Main Content
180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 11/30/2019
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 285fpb Inflatable Fishing Boat Reviews

4 Discount Packages available. starting at $799

285fpb Reviews (109 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

1/4/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Ronnie Elmore , Valentine, NE Verified Owner
Ronnie Elmore's boat

Enjoyed much ,, has given me as much or more than expected .... Caught a lot of fish from this baby .... I have noticed some changes to the newer model ,, those changes were the right ones .... Even so this boat,, AKA Water Spider as named by me ,, cruises the water very well.... I have had to come out from behind a small island only to get in a 30 mph wind with white caps ,, opened my eyes knowing we had to make it back to dock with no choice .... We rode the wind an caps without problem .... Had to ride a 3 foot swell made from a jet boat .... Up an over smoothly ,, nothing got wet or lost .... All in all AKA Water Spider got us to places we wanted to go giving us the enjoyment we need .... Thank God for our Spider ....

show full review ▼
1/4/2016
4.0 out of 5 stars. Patrick Mayers , Midland, TX Verified Owner

I really enjoy the boat on Texas rivers, not as much on lakes because of high boat traffic. I love the ability to stand in the boat to fish and the motor is just enough.

The good far outweighs any bad but a few recommendations:

Suggest a higher powered motor package. The 30 amp will do in most cases, but the need for speed is always there.

show full review ▼
Sea Eagle's reply:

Please take into consideration the floorboard can be position further forward and the seat anchored at the front most location to create room for the marine battery.

1/4/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. David A Lavigne , Windham, ME Verified Owner

Very satisfied with all aspects of this transaction. The boat is actually more than I expected. Very stable and because I am a senior very comfortable with the raised seating. I have installed an electric motor and again it performed excellently. On its maiden voyage on a remote trout pond in northern Maine landed 3 brook trout on a fly rod with the smallest being 19" and the largest being 23". all were released as this pond is designated as a trophy trout pond. Since seeing my boat in action My two fishing buddies are seriously considering purchasing the same boat as mine before our next trip. I would highly recommend this boat to anyone interested in a one person inflatable fishing boat. I would only make two suggestions to increase the versatility of this boat 1) add a leaning type bar to help when standing and 2) have the motor mount offset so that it would be easier to operate the motor.

1/4/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. David Freitag , Baltimore, MD Verified Owner

I have used my Sea Eagle 285fpb about 50 times since I have owned it for the last 3 years. Overall I think it is a big upgrade to my old fishing kayak. The comfort and portabliity are superior to those provided by my 12 ft sit on fishing kayak.

I can set up the 285 is under 15 minutes from car to lake with the assistance of an electric inflation pump I bought from amazon. Many folks have asked me where I bought this unique boat and I have gladly pointed them to Sea Eagle. I am very much a supporter of the company. The build qualty is excellent for this craft.

show full review ▼
1/4/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Rick Perry , Chilliwack, BC, Canada Verified Owner

Great boat have only used it a couple of times because of serious surgery problem. My son now has it and is enjoying it with his 7 year old catching lots of trout in Prince George BC

1/4/2016
3.0 out of 5 stars. John T Czohla , Lafayette, NJ Verified Owner

I initially really liked the boat. Its easy to transport and deploy and extremely stable on the water and goes well ender power from a electric motor. the only downfall I experienced was that it doesn't track well using the oars and spins and blows around a lot in the wind. I am currently looking to sell the boat but only because I need something to accommodate another person

Sea Eagle's reply:

Thank you for your review John, we believe with a little practice controlling your boat will come easier. We also see that you are looking for a two person boat. Have you considered the STS10? Here's a link: www.seaeagle.com/FramelessFishingBoats/STS10. Please keep in mind that it does have a similar oar set up as your 285fpb.

1/4/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Surann Stineman , Littleton, CO Verified Owner

My husband LOVES his boat!

1/4/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. John Bucchieri , Yuma, AZ Verified Owner

Good boat does what it was advertise to do.

1/4/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Terry Keen , Beckley, WV Verified Owner

I love my boat have used it many times on lakes and rivers. It is everything you would want in a small one person boat. I added a Minn Kota 40lb thrust trolling motor and it handles it well. I really like the stability also feel very safe when motoring around the lake and when riding the rapids on the New River & Greenbrier River.