180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states, excluding RIBs) available through 3/31/2019
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

4 Discount Packages available. starting at $899

285fpb Reviews (92 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

9/6/2018
Charles Adkins , Goodyear, Az Verified Owner

Wow, Where do I start? I just got into fishing. Started researching small watercraft that would fit in my small truck bed. Wanted something light weight, durable and easy to assemble. I didn't like the idea of my feet dangling in the water, also wanted the ability to stand up in the boat. Well the Sea Eagle 285 fpb fit my requirements. SeaEagle.com website is great. So easy to navigate and understand. Called in to customer service, Will was my representative. He made the buying process so easy. My 285 showed up in less than week. Ja, Ja I was so excited I put it together right in my living room. Took about 25 min first time. I've been tricking it out. Added Scotty mount anchor and additional Scotty rod holders. I'm really happy that I installed Fishfindermount.com to hold my Lowrance fish finder. First trip out was to Lake Pleasant, Az. My 285 performed great. I must admit being 6ft tall weighing 260 lbs made standing a little scary at first, but I got use to, even in choppy water. 1st Fish

8/30/2018
F. B. Thurman , NASHVILLE Verified Owner

Really is durable and easy to move around. I put a 50 pound thrust Minn Kota and never have to go past 4 on speed control. Can not say any negatives about the boat. I knew before buying it about the wind but its ok, just move into another cove. I am 68 and this is just what I needed but would recommend it for all ages.

8/30/2018
Anthony Bocking , TUCSON Verified Owner

Great little boat. Did have water from small waves come in the front flap when under power. Had to clip the flap up to stop water coming in.

Thanks

8/29/2018
John Rue , GREAT FALLS Verified Owner

Love this boat! Perfect one man fishing machine!

8/13/2018
Paul Staffieri , Portland, Oregon Verified Owner

I have used my Sea Eagle 285 a number of times these last few months and am very happy with the boat. I can now keep the boat inflated from lake to lake with my boat rack which sits above my 5th wheel hitch. Now when we arrive at a new location in our travels I can inflate the boat and transport it around. I use the boat much more often not having to inflate and deflate all the time.

more ▼
7/19/2018
Gregory Shmanske , Myrtle Beach SC Verified Owner

Love it. Much better than a kayak. Still use. my canoe in some spots, but the 285 is like fishing in an easy chair. Easy to handle with my 55 trolling motor, also.

7/3/2018
Jim Beste , LIMA Verified Owner

I love my Sea Eagle boat. I rate it 5 stars. It's everything that I wanted in a rowboat. It's easy to assemble, easy to use, dependable, safe, etc. I've added a 1 1/2 lb anchor and a boat rope but that's all. I love rowing the boat since it's so easy and I'm not bothered mounting the motor mount or having to carry a trolling motor & battery in my van.

6/28/2018
Ken Shigemi , Lethbridge Verified Owner

Finally got the chance to try out my sea eagle 285. Quality of the boat itself is great, light weight and easy to transport. It handled very well in the wind and surpriseinly easy to oar in choppy water. The only complaint I have is how the oars are mounted on the boat. I found that I kept hitting my knees when I used the oars, there should some way of adjusting the length of the oar handles.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Glad to hear you are enjoying your Sea Eagle. To keep your oars from hitting, have your hands crossover one another as they come through the middle of the drive. You can adjust the position of the floor to move it forward or back.

6/14/2018
Bill Shuey , Murphy, NC Verified Owner

I unpacked the boat in Grayling, MI to use on the Au Sable and Manistee Rivers. The boat was easy to assemble and set-up; just follow the instructions. The front of the boat tends to rise at more than minimal thrust with my 2.3 HP Honda.

The optional wheel assembly I purchased made launching and retrieving the boat reasonable easy. I performed both functions by myself on log steps and a healthy incline; at age 74 easy of launching and loading was a concern.

more ▼
5/10/2018
Larry Dynes , Cheyenne Verified Owner

On the plus side:

The 285fpb seems to be durable so far, and set up is reasonably quick. It's easy to launch and get in and out.

On the other hand:

Carrying in the pack is cumbersome, I tried to get the straps over my shoulders to pack on my back and tore one off.

Then it's another three trips back and forth to get everything to the water - floorboard, seat, oars, motor mount, etc.

more ▼
Sea Eagle's reply:

Please contact us directly at 1-800-748-8066 (REF#2286056) to see about getting a replacement carry bag. We also have other storage bags to store additional accessories in or even our small EZ Cart (www.seaeagle.com/Accessories/ez-cart/ez-cart-small-) so that you can have the boat fully assembled and transported to your launching point.

To install the floorboard, make sure the boat is only partially inflated and install the floorboard as shown at the 2:54 mark in our instructional video, seen here https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=181&v=5YmT9eNmWCE.

The foot pump provided for your boat from Sea Eagle cannot overinflate the 285FPB and once you feel resistance on the pump you are at the recommended working pressure.

To keep your oars from hitting, have your hands crossover as they come through the middle of the drive. Again please feel free to contact us by phone or e-mail (staff@seaeagle.com) and we will do our best to resolve these issues for you.

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images