Main Content
Due to high order and call volume we are seeing delays in processing and customer service wait times.
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968

Sea Eagle 473rl Inflatable Kayaks and Canoe Reviews

2 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,399

473rl Reviews (29 total, avg. review: 4.7 out of 5)

4/30/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Aaron Wilson , Idaho Falls, ID Verified Owner
Aaron Wilson's boat

We started our second season with our 473rl with an afternoon trip up the Snake River under the Perrine Bridge. Last year I seriously considered finding a canoe to get the family out on the water but I've always preferred kayaks. The 473rl has the best parts of both, cargo room of a canoe as well as the speed and double paddle of a hard body kayak, on top of that it fits in any vehicle without a rack system. It can be easily be reconfigured to distribute load (and people). Having run over many rocks (hitting hard and dragging bottom), I can vouch that 473rl is rugged. The “soft” bottom is super comfortable for kids to move around on and nap. Finally having the “speed” to travel against the wind and current is a safety issue in many settings and this boat performs as well as anything this size. So far I've done more than a hundred miles of rivers and lakes (mostly with kids). Looking forward to camping in spots that only a boat can access. In total the 473rl does everything I expected it to and more.

4/22/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. James Wolf , NEW HOPE Verified Owner

We love this kayak!! It is very portable and easy to inflate with compressor pump. It is sturdy and strong. We enjoy that it's portability can take us to lakes , ponds and rivers. Thank you Sea Eagle

Sea Eagle's reply:

James Wolf, has the Sea Eagle approved BTP electric pump: www.seaeagle.com/Accessories/pumps/electric-turbo-pump

4/12/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Terry Fairbrother , Rotorua Verified Owner

This boat has been amazing!!!

Unsinkable, kids love it they can lie down in it, climb in and out of it easily, move around in it without hurting themselves. It was perfect for a five-day trip on Lake Waikaremoana, the 5-year-old went to sleep in it on long sections of our trip- quite comfortable.

It is really reassuring to know that even if it gets swamped you can paddle it to shore. It has had so much use this summer, down rivers over lakes along the rocks on the coast. Sometimes with two adults and two kids, sometimes with one adult and camping gear for 5 days-perfect.

show full review ▼

It does slip sideways a bit with a strong side wind. I have experimented with strapping a rectangular section down pipe under it as a keel, this has worked very well still perfecting attachment, thinking of using aluminium brackets.

No hesitation recommending the one and only Sea Eagle 473RL. Takes no room to store, can transport it in any car, very safe, awesome.

Service and support from the Sea Eagle team great.

1/17/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Michael Wesseler , Loveland Verified Owner

We love our Sea Eagle tandem inflatable kayak. It is perfect for taking on our RV camping trips, as the oversized backpack with the kayak and pump in it fits in the back seat of our mid-sized truck for handy use anywhere we want to paddle. We used it in the Thousand Islands St. Lawrence Seaway area of Ontario,various small lakes and on Lake Superior during our 6 week extended trip there last summer. It only takes about 15 minutes to set up and tracks smoothly through the water, doesn't get blown around like the balloon-sided old style inflatable we used to have. No need to have a rooftop carrier or trailer.

1/6/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Thomas Boinay , SHEFFIELD Verified Owner

my wife and I were happily waiting for the arrival of our new baby back in the summer before our vacation time in New Hampshire.

we gave it life with the electric air pump we had ordered along with the eagle and it fulfilled all our expectations. easy up, easy to handle,

easy down and easy stow away for the next outing. We did three different ponds and lakes , each a bit different than the next and the eagle

show full review ▼

handled all the variations. Very comfortable seating, paddling a breeze with the low sideboards. All in all we are very satisfied with our eagle

and have already recommended your company to others. Thanks for the fine design.

Tom & Donna Boinay

12/12/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Brooks Bell , Los Gatos, CA Verified Owner
Brooks Bell's boat

Very happy with the RazorLite 473rl. Rugged enough for the lakes I've been using it on. Throw it in the back of the Cherokee and we go. Tracks great and makes good time even in a headwind. We take our dog and he's got enough room to move around (35lbs - I don't know if it would be big enough for a much larger dog).

I ended up getting the motorized pump. It can be run off the car battery but I've been using the portable battery. Everything sets up fast. Will be faster once I remember the valve operation - I've used it about once every two months and it still takes me two tries to recall how they go.

show full review ▼

In Northern California there are inspections to prevent invasive species unless you get the boat "locked" when you leave the lake. The lock is a cable tie like plastic piece. They can run it through two of the D-Rings to prevent the boat from being used without detaching it. This means that I can't hose the boat off at home (deflate it and lock it at the location). But it hasn't been a problem.

3/4/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Lon Kincannon , Lakewood, Washington Verified Owner
Selfie of Lon Kincannon with their boat Lon Kincannon's boat

Tested out a "Sea Eagle Razorlite® 473RL" (2 paddler) inflatable kayak this afternoon. It arrived in the shipping box at my house at 2:30 pm and I was paddling it near by American Lake at 4:30. I'm really glad that I bought the electric pump. This way I spend my time paddling and not pumping. Had no problem paddling it like a canoe (with a canoe paddle not the kayak paddle). It's very good at holding a straight line when paddling on one side for 20 or more strokes yet is easy to maneuver. Easily got it up to 11:30 min/mile pace. Had a short sprint of 7:53 min/mile (probably wind aided). Tried to flip it when I finished paddling but it wouldn't go over. 38 pounds and folds up into a a very nice backpack for traveling. Plan on taking it to Australia for 2 weeks this May to keep in shape for long distance outrigger canoe racing in Hawaii this September and October. Rides well on J-racks on top of my small half ton Ranger pick-up truck.

show full review ▼

I'm very happy

I'll write another review when I return from Australia

1/8/2016
4.0 out of 5 stars. Don Baker , Newton Falls, OH Verified Owner

It's winter here so I have not been able to set up the boat yet, not to mention I just received it. I was disappointed that it was so heavy, and everything will not fit into the pack. Perhaps I didn't read the information carefully enough, but I thought I did. Anyhow, I am looking forward to trying it.

1/6/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. William Goldman , Chapel Hill, NC Verified Owner
William Goldman's boat

See my blog post: https://www.vanscapes.net/blog/2015/12/23/sea-eagle-razorlite-inflatable-tandem-kayak-review