180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states, excluding RIBs) available through 3/31/2019
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 385ft Inflatable Kayak Reviews

8 Discount Packages available. starting at $899

385ft Reviews (95 total, avg. review: 4.7 out of 5)

1/7/2016
Gary Johnson , Gary, IN Verified Owner

We are very satisfied. We have used it on small inland lakes, rivers, large lakes (Michigan and Moosehead) and in the Atlantic off the Maine coast. My wife, especially, was impressed with its stability and sense of security.

The portability and set up time are excellent. We have some issues with stowing it the same way each time--sometimes seem great, sometimes too large--so we might suggest providing instructions on the best folding options to make the most of its portability. It is a little heavier than we imagined, but not a big problem. The only service issue we had was at the beginning. Given the emphasis placed on not overinflating it seemed that the pump should be equipped with a pressure gauge. We promptly were supplied with one, but it is a bit awkward to use and it seems one that integrates more smoothly into the system could be provided.

more ▼
Sea Eagle's reply:

Gary, thank you for your honest review here's a video that shows what we feel is the easiest way to pack up your FastTrack™(Video: youtu.be/I3UbOhLz8L4, note the folding starts at 11:27). Of course you can vary the technique to suit your specific needs. Also the foot pump included with your FastTrack™ has been spec'd out so that at the point of resistance when you can pump no longer the psi is at the correct pressure. The foot pump has been designed to prevent any possibility of over inflation.

1/7/2016
Gilbert Snyder , Stuart, FL Verified Owner
Gilbert Snyder's boat

We travel in a Motorhome towing a CRV Honda. Our 385ft fits perfectly in the back of the car. My better half is a little nervous about using a kayak but feels very secure in the 385ft. I've made 10 mile paddles solo and really like the way it tracks. I would like to see a better way to provide foot rest for an improvement. I have recommended SEAEAGLE to my friends.

1/7/2016
Jeremy Knight , Bellingham, WA Verified Owner

I LOVE THESE THINGS! I was completely 100% new to kayaking when I purchased two of these. I'm from Whatcom County, Washington and took them to every single lake in the area. Even did a few couple mile long trips out in the ocean. These things track extremely well and are very durable and sturdy. I've had a few friends who own hard shell kayaks say that these Sea Eagle kayaks are the most comfortable kayaks they have ever been in. I've even had friends that were so impressed they asked to borrow them a ton over the summer! Every time I took them to the lake and blew them up or deflated them, I would get a ton of positive comments about them. And how easy they were to set up and put away. I own a Subaru hatchback and they fit perfectly in there with lots of room to spare. My favorite part about the 385 is how comfortable you feel once you get in the boat. I've had over 5 of my friends who are afraid of being in open water, love their experience with these things and they can't wait to join me again! Thanks!

1/7/2016
Joseph Rubino , Largo, FL Verified Owner

Very good buying experience. The 385 FT kayak has lived up to my expectations. Very Satisfied with the purchase, easy to inflate and launch.

11/2/2015
Mac posted on Paddling.net

I have owned 3 Sea Eagle kayaks. I still have the 370. I upgraded to the Fast Track 385. The 385 is definitely more stable and faster. The bottom of the 385 is much less prone to damage due to thicker and stronger. I kayak in salt water bays and rivers so a stronger bottom is a must due to oyster beds etc. I have been very happy with both kayaks. I live in a condo so storage of a inflatable is less more ▼

8/31/2015
Bob posted on Paddling.net

I live in a condo with very little storage space. I have been kayaking hard shell kayaks for over 10 years and was disappointed I could no longer have one. I looked into an inflatable and read all the reviews and hear great things about the Sea Eagle 385FT. I am glad I did, what a fantastic surprise. This is the 2014 with the NeedleKnife Keel.. It is just as fast as they say and tracks straight as an arrow. When you stop paddling it continues to glide straight. It inflates in less than 10 minutes. This is a great alternative to a traditional kayak.

7/21/2015
jamoaque posted on Paddling.net

This is an update to my original 7-26-2013 review in which I mentioned that I had trimmed down the length of their original skeg so the 385FT can handle shallower water. Since I have had multiple questions about it, I will give further background. I felt their original skeg was much longer than necessary, and I wanted to be able to handle shallow water. So I ordered a second skeg to cut down in length. I cut one down to about half the length (5 inches from base to tip) and started using it. I realized that I didn't even need such a long one anyway, so I sent the extra unused one back for a refund. There is just a bit of yaw when I paddle, but not much. So this way I just have one to deal with that works for everything. It was easy to do.

more ▼
7/4/2015
Hbrhoops posted on Paddling.net

I am very pleased with my FastTrack 385 from Sea Eagle. It is my first inflatable kayak and it easy to use and set up. Track well and work well with one or two people. Adjusting the seats (Two Tall Back Seats) take some time to get installed and adjusted the first few times we used it and went from one to two people. Everything else is easy and the video directions from the Sea Eagle Site are excellent.

My 7 year old granddaughter pumped it up in under 6 minutes with the foot pump. Very good pump and easy to use; built in pressure stop takes all the guess work out of the PSI level.

The storage back pack makes it easy to carry, and it easy to fold and unfold. Good paddles 8' AB40s and they break down for easy storage inside the trunk.

I bought it to take along in my travel trailer and not have to worry about a hard shell on top of the truck (Ram 1500). Kayak is easily stored inside vehicle or in travel trailer; locked up and out of sight.

Great on the water; lakes, ocean, and slow rivers. It is very stable, strong, and can handle two large adults.

I like it and I recommend it!

3/26/2015
Bill S. posted on Paddling.net

We purchased our Sea Eagle FastTrack 385 because we have a small condo and have no outside storage. The small storage size and low weight made this kayak perfect for condo dweller. The boat goes together very easily. I find the foot pump adequate for inflation.

I am a long-time canoeist and kayaker and I was very please with the FastTrack handling and surprising speed. The boat tracks very well, even in stiff wind. I have only 2 complaints.

more ▼
10/8/2014
RR posted on Paddling.net

This review is for a 2014 Sea Eagle Fast Track 385FT "Deluxe" tandem inflatable kayak with the "needle knife" keel.

The boat arrived in two cardboard boxes via UPS from New York to my home in southern Oregon. All of the major items were there and were undamaged and in new condition. The material seems very rugged and the fit and finish of seams, valves, d-rings, handles, etc. were very good.

more ▼

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images