Sea Eagle 420x Inflatable Kayaks and Canoe Reviews

7 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,099

Sandra Crespo Verified Owner 9/4/2018 5.0 out of 5 stars.

I can't say enough GREAT things about our new kayaks! Seriously we had no idea that inflatable kayaks would be SO awesome! We previously had two sit on top Hobie and Wilderness kayaks because we did not know having an inflatable more versatile one for our RV would even be possible! We have been full-time RV traveling for 2+ years and these Sea Eagles are super convenient because they don't take as much room and we don't have to constantly bring in and out of our RV!

show full review ▼

To say we love them is an understatement! We first heard about this brand from our fellow RVing friends who actually saved hubbys life thanks to their Sea Eagle as they were going down the Arkansas River in Colorado! Hubby was going down on his sit on top and the rapids kept flipping his kayak over while my friends Sea Eagles went right over the rocks with no issues! At one point hubby was able to hold on to our friends Sea Eagle and catch his breath again (this alone was a HUGE determining factor when we chose the 420x!) A++++ for Sea Eagle!

Michael Purdy Verified Owner 9/30/2018 5.0 out of 5 stars.

What a hoot! The 420 is easy to set up, extremely portable, simple to paddle. My wife and I are seniors now, we have always been adventurous and kayaking has opened a new door. We use it mainly to run rivers during spring run off.

Susan and Robert Solomon Verified Owner 12/2/2018 5.0 out of 5 stars.

We take the Sea Eagle along in the back of our pick-up truck when we go camping here in Florida to our great State Parks. We love the flexibility of this inflatable which has allowed us some great experiences exploring waterways we would never have seen due to not having a kayak with us. The little trolling motor is a plus when we tire of paddling or are heading into a strong wind.

Graham Yerby Verified Owner 2/6/2019 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Bought this after lots of consideration because my Old Town canoe was too "rocky" on the water for my wife. I was hoping for a stable, easy to move and durable kayak. I decided that the 420 would suit our size and needs. It was cheaper than another canoe and presented easier options for transporting. It arrived within a few days if ordering, was easy to put together and inflate. I did ask Sea Eagle helpdesk for advise about inflation pressure as I didn't get a pressure gauge, which would be a nice touch to be included. First use my wife loved it. Stable plenty of room and pretty tough. We found that it always went better with a skeg attached. I have now been converted to "good quality" inflatable boats and would highly recommend a Sea Eagle product.

Ty Stevens Verified Owner 3/4/2019 5.0 out of 5 stars.

I just love this Kayak, we have used it several times on lakes and white water and has performed perfectly. I hope to purchase another in the near future. The customer service has been great. I also look forward to purchasing additional accessories that will enhance the experience. I haven't purchased the pack yet but I look forward to packing into other locations with this kayak.

Erich Weber Verified Owner 3/11/2019 5.0 out of 5 stars.

We've only had one opportunity to use our Explorer 420, which was on the upper Columbia R. near Radium Hot Springs, B.C. last August (sorry, no picture). The boat was a joy to assemble, inflate and paddle, and we can't wait for spring and open water to enjoy it again - already planning trips on local lakes, as well as the Missouri R., Blackfoot R. and North Fork of the Flathead R. in Montana. I'd gladly recommend the Explorer line to others, and I'm considering your SUP and inflatable canoe. Thanks!

Rick West Verified Owner 5/15/2019 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Drive up to a launch site... unpack... in 15-18 minutes we are on the water and feeling free.

I travel with my work. My wife and I say we wish we had our ski boat... the water is inviting. We now have our SeaEagle 420x with us all the time... easy to unpack, carry and maneuver.

show full review ▼

With paddle against the wind and sail back... hoping to do our first over nighter soon... as it will carry all our camping gear with room to spare.

We selected this model because, I am a big man 6’3” 265lbs in early 60’s. It is very stable... even when I stretch my legs and I stand up.

Planning a white water trip also. Lots of fun.

Love it... my adult kids are hooked and saving for their SeaEagles.

Mark Kmieciak Verified Owner 6/24/2019 5.0 out of 5 stars.

Day 1 training: This Kayak was extremely stable even in the 20 mph winds we had today. We never felt like we were tipping over even with Elton (60 lb dog) climbing back in.

We tried a few different positions starting with Elton in front, then Laurie and I was in the back. About 50 yards out Elton decided to go back to shore, jumped in and started swimming. (yes he had his life jacket on). Laurie couldn't convince him to get back in the boat so I grabbed his life jacket handle and assisted him into the middle position in front of me. Working on best position for all of us.

show full review ▼

Day 2 training: With Laurie in the rear position, Elton in the middle and I was in the front but moved back a foot or so to balance weight equally.

Worked on teaching Elton to get in and out of the kayak in open water. After being told "Not to Jump Out" while we were paddling, it was

hard for us to get him to jump out, at least until I got in the water first.

Very stable even when re-entering kayak in open water.

Tim Luke Verified Owner 10/7/2019 5.0 out of 5 stars.

For years we have been crabbing for Dungeness in our cockpit and sit on top kayaks. Stability is an issue when you are in cold Pacific Northwest waters that can get windy and choppy at any time. We have always had at least 2 kayaks side by side to set and retrieve pots. Getting them to shore also takes 2 kayaks, one to hold steady and the other to tie down the pots. This limits the number of pots and presents the constant risk of a roll over.

show full review ▼

Last season good friends of ours came crabbing with us in north Puget Sound, in their 420x Sea Eagle kayak. They put 2 pots in the center and had no difficulty setting and retrieving them. We were so impressed we bought the 420x and have just finished our second Sea Eagle crabbing season. It's like sitting on a dock, even when it gets choppy. I go out alone with our dog and find it easy to transport and paddle. We also have used it on the local Cascade mountain rivers. It's so stable and maneuverable, I haven't had my other kayaks in the water this year.

Michael Olson Verified Owner 2/1/2020 5.0 out of 5 stars.

When I bought this 420X I did hours of research before making the purchase. All of the selling points that are important to me are true; very stable, easy storage, easy to inflate and deflate, etc. I used the 420X on the lower Clackamas River 3 times and on the Willamette River twice in the summer of 2019 and each experience was enjoyable and safe. I was happy with the speed I was able to maintain on the open watered Willamette and the stability it provided in the twisted rapid producing lower Clackamas. We were easily able to fit 3 adults into the Kayak; all of us under 6 ft tall and under 180 lbs. Overall, I recommend this watercraft and look forward to next summer where I'll take it out on the Pacific Ocean, new river experiences and revisit my local spots.