 to breakdown and load into car. I installed Fly Rod holders from Scott. Best investment make to keep me fishing!

Wesley G Verified Owner 4/23/2020 4.0 out of 5 stars.

I like how the 285 has amazing balance with it's nice size pontoons.

Pro's How you can stand and fish is a great feature. I like the seat and how you can spin it around to fish in every direction seated. It's a good looking boat. Has good accessories. The floor of the boat doesn't touch the water in calm water. Built very tough. Does come with a small motor mount. Handles rough currents, especially with a motor. I find it rows fine with it's sturdy oak lock system.

show full review ▼

Con's I do have to lower my legs to row without the oaks hitting my legs. I would of liked the seat to be 9 inchs or so as a option so I can store my battery in it's case under part of the seat. it's just crowded. The whole floor of the boat should have the marine wood. Not just part of it. The tracking on the boat is rough. I don't know if this is a big deal for people but it would be nice if the boat didn't scuff up so easily. I might be being too critical though. Max 4 mph??

Sea Eagle's reply:

Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate and take into account all feedback we receive. For assistance or to discuss customization on your 285FPB feel free to reach out at anytime.

Craig Taylor Verified Owner 3/22/2020 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Great quality, well made and designed for packing on a vehicle or ATV for fishing. I have only used it once as I live in Montana. I can hardly wait for summer to head to some of my favorite high mountain lakes. I added the small electric motor. It makes the boat really easy to navigate even in some wind. I would rate this product 10 of 10!

show full review ▼

Darol Westphal Verified Owner 3/15/2020 4.0 out of 5 stars.

This is my 3rd 285. My previous 2 285s died prematurely from big air leaks at bonded joints. However, once I figured out how to control spinning all 3 boats have been outstanding for shallow water redfish fly fishing. It stows deflated nicely in my flats skiff and is readily available for action. Have thoroughly enjoyed my red hunts and subsequent Cajun Sleigh Rides.