180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states, excluding RIBs) available through 1/31/2019
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 380x Inflatable Kayak Reviews

6 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,049

380x Reviews (74 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

7/31/2015
SA posted on Paddling.net

I have owned the 380x for over a year now. I also own the SE 370, so I can compare the two. If you are considering purchasing the 380x, there are some pros and cons (sometimes the same things that are pros are cons!):

Pros:

-It bails quickly. I have sat, stuck, in a class III rapid, and witnessed the kayak not filling all the way.

more ▼
7/13/2015
Ed E posted on Paddling.net

Just came back from Monksville Reservoir in New Jersey for a 4-hour kayaking day trip with my new 380x. What an impressive inflatable kayak! Firstly, setup is literally less than 10 minutes. I especially like the adaptor for the valve being a twist in and twist out, pump and done! The seats also inflated with ease because of their boston valves. The floor, wow how rigid! making it super easy in and out of the boat! The material of the boat is as advertised - see the "hammer-cinderblock-Jeep" stress test, which made me a believer.

more ▼
4/22/2015
Suneel Kanuri posted on Paddling.net

Pros:

1. Stable & forgiving

2. Tough material.

3. Spacious

Cons:

1. Very slow in flat water.

You can find my detailed review (constantly updated with my experiences) with pics at:

http://funonbayou.blogspot.com/2015/03/sea-eagle-explorer-380x-brief-review.html

9/3/2014
JMS posted on Paddling.net

For the last two years I've owned both a SE 385 FastTrack and a SE 380X Explorer. Both are excellent inflatable kayaks each with their own strengths and weakness but the 380X Explorer is the best in my opinion. First, a little about my wife an I. She's 5 foot 0 inches and I'm 5 foot 8 inches and we are both very overweight. If you're a tall person or weigh over 200 pounds then this review will more ▼

8/4/2014
BV posted on Paddling.net

The Sea Eagle Explorer (47 years in business!) is an excellent class IV rated white water inflatable - yes you heard right: inflatable - kayak.

I have had different types of hard shell and I can honestly say the Explorer soft shell 380x is an amazing Kayak very forgiving, you can sail, add a motor or paddle it. at the end of the day deflate it and pack it in your car trunk. this Kayak is very rugged and durable awesome unit highly recommend it.

7/3/2014
nenegrande posted on Paddling.net

If you enjoy the water you will love the Explorer 380x made by Sea Eagle. This inflatable kayak is tough and rugged and yet fairly spacious even for someone who is 6'8" like myself. It holds up to 750 lbs including cargo which gives plenty of space for overnight trips.

The 380x can handle class 3 and 4 with ease. this kayak is great in white water in addition to paddling in the ocean. I have used it to travel down the kayak down the Snake River in Wyoming and "kayak surfing" in California. I agree that a directional stabilizer or fin is needed if you do not want to fishtail while paddling on flat water.

more ▼
7/1/2014
Jbo posted on Paddling.net

Very happy with this so far. Have done high class III's on the Potomac and it rode the high waves without ever feeling like it would flip. Problem is that it fills with water very fast since Sea Eagle does not yet make any kind of splash guard for it. So you have to dock and drain it from the valves. Otherwise, it handles quite well for it's size, even through some tighter turning. On flatwater, the skeg is A MUST. Otherwise, you will fishtail a lot. I hope Sea Eagle makes a splash guard to fit the 380 soon. But overall, a very fun all around kayak that transports easily.

6/20/2014
jm posted on Paddling.net

My wife and I took the 380x out for our maiden voyage yesterday. Class II/III WW on the Colorado river. We went with rafter friends for support and river advice. The only reason I gave an 8 is that the self bailing is not that great. You sit in water once you hit any WW waves. Otherwise the boat was extremely stable and comfortable. It forgave a lot of bad moves through the class III WW. Never came close to tipping. Even when going through waves that were two or three feet high. Scary for a first ride but now I'm looking forward to a second run.

I would say the control and steering are comparable to a canoe. You can't turn on a dime like a hard shell kayak but you don't have to worry about tipping. At 50 yrs old I'm more into the safety and comfort than high performance sport kayaking. I'm 6'1" 225lbs and had plenty of room. The high back seats were very comfortable and secure. I may go to a higher deluxe seat for my wife. She did not more ▼

9/23/2013
docscott posted on Paddling.net

What a great inflatable kayak. I have been kayaking for over 20 years in a variety of hard shell kayaks. Being of age now and having had several surgeries, my legs just aren't what they used to be, so I have been searching for a solution to getting out of our kayaks with my weakened legs. I fitted it with a seat similar to the optional fishing seat, and what a dream come true. It is so stable and easy to get in and out of now. I can keep up with my wife in her 13' Perception America except in strong wind. Sitting higher in the fishing seat as opposed to the Deluxe or Pro Highback seats makes paddling a breeze.

more ▼
8/18/2010
Wess posted on Paddling.net

We purchased this boat this spring as a whitewater tandem since my wife was wary of paddling alone. We intended on running the upper New in WV. The boat is great in mild whitewater...with the valves closed. We ran the Lower Yough in SW PA this weekend. A much smaller river that packs a big punch with most of the rapids rated III/IV. We still ran with the valves closed because if the rear paddler is a little larger, he sits in about 2 inches of water that slows quick moves required on this river to a great extent. Getting hung up on a rock can spell disaster as the boat quickly fills with water and made it like trying to turn a battleship. I have contacted Sea Eagle to find if an additional floor can be added or a thicker floor installed to displace the water that enters when the valves are open.

more ▼

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images