180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 7/31/2018
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

4 Discount Packages available. starting at $799

285fpb Reviews (73 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

6/14/2018
Bill Shuey , Murphy, NC Verified Owner

I unpacked the boat in Grayling, MI to use on the Au Sable and Manistee Rivers. The boat was easy to assemble and set-up; just follow the instructions. The front of the boat tends to rise at more than minimal thrust with my 2.3 HP Honda.

The optional wheel assembly I purchased made launching and retrieving the boat reasonable easy. I performed both functions by myself on log steps and a healthy incline; at age 74 easy of launching and loading was a concern.

more ▼
3/29/2018
Paul Staffieri , SUTHERLIN Verified Owner

Great fishing boat. I full time RV and I can not tow a boat behind a 5th wheel. This inflatable fits my needs. I am a big man and retired. The 285 pontoon boat works well for me.

Easy to inflate, easy to assemble. The floor board was a bit difficult to install but got it in. I use the oars, Using the oars effectively required a learning curve. Rowing forward with short strokes worked well for me on the Umpqua River in Oregon.

more ▼
3/24/2018
Norman Benton , Easton Verified Owner

As far as the boat itself goes, I couldn't be happier. The quality seems excellent and it has performed as advertised. One suggestion I have is to offer the option of getting rod holders for fly rods not just spinning reels and somewhere to tie a anchor. I have not used my electric motor on it yet but expect that one will need to be careful because the boat floats easily while rowing and I am expecting that it will react quickly to application of electric power. We will see.

Sea Eagle's reply:

The Scotty rod holders will hold a flyrod. We offer the awesome Scotty Anchor Lock.

www.seaeagle.com/Accessories/fishing-gear/scotty-anchor-lock

3/3/2018
Jim Thomas , Cleveland, Ohio Verified Owner

I received my 285fpb in mid May of 2017; during the remainder of the fishing year I used it roughly 25 times,mainly on inland lakes in northeastern Ohio. My purchase included the electric air pump that won’t over-inflate in addition to the Pro Package. At first I had an under-inflation problem,but that was solved when Sea Eagle sent me another pump, mine was faulty. After the initial assembly I was eventually able to get the boat from the car to the water in about twenty-five minutes. By this I mean my entire set-up and inflation time, with all my gear,battery, electronics and electric motor in place and operating. My overall opinion of the boat is that it is an outstanding value, and I’m already looking to hit the waters now that the ice is clearing. To cut down drift speed I got a small sea anchor. Oar lock placement and rod holders needs to be more forward. Motor mount would be better offset rather than centered. Having a rudder mechanism available would stabilize steerage if attached to mount.

2/21/2018
Michael Collins , VIRGINIA BEACH Verified Owner

Really love the performance of the craft. Very easy to set-up and breakdown. The only change in design would be for some clip-like assembly for the baseboard when inflating the boat. The rubber baseboard holders can be challenging during inflation. Small inconvenience to deal with but the boat itself performs great. Caught the biggest catfish I’ve ever caught while fishing in the craft. Great product and makes it fun on the water!

2/19/2018
Tom Harris , THAYNE Verified Owner

I like it I have used it about 10 or 12 times and it has performed great I probably should of got the two men one but this one works . I live in Florida and am storing it in my home in Wyoming. I cleaned it and used conditioner on it before I left.

The only thing I would change is the front flap so no water or less water would come into the boat.

more ▼
1/11/2018
Duane Dale , MOSCOW Verified Owner
Duane Dale's boat Duane Dale's boat

Soooooo Glad I made the decision to 'go for it'! Being healthy and 71, decided, what the heck; clock's a tickin'; do it! For a few years I'd been toying with getting an inflatable for fly fishing some of our local ID waters. Studied the main competitors, was debating about getting my 285FPB, THEN saw the 180 day trial period and, well, what's to lose, that clinched the deal! Am so very happy I did it. I have been able to get to some beautiful and very productive waters that were previously inaccessible. It has already paid for itself in the joy I have had. Pics are on the lovely St Joe River in ID. Looking forward to further fun on rivers and local reservoirs. Outstanding quality throughout the craft. Easy to move from storage to bed of truck, to the shore and back. Using provided foot pump, only 4-5 min of pumping to pump up each half up. No sweat & good leg exercise (before sitting for awhile). Anchor was useful. Highly recommend!

1/8/2018
James Fox , BEVERLY HILLS Verified Owner

I sure would buy again from you people. Was very impressed with my 285fpb, better than I expected believe me.. So much fun on the water, stable and so easy to move around in water or on land. Great Water Snake trolling motor. Boat set up is so functional and easy. Material is so strong, you can't beat it.

12/28/2017
Gale Nash , GUNNISON Verified Owner

Great fishing boat. Easy to handle. One person can even load it on the top of an SUV. Couldn't have chosen a better one person boat. I have not yet attempted to stand and fish in it but with the raised swivel seat, I do not feel a need.

12/22/2017
Patrick Sexson , Wadorf, Maryland Verified Owner

This little boat is pretty cool. I will post a photo of it after I make some modifications to the floor board/storage.

Lets start with the cons: Storage, and floor space. I found it way too small to really pack everything for the whole day on the bay, and much of the floor space it taken up by the battery and the swivel chair (both can be fixed with modification.... but then there is the width of the craft... I can turn 360 degrees without putting my feet over the pontoon... oh well, I knew this when I bought it. I've decided I'm going to build a little enclosure/box to house the battery in, and probably a few other things... and I'll put the swivel chair up on the box to have a little extra height, and sit a little further back.. Also on the front of the boat, I'm going to fasten a board to be used for extra accessories/storage/possible seat/bench for one of my kids to ride along.

more ▼

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images