180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 4/30/2018
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 393rl Inflatable Kayak Reviews

2 Discount Packages available. starting at $849

393rl Reviews (49 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

4/13/2018
David Straka , Evansville Verified Owner
David Straka's boat David Straka's boat

I chose the 393rl because inflateable was my best option. Being inflateable admittedly adds an element of fragility due to puncture, but the warranty seemed very good. Little did I know that there could also be a manufacturing defect that could happen. That was indeed my problem the day after going to Kentucky lake to view the full eclipse last August, as a seam on the hull leaked after our viewing what was undeniably the most spectacular solar event. Luckily it was very slow and did not impact the event and only appeared later that day. After getting home, I inflated the hull again and was able to locate the leak at a seam. I contacted the guys at SeaEagle, and my hull was well within the warranty period. SeaEagle replaced the hull within a few days! Great service and a great kayak. I recommend this craft to folks who need portability and space savings.

4/4/2018
Joann Scott , BEND Verified Owner

Love it

3/7/2018
Matt Soeffner , Mesa Verified Owner
Matt Soeffner's boat

I just recently added a second 393rl to my fleet and couldn't be happier! The kayak sets up fast (love my electric pump!) and only takes about 5 minutes to get on the water. I am constantly getting on the water faster than hardshell kayak owners can with all the hassle they have of loading and unloading from the top of a car (who needs that headache!)

more ▼
2/22/2018
John Capets , HUNTERSVILLE Verified Owner

We love the portability and performance of our 393rl. We bought two of them. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a go-anywhere solution for flat-water paddling. The ONLY reservation that I have is with the size of the carry bag. It needs to be about 25% larger. This is a constant source of irritation trying to put the kayak back into the bag. I have watched the company's videos on repacking and have used the electric pump to suction out the excess air, but the bag is just too small. I give the kayak five stars but the bag issue knocks off one star for me.

more ▼
Sea Eagle's reply:

Hi John, we have gone to bigger bag and will be sending two of them out to you right away!

1/24/2018
Zoe Dubrow Verified Owner

I've had other inflatable kayaks in the past and this one is much better, it handles as well as a hard shell kayak. Really easy to blow up even with just the hand pump. It only takes me about 10 minutes total to set up.

1/22/2018
Daniel Long , CANON CITY Verified Owner

First of all, I think Sea Eagle boats are the best inflatable boats you can buy. That being said, my first couple of rides in my 393rl were a little sketchy. My previous boat was a paddleski . I bought that about 5 years ago. It was very stable and easy to row. Unfortunatley the wind pushed it around quite a bit. The 393rl has a much lower profile so that reduces that problem a lot. Stability is the problem. I consider myself a pretty good kayaker but I had a hard time feeling secure in this kayak. I guess I just need more time to get used to it. Also , the backpack for the kayak is not the easiest to pack up the kayak. I really struggle to get the kayak back in it. Other than those issues, the boat itself is great. Easy to inflate and deflate. It definitely moves through the water smoothly. I will keep trying to get used to my 393rl but it is definitely suited more for experienced kayakers.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Aloha Daniel, the RazorLite™ is indeed a high-performance kayak but it's easy to master. Just like riding a bike. There's a slight learning curve. Once you have it though - you have it and have taken your skills to the next level. Remember the skeg will help. Getting your paddle in the water as soon as possible for bracing and getting underway will help too. Just like riding a bike. When stationary you can either lay your paddle across your RazorLite™ (perpendicular) to act like a balance pole or keep a blade in the water for bracing. Before long you will have developed the core muscles needed and using your RazorLite™ will become natural. Give this video a try for packing ► youtu.be/Dfbp_lm3jGY a try! Should make it pretty easy.

1/15/2018
Kevin Shalosky , Ohio Verified Owner

Had an issue with the first one but Sea Eagle replaced it with new improved design at no cost. Great service! Can completely recommend RazerLite without reservations! Sets up super fast, amazing tracking, sturdy kayak. Tracking is a big problem with most inflatables but Sea Eagle has really outdone themselves with this boat.

12/16/2017
Richard Dykiel , ACTON Verified Owner
Richard Dykiel's boat

I'm using the kayak as a tender to my cruising sailboat when single-handling (which is most of the time). My sailboat is small but capable. I used to drag an inflatable dinghy but that reduced sailing performance. The kayak folds in a locker and is set up quickly to explore my favorite anchorages, which are rocky shores and islands like Maine. The kayak has outstanding performance, close to a rigid. The only drawbacks of the design is windage due to its high freeboard, which makes it harder to get going in strong winds, but still doable. On the other hand I like the open design that enables carrying stuff (e.g. backpacks or groceries). I find it tracks very well even without the skeg, which I never use in order to ease beaching, and rides the swells safely. I still think it reasonable to paddle in relatively protected waters and in calm to medium conditions.

more ▼
12/2/2017
Walter Maiwald , FOUNTAIN HILLS Verified Owner

After vacillating between the Fast Track and the RazorLite, I finally ordered the 393 rl. I have owned rigid kayaks before and I didn't expect this kind of performance in an inflatable. I was amazed how well the 393 tracked, the speed which I could attain, and the distance I could cover. Needless to say, after my wife tried my 393rl, she wanted one for herself. We love the portability and the ease of storage of the kayak. We have loaned our kayaks out to friends, and they have purchased their own 393rl's. That pretty much says it all. With the 180 day trial period and the 3 year warranty, you can't go wrong.

11/15/2017
Rebecca Wincell , Milwaukee Verified Owner

I LOVE my Sea Eagle! I do mainly river and lake kayaking but have had it out on Lake Michigan (staying in sight of shore). It is easy to paddle, tracks well, and best of all fits in my backseat! I had traditional hard shell kayaks and tried roof racks and a then a trailer but they were awkward to handle alone. The Sea Eagle folds up in the back seat of my compact car, inflates in less than 10 minutes and I am on the water. I did several group paddles and got lots of compliments and questions on it. I totally recommend it and plan to get a second one in the spring!

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images