Main Content
Due to high order and call volume we are seeing delays in processing and customer service wait times.
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968

Sea Eagle 385ft Inflatable Kayaks and Canoe Reviews

7 Discount Packages available. starting at $949

385ft Reviews (109 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

10/23/2013
4.0 out of 5 stars. docscott posted on Paddling.net

The previous year design was actually better with larger side tubes in the bow. I got the 2013 which has smaller side tubes that are tapered down toward the bow, not so good in rougher waters. I would not recommend it for two paddlers, unless the bow-person likes to get wet.

The front keel seems to make tracking in following current or seas a bit of a challenge. Otherwise, this is an exceptionally stable kayak. You have to try hard to tip it over. The deluxe seat makes paddling it easier because you sit higher than in the Pro-highback seats. The paddles are long, making them heavier than most kayak paddles. Therefore, I recommend the available carbon fiber paddle for it's lighter weight(really nice). I eventually passed up on this boat and went with their Explorer 380 and carbon fiber paddles

7/26/2013
4.0 out of 5 stars. jamoaque posted on Paddling.net

**NOTE**: this review is for the 385FT Classic 2012 model (not the new 2013 model).nn Overall an excellent, versatile kayak. Seems very tough - can strap it to top of van; have had it inflated for days and it keeps its pressure; rated for class 3 whitewater. Fairly light weight for such a tough boat. Has a large weight-bearing capacity. Works just as nicely solo as it does tandem.

show full review ▼

When tandem, it is nice with their inflatable "deluxe" seats, that you can position them wherever you want in the boat, i.e., you are not forced like w/ some kayaks to only put the seat(s) where there are rings to hook the seat onto. Very stable - can even stand up in it. Speed is OK. The long skeg helps it track perfectly straight, but it sticks so far down into the water; I have trimmed (sawed and ground off) several inches off the end of the skeg so it can handle shallower water. My family likes this kayak a lot.

Two things we like about inflatables. One is the portability - we have taken it both w/ vehicle and on flights, as it fits in a suitcase. (Added flexibility - can transport it inflated on top of a vehicle so it is always ready to go, but then when you want, you can deflate it and tuck it away inside.) The other is that since the seats are also inflatable in addition to the kayak, it is very comfortable; you can kind of lay back and stretch out, put your feet up, etc., when you want to relax, which you cannot do so easily w/ a hard-shell. (However, at times the air in the bottom part of the inflatable seat leaks out gradually when you sprawl out and stretch back - this is one thing they could make more robust.)

Misnomer: to call this a "Fast" track is somewhat of a misnomer. A detailed, consistent study w/ a GPS unit shows that Sea Eagle's basic SE370 "Sport" kayak for ~1/4 the price (approx. same 12.5' length as the Fast Track) and also a 10-foot hard-shell will both achieve the same speeds as the "Fast" Track. Typical range for solo of 2.8 to 3.4 mph for easy to steady paddling, 3.8-3.9 for firm paddling, and 4.4 or so for a sprint, with tandem paddling being only slightly faster. The Fast Track can not reach its "theoretical maximum hull speed." They really should have called it either a "Straight Track" since it does track very straight, or a "Versa Yak" since it does have many nice features and capabilities to it.

Therefore I am glad to see that Sea Eagle introduced a new design for Fast Track in 2013 that is more streamlined for better speed and glide; the compromise is that the new version is rated only up to class 2 rapids (yet this may actually not be an issue for most people, but is something to be aware of).

6/13/2013
5.0 out of 5 stars. Marty Krupitsky posted on Paddling.net

The new Sea Eagle 385ft deluxe, made of Thick 1000 denier material is an amazingly stable, streamlined inflatable kayak. Unlike most inflatables, you can't over pressure the 385 when using the supplied bellows pump. Smooth, fast, kayaking and approved for class 2 rapids.

