Sea Eagle 473rl Inflatable Kayaks and Canoe Reviews

2 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,499

David Bova Verified Owner 6/13/2022 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Having owned and used the Sea Eagle 473rl for 6 months now, I feel I can write a fair and honest review, starting first with the pros. Fast delivery time. Superb customer service. Excellent engineering and build quality. The fact that my wife and I can kayak anywhere with any location accessible, due to this kayak's portability - is absolutely fantastic. Early on - we did have difficulty with installing and un-installing the footrests, and cleaning and folding up the kayak. However, after just a few times doing so, it all quickly becomes rather easy to do. First time out, kayak felt a little tippy, but we quickly settled into it, and found it to actually be quite stable. My only negative comment would be, after a couple hours paddling, I find the seat becomes rather uncomfortable. That can be resolved by adding a cushion or other padding onto the seat. With a 3 year warranty and 120 day money back guarantee trial period, I would highly recommend if you want to be able to take a kayak anywhere you want to.

William Cotton Verified Owner 6/13/2022 3.0 out of 5 stars.

Although we have 6 hard single-seat kayaks, we use our 473rl for long road trips where we stop for short periods of paddling. We can even fit it in the back of our Prius C along with luggage and our dog and cat. The kayak handles well but isn't exactly nimble on turns with the skeg installed. So far we have never been able to install the foot pegs. I just modified the front pare by drilling out the rear support and drilling a hole in the rod and securing them with a pin.

Sea Eagle's reply:

I'm sorry you had trouble with your foot pegs. For any questions regarding set up feel free to reach out to our customer service team and they would be happy to instruct you on setting up your kayak.

Jason Kim Verified Owner 6/7/2022 2.0 out of 5 stars.

I can only give a 2 star review for this kayak because of INCREDIBLY unstable riding. Without a stabilizer, I'm unable to ride this kayak because it is super wobbly. I'm also not able to return it because it is past the return policy date. The motivation for purchasing this kayak was after watching a demonstration video on YouTube. After testing it personally, I have to say that it is a very unstable kayak for amateurs like myself and my wife to ride - I also recently watched another 473rl video and saw that experts also carefully evaluated the kayak as unstable. For others looking to purchase, I suggest you look at the "465ft FastTrack Inflatable Kayak" which seems like a safer option than the 473rl. I wish I could exchange. I have already spent $2,325.65 CAD(included tax, shipping ) for USED ONE. I'm so disappointed.

Sea Eagle's reply:

We are sorry this kayak did not work out for you. We offer an industry leading 120 day return period so customers can use the kayak and return it if they are unhappy with the purchase. Also we do state on our site the " the RazorLite™ kayaks are best recommended for intermediate and above paddlers." The FastTrack is also a great option for someone looking for a fast kayak with added stability.

Luke Derstein Verified Owner 3/7/2022 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Hi guys, thanks again for checking in. I would like to thank you all for building a high quality inflatable. We spent 3 weeks in southwest Florida in January paddling the kayak. It was very easy to inflate and install the seats. The footrest were a little more difficult to install but got easier with time. My wife and I had never paddled an inflatable before, within 3 mile we felt very stable and understood the concept. The next day we paddled 8 mile down the calosahatchee river, best time ever. We had some light chop in the open water but never felt compromised. I had a concern about oyster beds and possible damage to the hull but that was unwarranted. I did have trouble packing it back into the storage bag to original state but I managed. I loved the way it packed in our Jeep Grand Cherokee, took very little space. I look forward to warmer weather in Kansas and putting the boat back on the water. All and all, we love and look forward many years of paddling in the473rl. thanks again.

Michael Cooper Verified Owner 1/16/2022 5.0 out of 5 stars.

We love our 473rl! It's perfect fort travelling with our 5th wheel. We're not spring chickens, but paddling is easy for the two of us even in a strong wind the low profile and skag make it easy to stay on course. Only regret is if we'd waited to purchase we would have gotten a free electric pump with it.

Robert Gordon Verified Owner 12/20/2021 5.0 out of 5 stars.

We love our sturdy, convenient, comfortable tandem kayak.

John Edwards Verified Owner 9/7/2021 5.0 out of 5 stars.

We received our kayak back in the spring. It arrived weeks before it was expected to. Our first voyage was great. I managed to miss read the instructions and inadvertently cause a small leak. Sea Eagle quickly came to our rescue and repaired the kayak at no charge. Since then we have enjoyed many hour in several location and I am reminded to once again to carefully read all the instructions. The photos are from our recent excursion to one of our favorite pubs where when one paddles there, you get a but off you first pint. The Pour house, Port Townsend, WA, USA. This kayak replaces our SE 330, Still working well after 20 years. Now with one of our children.

Valerie McDonnell Verified Owner 8/16/2021 2.0 out of 5 stars.

The kayak took longer than expected to arrive. When it came, it came in two different boxes. The kayak didn't fit in the carrying bag. I tried to contact customer services more times than I can count. They finally answered saying they didn't have a bag available to fit the kayak. They then sent me a cheap $10 dollar big cargo bag that was pretty useless. The only reason I'm even giving them a 2 (instead of a 1) is because I do think the quality of my specific kayak is great. It is such a shame that the company and customer service is so bad. My best friend tried to buy the same kayak as mine and when his arrived, it was completely different than what he ordered. Not surprised. For the price tag of these kayaks, I would expect to have all pieces fit and proper customer service when something is wrong with the order/ a part doesn't fit.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Thank you for the review and feedback Valerie.

We are very sorry that the complimentary CarryBag did not work out for you. We strive to provide our customers with the best personal service possible. We hope you are enjoying the boat and are here for any of your future needs.

Please feel free to reach out to us anytime.

Edawrd Binau Verified Owner 7/15/2021 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Just finishing a trip to Bend Oregon, first summer with our 473rl. Did a 18 mile trip on the Deschutes River and some shorter lake trips. My wife and I just love our kayak, we have had hard shells and one other inflatable, the 473rl is the best kayak we have ever used. Love the speed , finished the 18 mile river trip under 5 hours ( used to take 6 ). And the way we can get in and out of the boat very stable ( without failing in the lake or river ). Very easy to set up and take down and we can take all our gear. We are both in our sixty's........ Thank you for a great product

Dr. Joel Kordis Verified Owner 6/13/2021 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Everything about this kayak is quality. The first trip out we had multiple people come look at our kayak and each of them were equally impressed.

The razor lite took a few minutes getting used to but once we got the feel of the kayak it was simply amazing.

show full review ▼

I recommend Sea Eagle over all the other inflatable kayaks out there. Way to go Sea Eagle!