180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 4/30/2018
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 385ft Inflatable Kayak Reviews

8 Discount Packages available. starting at $899

385ft Reviews (81 total, avg. review: 4.7 out of 5)

1/31/2014
Gary M posted on Paddling.net

Overall for lakes and bodies of water greater than 12" deep the FastTrack is a great inflatable kayak. However, for skinny rivers (like many smaller rivers in the summer that have shallow spots) the FastTrack has problems. Because of the inflatable skeg up front the FastTrack requires the paddler(s) to have the rear skeg in place which makes the FastTrack unusable in many shallow spots or rivers with submersed tree branches. If someone reverses ends to track better without the rear skeg in place the square front of the inflatable skeg gets hung up on submersed objects.

more ▼
1/27/2014
Mike S. posted on Paddling.net

My wife and I have both a 2012 Sea Eagle FastTrack 385 and a 2013 Explorer 380X model kayaks. Both are excellent boats that easily store in our small hatchback and are built tough but we are very careful about which one we use on our trips. While both are capable of traversing flat water and whitewater neither one is perfect for every adventure.

more ▼
10/23/2013
docscott posted on Paddling.net

The previous year design was actually better with larger side tubes in the bow. I got the 2013 which has smaller side tubes that are tapered down toward the bow, not so good in rougher waters. I would not recommend it for two paddlers, unless the bow-person likes to get wet.

The front keel seems to make tracking in following current or seas a bit of a challenge. Otherwise, this is an exceptionally stable kayak. You have to try hard to tip it over. The deluxe seat makes paddling it easier because you sit higher than in the Pro-highback seats. The paddles are long, making them heavier than most kayak paddles. Therefore, I recommend the available carbon fiber paddle for it's lighter weight(really nice). I eventually passed up on this boat and went with their Explorer 380 and carbon fiber paddles

7/26/2013
jamoaque posted on Paddling.net

**NOTE**: this review is for the 385FT Classic 2012 model (not the new 2013 model).nn Overall an excellent, versatile kayak. Seems very tough - can strap it to top of van; have had it inflated for days and it keeps its pressure; rated for class 3 whitewater. Fairly light weight for such a tough boat. Has a large weight-bearing capacity. Works just as nicely solo as it does tandem.

more ▼
6/13/2013
Marty Krupitsky posted on Paddling.net

The new Sea Eagle 385ft deluxe, made of Thick 1000 denier material is an amazingly stable, streamlined inflatable kayak. Unlike most inflatables, you can't over pressure the 385 when using the supplied bellows pump. Smooth, fast, kayaking and approved for class 2 rapids.

1/23/2013
Pat posted on Paddling.net

The Sea Eagle 385ft is a very stable boat, you can not tip them over. I bought my Sea Eagle 385ft last January and used it everyday from April to October. They are very easy to set up and take down, no hard ware to contend with. Just blow it up and away you go. They fold up so you can keep it in the trunk of your car, very portable, only 35 lbs. You can use this kayak in up to class 3 rapids. I had my kayak out on lake Ontario this summer when the wind picked up. I had 4 foot waves to contend with and had no problem what so ever and felt very safe in my kayak. I would recommend this kayak to anybody 10 out of 10.

6/17/2012
amac posted on Paddling.net

I have been paddling inflatables for several years. I started off with the Sea Eagle 380X and eventually moved on to the 385 FastTrack. I have had the opportunity to paddle in several different types of IK's so am able to do a fairly good comparison.

There are several things I like best about the 385 FT.

•It is lightweight - I can carry it by myself if I am paddling solo and it is great to travel with.

more ▼
2/28/2012
BJL posted on Paddling.net

Love my Sea Eagle kayak/385 Fast Track

So far I have kayaked in NJ (Barnegat Bay, Motedeconk River) hope to kayak EBF Wildlife Refuge this summer. I have also kayaked Smith Mountain Lake in Virginia. Absolutely beautiful...a wonderful experience...purchased the compressor to inflate the kayak with a little more dignity...I have to keep up my image; the foot pump was just fine...it's a personal thing

9/23/2011
PDW posted on Paddling.net

I have a 385FT, and I love its versatility. With the detachable skeg, it tracks like a hard shell. It's easy to inflate and get in and out of the water for this mid-50's female solo paddler, and I've had it in high swells and scraping-the-bottom creeks. Love this boat

9/19/2011
irregularguy posted on Paddling.net

I've purchased the Fast Track 385 and I just love it. I bought it in the the end of spring and been boating 2-4Xweek. It's great that it folds up easily and goes into the trunk of my Honda with ease. The tracking is straight as an arrow with the skeg, otherwise you can go in circles very easily. At my age speed is not a factor anymore but it does travel slower than a rigid kayak there is plenty of more ▼

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images