Main Content
180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 11/30/2019
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 380x Inflatable Kayaks and Canoe Reviews

6 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,049

380x Reviews (85 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

11/29/2016
3.0 out of 5 stars. Anne Bojko , Phoenix Verified Owner

Hello Sea Eagle Staff,

The purchase of the 380X was easy. The website discloses specific details that not all manufacturers advertise making Sea Eagle a top choice during comparison of competitors products. Although not designed for flat water paddling, the skeg and the option to close the self-bailing ports make this a truly versatile kayak. The factory seating positions are set for the most legroom for both paddlers but are situated more towards the rear of the kayak than other tandems we considered. Whitewater paddling is good but suffers from too thin of a floor to keep the rear paddler from sitting in standing water with the bailing ports open. This was only with a small cooler and 140lb front/165lb rear paddlers on very mild Class I/II rivers. Due to the floor being mostly lower than the outer tubes, the factory 3" floor is not sufficient. I have an idea for a custom floor that I would be interested in having made for purchase. I would purchase a 300x once the floor design is perfected.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Aloha Anne, we now offer a 4" floor for the Explorer iK's and they now also come with 4" floors from our factory.

6/11/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Jim Wick , Ventura, Ca 93001 Verified Owner

Bought the 380x earlier this year. Paddled in the ocean once before going down John Day River last week of May.

I was on the river 7 days and 6 nights traveling 118 miles on a solo trip. The weather was excellent 80/50 and dry. The boat handled like a dream! It held all my gear without any issues what-so-ever! Through flat still water to stronger currents to the substantial rapids at Lower Clarno and in very strong winds my boat handled magnificently! 5 rafts went through the Lower Clarno Rapids before me 2 capsized! Rocks in the shallows and jagged, volcanic rocks mid river had no discernible effect on my kayak. The sturdy floor made everything much easier than it might have been. Packing my gear, strapping and securing my gear, moving around myself were all made easier by have sturdy footing. My gear fit very well and I'm sure my next trip will be even easier to load after this experience.

show full review ▼
1/31/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Judit Molnar , Quebec city, canada Verified Owner

Hi Sea Eagle team,

I've had my Sea Eagle 380 for about 10 years and it is still as good as it was brand new. It is a very durable product. I got the kayak delivered to the cruise ship where I worked at the time. I enjoyed kayaking at many places in the Caribbean and since I moved to Canada, we've been kayaking on lakes and rivers mostly around Quebec city. I love that is is easy to handle and to store in our apartment. It is also very comfortable. I do love to paddle but sometimes I just turn over the inflatable seat that I use as a pillow, stretch out and read while floating a nice lake. That's something you can't do in a rigid kayak.

show full review ▼
1/15/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Larry Harper , Orem, UT Verified Owner

This is the FOURTH Explorer 380x I've bought (so I guess that says something), although I have not taken this newest one out yet. I bought it "used" from SeaEagle, but it looks brand new; I inflated it in the house, & there were no air leaks. My other 380s'x were the older model, but I'd wanted to get the newer version, w/ the 16 self-bailing valves & the built-in, removable skeg. I've used the other kayaks in white water (up to Class 3 rapids), & on flat water--rivers, lakes, reservoirs, & even the ocean (in high winds & sea!), & it's perfect for my needs. I cannot do as big of rapids as an actual raft, nor paddle as fast as a canoe or hard-shell kayak, but I can still do all that those other water craft can do--again, to fit my needs. Further, if I'm in the boat alone, w/ others in their own boats, I can carry all my gear & food for extended trips. I've done several 12-14 day trips, plus numerous 6-8 day adventures. It can do it all.

1/10/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. John Pendrey , Anchorage, AK Verified Owner

Great boat, use it fish in Summit Lake in the Kenai Peninsula, Alaska. Have referred two co-workers who both purchased and identified the 380 as the best boat for their needs as well.

JWP,

Retired US Coast Guard

1/10/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. William H Spaur , Chesapeake, VA Verified Owner

380X Purchased October 2003 towed beautifully behind our Albin-25 diesel cruiser. We explored the swamps and marshes of the Chesapeake Bay and the Green Sea to the south on long cruises. We scrubbed many barnacled pilings and squashed against many rough docks. Rather than repair the gouges and scratches, I bought a new 385ft which is a delight.

show full review ▼
1/9/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Jackie Stidham , Orlando, FL Verified Owner

We have really enjoyed our Sea Eagle 380x. We have used it water conditions ranging from slow moving Florida rivers to 4 foot seas in the Florida Gulf. The 380x is extremely stable, highly maneuverable and a very solid boat. We especially enjoy the ability to throw it in our vehicle and take it wherever we go. It's fairly easy to carry and very quick to unpack and inflate. Of course, you do trade speed for high stability and rough water capability, but that only provides the opportunity to expand your fleet with the purchase a faster more sleek model that provides speed in flat water environments. I expect to expand our fleet in the next year or so with either a FastTrack or RazorLite 2-person model. Then we'll be able to address either water condition, or conveniently throw both boats in our vehicle to share with friends.

1/8/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Eric Hattabaugh , Bountiful, UT Verified Owner

Since purchasing our Sea Eagle 380 last Spring, my wife and I have taken it to several lakes in Utah and Idaho and have thoroughly enjoyed the Kayaking experience. The 380 is easy to transport, inflate and maneuver. We look forward to many years of exploring lakes and rivers in our new mode of transportation.

1/8/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Rory Shannon , Victorville, CA Verified Owner

its been a very good boat and never had any problems. For what I do I sit a little deep in it though. The new seats helped.

Thanks,

1/8/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Leon Clay , Medford, OR Verified Owner

Love the kayak. First time set up a little awkward, but after that, easy. The wife loves to go out on the lakes around here. She feels safe and comfortable in the kayak. I have been down the Rogue river a couple of times with normal and low water conditions. Went through a couple of class 3 rapids, without a problem. The kayak is very stable and with a 3" or 6" skeg it is pretty maneuverable on the river. We use the 9" skeg for lakes. This is the first kayak we have owned and it gets easier to use as we get experience. I really like the portability of the kayak. We travel and camp with a 5th wheel trailer and storage isn't a problem. The kayak was delivered within a reasonable time, and any accessory we ordered was delivered quickly. We have both style seats. My wife is likes sitting up a little higher with the standard seat, while I like being lower, especially when running the river. We did buy a double action pump with an air gage for quicker and proper inflation. It will go where ever we go