180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states, excluding RIBs) available through 3/31/2019
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 380x Inflatable Kayak Reviews

6 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,049

380x Reviews (79 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

1/7/2016
Richard Gains , London, United Kingdom Verified Owner

OK one very simple point.

You make a great product but you have one very weak point and that is the clip fastener between the seat and the securing point. The spring clips are impossible to maintain if the kayak is used in saltwater conditions. i simple use cheap belay connections which are easily replaced but you cant even remove the failed spring clip supplied from sea eagle. it is disappointing that such a great product is let down by such a simple problem.

more ▼
Sea Eagle's reply:

Richard thank you so much for your honest review. We are looking into improving the spring clips you've mentioned and also as to why you have not received your replacement Trolley Bag. Our records show it shipped out of our warehouse 9/11/14, UPS tracking 1ZR010V16771164885 and was received at your residence 9/19/14 signed for by a Ms. Chong. At any rate we appreciate your patience and understanding. We are so sorry for any inconvenience and are looking into this right away.

1/7/2016
Robert Williams , Oklahoma City, OK Verified Owner

Our inflatable kayak is just what my wife and I needed to enjoy lakes and rivers around Glacier Park. Easy to transport and inflate, comfortable and stable. I also use it for fishing and our dogs also enjoy an occasional ride.

1/7/2016
Bill Stansbury , Templeton, CA Verified Owner
Bill Stansbury's boat

We have had our Sea Eagle since 2005. We have been all over the continent. From Jasper, Alberta to San Diego.We have used our 380x in the ocean,lakes,lagoons,harbors and rivers. We have loaded it with gear and paddled to remote spots and camped for days. I have used it in class three rapids in seven different states and provinces. It has help produce some of fondness memories.

The 380 is very stable in all conditions. It is very rugged. I have patched the body once and the floor once. The negatives are the self bailing system does not function too well. The skag was not designed well and we lost it once on Yellowstone Lake in a storm. The new snap in design looks to be superior to this older model. Over all this has been one of the best recreational purchases we have more ▼

8/27/2015
anave26 posted on Paddling.net

So, I've had my Sea Eagle 380X (new version with the 16 drain valves 38lbs) for about 2 weeks now and I've had the opportunity to get it out on flat water, open water and white water so I thought it was time to share my thoughts.

I give the 380X a 9 rating but that really should be a *9. The asterisk is because this is marketed as an all water, versatile kayak and it is... it's just not equally good on all types of water.

more ▼
8/26/2015
TK414 posted on Paddling.net

Sea Eagle is the best! They really do stand behind the money back guarantee/wty as I bought a FT385 and wasn't happy so they took it back w/out issue. I shopped all of the other inflatables (tried many) as well as hard shells trying to find the best "fit all for my needs". W/out a doubt the 380X is that boat. Tracks well w/fin. Not a touring boat but speed id decent. Stability is amazing. Handles boat wakes, white caps with ease. Can stand it in as well (tad tippy, but I'm top heavy too though). Def. stays drier than the FT-the larger pontoons keep a lot splash out and even the drip from the paddles (The openings for the drain plugs help collect any H2O that does venture in.) Went into a rock/tree ridden Texas lake cove, hit one submerged tree and thought "ouch that's gonna hurt". Not a mark. I find it very comfortable with the high back seats. Although I put a Boat cushion under it to lift it up a couple inches which really adds to the comfort especially with the inflatable foot rest. For easy paddling and and floating I added the inflatable cushion on top of the seat. This made it extremely comfortable and was just below pontoon level. In really rough water, I let the seat air out to add stability/lower center gravity.... Great Boat!!!

7/31/2015
SA posted on Paddling.net

I have owned the 380x for over a year now. I also own the SE 370, so I can compare the two. If you are considering purchasing the 380x, there are some pros and cons (sometimes the same things that are pros are cons!):

Pros:

-It bails quickly. I have sat, stuck, in a class III rapid, and witnessed the kayak not filling all the way.

more ▼
7/13/2015
Ed E posted on Paddling.net

Just came back from Monksville Reservoir in New Jersey for a 4-hour kayaking day trip with my new 380x. What an impressive inflatable kayak! Firstly, setup is literally less than 10 minutes. I especially like the adaptor for the valve being a twist in and twist out, pump and done! The seats also inflated with ease because of their boston valves. The floor, wow how rigid! making it super easy in and out of the boat! The material of the boat is as advertised - see the "hammer-cinderblock-Jeep" stress test, which made me a believer.

more ▼
4/22/2015
Suneel Kanuri posted on Paddling.net

Pros:

1. Stable & forgiving

2. Tough material.

3. Spacious

Cons:

1. Very slow in flat water.

You can find my detailed review (constantly updated with my experiences) with pics at:

http://funonbayou.blogspot.com/2015/03/sea-eagle-explorer-380x-brief-review.html

9/3/2014
JMS posted on Paddling.net

For the last two years I've owned both a SE 385 FastTrack and a SE 380X Explorer. Both are excellent inflatable kayaks each with their own strengths and weakness but the 380X Explorer is the best in my opinion. First, a little about my wife an I. She's 5 foot 0 inches and I'm 5 foot 8 inches and we are both very overweight. If you're a tall person or weigh over 200 pounds then this review will more ▼

8/4/2014
BV posted on Paddling.net

The Sea Eagle Explorer (47 years in business!) is an excellent class IV rated white water inflatable - yes you heard right: inflatable - kayak.

I have had different types of hard shell and I can honestly say the Explorer soft shell 380x is an amazing Kayak very forgiving, you can sail, add a motor or paddle it. at the end of the day deflate it and pack it in your car trunk. this Kayak is very rugged and durable awesome unit highly recommend it.

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images