Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

5 Discount Packages available. starting at $799

Terry Keen Verified Owner 1/4/2016 5.0 out of 5 stars.

I love my boat have used it many times on lakes and rivers. It is everything you would want in a small one person boat. I added a Minn Kota 40lb thrust trolling motor and it handles it well. I really like the stability also feel very safe when motoring around the lake and when riding the rapids on the New River & Greenbrier River.

John Bucchieri Verified Owner 1/4/2016 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Good boat does what it was advertise to do.

Surann Stineman Verified Owner 1/4/2016 5.0 out of 5 stars.

My husband LOVES his boat!

John T Czohla Verified Owner 1/4/2016 3.0 out of 5 stars.

I initially really liked the boat. Its easy to transport and deploy and extremely stable on the water and goes well ender power from a electric motor. the only downfall I experienced was that it doesn't track well using the oars and spins and blows around a lot in the wind. I am currently looking to sell the boat but only because I need something to accommodate another person

Rick Perry Verified Owner 1/4/2016 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Great boat have only used it a couple of times because of serious surgery problem. My son now has it and is enjoying it with his 7 year old catching lots of trout in Prince George BC

David Freitag Verified Owner 1/4/2016 5.0 out of 5 stars.

I have used my Sea Eagle 285fpb about 50 times since I have owned it for the last 3 years. Overall I think it is a big upgrade to my old fishing kayak. The comfort and portabliity are superior to those provided by my 12 ft sit on fishing kayak.

show full review ▼

I can set up the 285 is under 15 minutes from car to lake with the assistance of an electric inflation pump I bought from amazon. Many folks have asked me where I bought this unique boat and I have gladly pointed them to Sea Eagle. I am very much a supporter of the company. The build qualty is excellent for this craft.

The only significant negative thing I can report is the poor tracking, especially into the wind. Since this boat does not have any keel, it wanders quite a bit when paddling. It took some practice to be able to paddle in a semi strait path. Fortunaly, I am mostly just fishing and not paddling too much.

David A Lavigne Verified Owner 1/4/2016 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Very satisfied with all aspects of this transaction. The boat is actually more than I expected. Very stable and because I am a senior very comfortable with the raised seating. I have installed an electric motor and again it performed excellently. On its maiden voyage on a remote trout pond in northern Maine landed 3 brook trout on a fly rod with the smallest being 19" and the largest being 23". all were released as this pond is designated as a trophy trout pond. Since seeing my boat in action My two fishing buddies are seriously considering purchasing the same boat as mine before our next trip. I would highly recommend this boat to anyone interested in a one person inflatable fishing boat. I would only make two suggestions to increase the versatility of this boat 1) add a leaning type bar to help when standing and 2) have the motor mount offset so that it would be easier to operate the motor.

Patrick Mayers Verified Owner 1/4/2016 4.0 out of 5 stars.

I really enjoy the boat on Texas rivers, not as much on lakes because of high boat traffic. I love the ability to stand in the boat to fish and the motor is just enough.

The good far outweighs any bad but a few recommendations:

show full review ▼

Suggest a higher powered motor package. The 30 amp will do in most cases, but the need for speed is always there.

Suggest the EZ cart for better mobility. The boat with attached motor and battery are too heavy to move around very easy. The EZ cart is something I need to buy for my boat.

Recommend installing additional D-Rings closer to the front of the pontoons. There's many things to tie down and additional D-rings have been handy

Recommend a tie down for fishing poles along length of pontoon in addition to the Scotty mounts. Sometimes, especially on rivers, poles have a tendency to get tangled in vegetation when stick out out the back while in the Scotty Mounts

Recommend a talker seat. With the supplied seat post I couldn't turn my chair with the battery in place

Ronnie Elmore Verified Owner 1/4/2016 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Enjoyed much ,, has given me as much or more than expected .... Caught a lot of fish from this baby .... I have noticed some changes to the newer model ,, those changes were the right ones .... Even so this boat,, AKA Water Spider as named by me ,, cruises the water very well.... I have had to come out from behind a small island only to get in a 30 mph wind with white caps ,, opened my eyes knowing we had to make it back to dock with no choice .... We rode the wind an caps without problem .... Had to ride a 3 foot swell made from a jet boat .... Up an over smoothly ,, nothing got wet or lost .... All in all AKA Water Spider got us to places we wanted to go giving us the enjoyment we need .... Thank God for our Spider ....

show full review ▼

Ronnie

Thomas Naleid Verified Owner 1/4/2016 5.0 out of 5 stars.

I bought my 285 fpb three years ago to fish lakes on my northern Wisconsin property. The lakes range from 7 to 24 acres and the pontoon boat has proven to be a perfect match for me on the small lakes. I rigged up a 3 lb. window sash weight for an anchor using the motor mount to affix the anchor rope pulley/lock. I couldn't sit more than an hour in one of my Jon boats but I'm usually out for three hours or more in the pontoon boat and the swivel seat is fantastic. My boat sits out on the shoreline all summer and I dump rain water when necessary and give it a good scrub down before storing it for the winter. This is an exceptionally tough, well designed personal fishing boat.