Main Content
180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 1/31/2020
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

5 Discount Packages available. starting at $599

285fpb Reviews (110 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

1/5/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Charlotte Rochon , SASKATOON, SK, Canada Verified Owner

I love my pontoon boat. it is sturdy and built of material even stronger than I had hoped for, and it takes less than 20 minutes to get onto the water.Am especially impressed with the foot pump's effectiveness: it is fast and inflates the boat to a satisfying fullness. all attachments are well thought out and designed, and made of quality materials. This is a boat that I can use for years without worrying about decay and replacement of parts! It is compact and goes everywhere with me.

show full review ▼
1/5/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Nicholas Skatell , Erwin, NC Verified Owner

I love the boat. It is a treat to have vs the old wooden boat that I have used for many years. I actually have my grandfather's old wooden boat that is approx. 50 yrs old. The only issue that I have, is that I have a small leak in the left pontoon that I cannot find. I have tried soap suds, and various other methods to find the leak, without success.

show full review ▼
Sea Eagle's reply:

Hi Nicholas, we've attempted to contact you via email and phone. Please call us at 1-800-748-8066 or email tech support supervisor Jerry Allen at Jerry@SeaEagle.com and we'll assist you in resolving this issue.

1/5/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Mark Swindlehurst , Ewing, NJ Verified Owner

After spending a lot of time reviewing boats to buy I came across Sea Eagle 285fpb and purchased a used one. It was one of the best decisions I made since it is light enough for me to load and unload by myself and the storage inside is perfect for a day on the water. It has been thru hell and back with me and still works like a dream. The nicest thing about this boat is you can get into tight spots where fish stack up on one another and other boats can't which makes it a winner. I had one problem with the boat which was self inflicted by stupidity, but when I called customer service to fix it they were outstanding with their knowledge and sent what I need out quickly. I should get a commission from them with the amount of people I send to them after they talk to me out on the water. A great boat for a great price - I highly recommend you buy one and try it for yourself.

1/4/2016
4.0 out of 5 stars. Steve Washburn , Lubbock, TX Verified Owner
Steve Washburn's boat

Overall I like the boat. It's a little small for a guy 6' 2",but it's still fun. I didn't get to use it as much as I was hoping but the few times I did it handled the way it was advertised. It packs away nicely and is easy to transport. I have already recommended the sea eagle brand to my brother in law and he bought the 2 man boat. He and his dog like it very much. If I ever had to buy another one, I would upgrade to a 2 man just for extra space.

1/4/2016
4.0 out of 5 stars. Jeff Hahne , Strasburg, CO Verified Owner

Entering 4th season with my 285FPB. Performs well and is easy to launch and retrieve. I seldom collapse it but it has withstood 3 hard winters in cold temps. It is not quick as my wife in her pontoon can blow me away even with the motor (30 pound thrust) on full. It is very easily affected by the wind but so is my wife's pontoon. I got the folding seat and it is quite comfortable for several hours just floating on my local reservoir or nearby lake. I am a horrible fisherman but enjoy the view from the water, listen to my MP3 player, and enjoy an adult beverage. Best feature: it is light and easy to launch. Worst feature: heading into high wind driven waves the boat will fill over the bow. Suggested modification (new models are better already): Move the rod holders forward. They are behind me so seeing them twitch (which they never do, hence horrible fisherman) is difficult. A good purchase overall. I have also been looking at the 285FPB's big brother because my wife and I would like to float together.

1/4/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Kim / Chad Dilts , Lansing, MI Verified Owner

Well haven't used it much but when I did I liked it ,very busy with work lately, bought it to quick and wish I waited and got the green one, I have the gray one, wish they did a trade in for other one, has better rod holders and seat design, well is what it is but wish I had the newer model green one , thanks Chad.

1/4/2016
4.0 out of 5 stars. Fred Standefer , Edmond, OK Verified Owner

Primary useage for me is Colorado rivers. I purchased this boat and my brother purchased a similar type inflatable with two separate inflatable pontoons held together with a rigid frame. The craft my brother purchased is better than the Sea Eagle for my missions primarily because the rigid frame with its higher stance is much better in fast water. The Sea Eagle is very well constructed and I am very pleased with the service and quality of workmanship. Although the oar lock mechanism on the Sea Eagle is well made its lack of rigidity in fast water makes control much more difficult and far less accurate. I highly recommend Sea Eagle, but I should have understood the difference between the two designs before I made my purchase. Great boat, but understand the mission you plan to use it for.if you are going to be working a lot of fast rivers you might want to consider other designs.

1/4/2016
4.0 out of 5 stars. Jim Sayger , Bonita Springs, FL Verified Owner

Great buy! I added a 2.5hp Suzuki 4 stroke. I have only used it a few times, but plan on more this year. I built a small tilt trailer for it. Great look. I keep it inflated on the trailer. Holds air for months. I recommend getting the electronic air pump. I also added some more "D" rings.

I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

1/4/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Len Mack , Mesa, AZ Verified Owner

Great little boat but now my wife is also becoming an avid fly fisher so we are checking out 2 person fishing craft.

Like the foldcat but not enough cash on fixed income at this time.

cheers,

Len Mack

1/4/2016
4.0 out of 5 stars. Patrick Eddy , Creston, ID, Canada Verified Owner

This is a great boat and overall it has many advantages over other single man pontoon boats. There are only a couple of improvements and fixes that I would like to see. I got a leak on the second or third trip with the boat. I managed to limp back to shore but not without some hard work and disappointment. Turns out the leak was not in an area that you would suspect as an impact area. It was on the inside of the pontoon near the front cross member on what appeared to be a fold line of the original deflated packing plan. It took several attempt with the patch kit supplied to get the patch to seal completely. I now keep the boat inflated as I didn't want to take a chance at having the folded boat position compromising the patch. The other weak point of the boat was the paddles. They are lightweight but not strong enough. I had one of the paddles collapse on a river trip. Luckily I got both halves back and with duct tape and a branch got to the takeout.

show full review ▼
Sea Eagle's reply:

Patrick we thank you so much for your honest review and would like to apologize for any inconveniences. Please keep in mind that as of today 1/5/16 you are still covered under our 3 year warranty. Although the issues you have mentioned are not common, we are contacting you so as to address and look further into them. Your concerns are our concerns.