Main Content
180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 5/31/2020
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 473rl Inflatable Kayaks and Canoe Reviews

2 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,349

473rl Reviews (29 total, avg. review: 4.7 out of 5)

3/19/2020
5.0 out of 5 stars. Paul Dice , Magnolia Verified Owner

This is a great boat. We have paddled hard shell sea kayaks for over 20 years. But lately we found a need for an alternative tandem/single conversion boat for calm to moderately choppy water that did not require car topping. I had never given inflatables any serious thought. But after learning about the 473rl's dimensions, design and rigidity, I decided to give it a try. So we bought one and recently took it to Southern Florida for a week of bay and river paddling. The boat performed marvelously. It's stable, nimble, tracks well and is fast enough that we could keep up with our friends in their hard shell. Does it perform as well as our hard shells? Of course not; It's a different boat for a different purpose. But it takes its rightful place as an easily transportable, high quality, solid performing boat that will get you where your're going, and get you there in style. I will now always have one in my fleet. Last, Sea Eagle's customer service is superb.

3/14/2020
5.0 out of 5 stars. Richard Zellers , SUNBURY Verified Owner

I like my kayak, but I would rather have the single instead of the double. I got a double for my girlfriend and I, but she prefers singles, so now I'm stuck with double. I got it in August as a Xmas present, so exchange policy expired by the time she opened it.

1/4/2020
3.0 out of 5 stars. Markus Robinson , TUNKHANNOCK Verified Owner
Selfie of Markus Robinson with their boat Markus Robinson's boat

The 473rl is a wonderful inflatable kayak. We've white water kayaked on the finger lakes in New York and down the Snake River in Grand Tetons NP. The 473rl is superbly rigid, fast, and easy to paddle. The thin rigid walls of this inflatable have everything to do with its superb performance.

But it has a major design flaw. The problem is how the bottom inflatable section connects to both side inflatable sections. Since each is about two inches thick, they are connected together with rubber sheets glued to each side of the bottom and side being connected together. This creates a tube the length of the seam running ALMOST the full the length of the kayak. When inflated the tube is MOSTLY squeezed together. But not enough to keep out river gravel. When that gravel gets in there it is EXTREMELY difficult to remove. The engineering fix is to insert some 1" diameter foam into each tube-end as a plug. When brought to their attention, Sea Eagle refused to acknowledge the necessity of blocking the ends.

Sea Eagle's reply:

I apologize if your previous suggestions was not properly addressed by a service representative. We are a customer service based driven company and our customer feedback on our products are invaluable. I have passed your suggestions onto our research and development team where our engineers will have further insight and knowledge on if this can be accomplished.

11/2/2019
4.0 out of 5 stars. James Hiser , ANNAPOLIS Verified Owner

Good:

- Lightweight

- easy to transport when folded

- fast paddling

- every time we use, have admirers that want to know where to get one

- lives in bed of pickup during extended camping trips

Not so good:

- hard to get sand, etc,. cleaned out of interior, esp where sides meet floor

- hard to get dried out

show full review ▼

- folding to get back into bag takes some learning - had to get pictures from company

How we deal with the not so good:

- Rinse kit, synthetic chamois, and long skinny tarp strip. Lets us clean and dry the boat prior to folding after use

- Extra strap - once boat is folded, strap around prior to fighting into bag

- Live with dirt until end of trip, then thorough hose out and dry at home before storing

9/29/2019
5.0 out of 5 stars. Dave Smidt , SPIRIT LAKE Verified Owner

We purchased our 473rl for our trip into Northwest Canadian provinces and Alaska. We are avid kayakers and couldn't travel into such beautiful country unless we could get onto the water! We were pleased that it packed very compactly into a StowAway2 box mounted to our small RV. We are amazed how solid it is when it inflates and how nicely it handles on the water. The 473rl allowed us some special sights show full review ▼ off road!

off road!
4/16/2019
5.0 out of 5 stars. Daniel Johnston , NAKNEK Verified Owner

Love our 473 Razor Light. We've taken it out on river and lake and are impressed with how quickly it inflates and is ready to rock. Easily ready to get on the water in 8-10 minutes. Tracks very well and is super rigid, with comfortable seats. The only thing is that it doesn't take much of a wave for you to take on a little water, as the RL cuts through the water so well. Can't wait to take it show full review ▼ out again.

out again.
2/20/2019
5.0 out of 5 stars. Jeffrey Metcalf , Albion Verified Owner

I love the boat. Paddles very fast and easy, Great quality. Great customer service even if you have problems. This is the 5th SeaEagle boat I own. The oldest is 18 yrs old and still a good boat. Highly recommend the boats and the company.

9/13/2018
5.0 out of 5 stars. Christiane McLeod , Maple Ridge Verified Owner

Love it! Love it! Love it!!!

8/11/2018
5.0 out of 5 stars. Mike Osborn , Everett Verified Owner

Simply incredible! I started with a sport which was a great boat. Then upgraded to a Razorlite and Wow addicted to a whole new level. The 2 stage pump came next and all I can say is I Love It.

Just to add the hull developed an issue after two seasons of countless trips. The customer service team responded with great care and we resolved the cause and they shipped me a new hull. I wish all customer service was as good.

show full review ▼

Sea Eagle is the Best!!!!

1/30/2018
5.0 out of 5 stars. Kenneth Ryker , CORVALLIS Verified Owner

All’s well !! We really like it, all around great boat! Just wish it came with a plan for making more time to use it...

Sea Eagle's reply:

Aim for once and week and before long it will become a way of life!