1/23/2013
5.0 out of 5 stars. Pat posted on Paddling.net

The Sea Eagle 385ft is a very stable boat, you can not tip them over. I bought my Sea Eagle 385ft last January and used it everyday from April to October. They are very easy to set up and take down, no hard ware to contend with. Just blow it up and away you go. They fold up so you can keep it in the trunk of your car, very portable, only 35 lbs. You can use this kayak in up to class 3 rapids. I had my kayak out on lake Ontario this summer when the wind picked up. I had 4 foot waves to contend with and had no problem what so ever and felt very safe in my kayak. I would recommend this kayak to anybody 10 out of 10.

6/17/2012
5.0 out of 5 stars. amac posted on Paddling.net

I have been paddling inflatables for several years. I started off with the Sea Eagle 380X and eventually moved on to the 385 FastTrack. I have had the opportunity to paddle in several different types of IK's so am able to do a fairly good comparison.

There are several things I like best about the 385 FT.

•It is lightweight - I can carry it by myself if I am paddling solo and it is great to travel with.

show full review ▼

•I can adjust the seats around to suit my needs.

•It tracks well and can get some pretty good speed. The large skeg that comes with it is needed to get the good tracking. The only time you wouldn't want to use the skeg is if on a moving river. I got the tall back seats which are really comfortable for my back although not much padding on the actually seat.

This kayak is stable, easy to paddle and extremely comfortable. I took my Dad out kayaking for the first time in it and within 20 minutes he was out in it solo paddling like a pro - or at least like he knew what he was doing... The open deck is nice if you want to load it with gear or bring along your dog. If you are used to paddling a closed deck kayak it can take some time to get used to the different feel but personally for lake and bay kayaking I love it.

I think you get a lot for your money with the 385 FT and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a portable kayak that is easy to transport and store. I would not recommend it for long distance ocean kayaking - unless you plan to stick to the shoreline. Otherwise it's a great kayak.

2/28/2012
5.0 out of 5 stars. BJL posted on Paddling.net

Love my Sea Eagle kayak/385 Fast Track

So far I have kayaked in NJ (Barnegat Bay, Motedeconk River) hope to kayak EBF Wildlife Refuge this summer. I have also kayaked Smith Mountain Lake in Virginia. Absolutely beautiful...a wonderful experience...purchased the compressor to inflate the kayak with a little more dignity...I have to keep up my image; the foot pump was just fine...it's a personal thing

9/23/2011
5.0 out of 5 stars. PDW posted on Paddling.net

I have a 385FT, and I love its versatility. With the detachable skeg, it tracks like a hard shell. It's easy to inflate and get in and out of the water for this mid-50's female solo paddler, and I've had it in high swells and scraping-the-bottom creeks. Love this boat

9/19/2011
5.0 out of 5 stars. irregularguy posted on Paddling.net

I've purchased the Fast Track 385 and I just love it. I bought it in the the end of spring and been boating 2-4Xweek. It's great that it folds up easily and goes into the trunk of my Honda with ease. The tracking is straight as an arrow with the skeg, otherwise you can go in circles very easily. At my age speed is not a factor anymore but it does travel slower than a rigid kayak there is plenty of show full review ▼ room even with 2 paddlers.

room even with 2 paddlers.

Set up time is 10 minutes and taking my sweet time, you probably can do it in 8 but I'm not as young as I used to be. Take down time is less, as I wash & dry the kayak at home. Storage at home is a breeze due to the compact size of the bag, just any corner will do. I don't have any negatives to say about this boat.

I would recommend this kayak to anyone that is looking for an inflatable.

2/14/2011
4.5 out of 5 stars. Marty Krupitsky posted on Paddling.net

I recently purchased an inflatable 385ft from Sea Eagle. It is absolutely fantastic as a sit on top kayak and because of its drop stitch floor and keel, is as stable as some dock systems, making getting on and off a breeze. It tracks beautifully and is a great all around kayak that can be deflated easily and carried in your car trunk. My 7 foot friend is ordering the longer version (FastTrack 465) and is thrilled to be able to kayak without someone helping him out of the confines of a "normal" kayak.