Main Content
Due to high order and call volume we are seeing delays in processing and customer service wait times.
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968

Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

4 Discount Packages available. starting at $599

285fpb Reviews (111 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

3/11/2019
5.0 out of 5 stars. Aron Elborne , LANSDALE Verified Owner

This boat literally was one of the best decisions I have ever made. True story, second day taking it out on my local lake I literally had 3 different guys come up to me to let me know how amazingly cool my boat was ! Talked to me for over 40 minutes before I was finally able to get it in the water. I'm convinced the 1st guy I talked to bought one he loved it that much. I'm still waiting for the first woman to compliment my boat.. most likely will marry her. Anyway, opt for the upgrades, the motor, and especially the pump. You will be glad you did. I customized mine with a fish finder and anchor as well. I'm catching fish and having fun! If your on the fence... I say buy it and enjoy all the memorable times that it will add in your life!

3/10/2019
5.0 out of 5 stars. Terrence Flatley , RENTON Verified Owner

Still enjoying the boat. Figured a better way to install the floor board - easier to install before inflating, saves on skin of my fingers and cursing during cold weather.

The plastic nut that holds oars from coming off crack in cold weather and found that oars float for about ten seconds only.

3/8/2019
4.0 out of 5 stars. Ed Belenski , WOODBRIDGE Verified Owner

Great little fishing inflatable, stable, easy to inflate, low tide poses no problems gets by on only 6 inches of water. Only negative comment, oars are to close together and almost touch each other on full stroke. Will purchase electric motor this year should improve range on tidal rivers.

2/24/2019
5.0 out of 5 stars. Ben Rinker , LAKE ARIEL Verified Owner
Ben Rinker's boat

Great little boat to have in the back of your vehicle for those times when you're out by yourself have a few extra hours to try a new spot. Takes a couple times to get used to the routine, but sets up in about 15 minutes along with the motor and all. Well made. It seems like it will last for many years if taken care of.

2/20/2019
4.0 out of 5 stars. David Haviland , ARLINGTON Verified Owner

Very happy with my Sea Eagle 285 fishing rig. I have used it on lakes and ponds in Massachusetts with no real issues. I usually inflate it at my house, then transport it in my pick-up truck bed fully inflated, usually this is the best option. This is an excellent option for the lone fisherman, but I would go to a larger rig for more than one person.

2/18/2019
5.0 out of 5 stars. David Freschi , HOOKSETT Verified Owner

Quality is superb. Having a lot of fun and catching some fish. Its a little time consuming to assemble but this seems to improve with practice. Quite a few pieces to work with but they all work well together. Standing up is a quiet water activity only and maybe for somebody quite a bit younger. Love this boat though. Beats messing with a trailer and launch ramp. Now if somebody would only come up with a 2 pound 12 volt battery it would be perfect.

2/18/2019
5.0 out of 5 stars. David Freschi , HOOKSETT Verified Owner

Quality is superb. Having a lot of fun and catching some fish. Its a little time consuming to assemble but this seems to improve with practice. Quite a few pieces to work with but they all work well together. Standing up is a quiet water activity only and maybe for somebody quite a bit younger. Love this boat though. Beats messing with a trailer and launch ramp. Now if somebody would only come up with a 2 pound 12 volt battery it would be perfect.

2/12/2019
5.0 out of 5 stars. Terrence Flatley , RENTON Verified Owner

Great little one man boat. I have used the boat more than a dozen times. Fairly easy to transport inside car or in cartop carrier. Have yet to transport on roof rack but needs to be nearly or fully inflated to do so. Fair stability when standing up on water for fly fishing. Used electric trolling motor which works well with boat, but mostly go without - easy to row, fast on the water, and sneaks aptly into the shallows. Love the swivel seat and how easily it mounts. Boat is super durable. I use the foot pump and it inflates boat quickly. Recommend buying the pressure guage for inflating to proper psi. I recommend this boat.

show full review ▼

Shortfalls: could be six inches longer and wider for more space at feet (width) and behind seat (length). Floor can test patience when installing especially in cold weather. Too many buckles get in way of line when fishing - don’t use them for attaching bags. Bags are not waterproof. Could use a mount up front for installing a second anchor.

1/12/2019
5.0 out of 5 stars. Larry Kelm , CHANNAHON Verified Owner

I love the boat. Did not use it much in 2018 as I had rotator cuff surgery in September. I will make up for it this year. The ease it is to put together and getting it on the water is great. I also bought the trolling motor and it has plenty of thrust. I would recommend this boat to anyone looking for a small boat. The only drawback is I wish it was a little wider.

1/9/2019
5.0 out of 5 stars. Chad Dean , CASPER Verified Owner

Love it. Easy to pack in and out. Easy to set up. Great on the water. Highly recommended!