180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states, excluding RIBs) available through 2/28/2019
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 420x Inflatable Kayak Reviews

7 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,149

420x Reviews (40 total, avg. review: 4.7 out of 5)

1/7/2016
Ken Leys , Moosejaw, SASKATCHEWAN, Canada Verified Owner

We have alot of good times,we use it on the lakes and rivers, even did a little white water. Great unit easy to use and set up. We travel in 5th wheel the Kayks fits in the compartment and is ready to use in the a few minutes. One of our Daughters put our six grand children in the Kayak there ages were from 4 to 7 and down the river they went and all had room and fun.Had an other couple try our boat and they purchaced one a short time later.

more ▼
Sea Eagle's reply:
Ken Leys's boat

The trick is to pack/store your kayak with the skeg base flat. I assume because you have to slightly force the skeg in place that there is a deformity of some sort. Heating the skeg base up with a hair dryer and then inserting the replacement skeg and allowing it to cool will remedy this. The plastic mold wants to return to it's original shape. It just needs a little assistance. This video should help: youtu.be/I3UbOhLz8L4 (note the folding starts at 11:27) also Explorer Kayaks print instructions: www.seaeagle.com/img/InstructionalPDF/ExplorerKayaks.pdf (pg9).

1/7/2016
Bob Neidinger , Saint Joseph, MO Verified Owner
Bob Neidinger's boat Bob Neidinger's boat

We have the 420x Explorer and we absolutely love our Sea Eagle and can't wait for summer to go back on the water. It has plenty of room for two and our gear, our gear being: bottles of water, snacks, sunscreen, extra towels and my shoes. People were in disbelief to see such a big rigid kayak inflate from such a small pack. Many times we would go out on the main lake, during the busy times and in rough conditions, to the disbelief of on lookers. By the way it handles great in rough water. Every time we took our Sea Eagle out heads turned. Not only did heads turn but people of all ages and backgrounds wanted to know all about our Sea Eagle and I think we always did a good job of being Sea Eagle Ambassadors.

more ▼
1/7/2016
Vincent Kurpan , Hillsboro, OR Verified Owner

We like the Explorer better than the Fast Track because it is deeper so waves will not splash over the sides so easily and less worry about gear falling out. It does not track quite as well but we added a couple extra fins up front to help with that and we like it. We generally use canoe paddles to avoid being dripped on but it is faster with kayak paddles. It is a well made boat and very versatile. It's a good camping boat - which is mostly how we use it. I do wish the self bailing drain plugs sealed better. They don't leak much but even a little water means we have remove the floor and dry things before putting away. We always leave them in so will probably try sealing them permanently in some way. Overall, we like the explorer a lot. It's stable & safe and goes along pretty well for an inflatable. It's also light weight and easy to carry and stow. I would give it 5 stars if the drain plugs didn't leak at all.

11/9/2015
JuneauDale posted on Paddling.net

Let me start by saying Stacy and I are not avid paddlers, in fact, neither of us has ever sat in a kayak. I have been on several canoe trips and I hate to say it, I am a novice at best. The last trip I was on was about 30 years ago so I am sure time has not worked in my favor as an athlete.

We had issues the boat would need to address due to our unique geography. We live, work and play in Alaska. We live on the Gastineau Channel. The water we would be kayaking in has an average temperature of 47 degrees. Today's forecast for the channel is a Southeast wind of 35kt and 7 foot seas, air temperature of 45 degrees and rain. The beaches here have razor clams, mussel beds and are rocky. The tides in this area travel at 2 to 3 Kt and the tidal changes are as big as 25 feet. Those are a lot of hazards.

more ▼
9/21/2015
Lonnie K posted on Paddling.net

WOW What an incredible Sea Eagle 420X PRO kayak. I bought this kayak so my wife, 2- 40 pound dogs and myself could go kayaking in rivers. My wife was insistent that we won't go in any white water rivers above a class I and I had to agree in order to get our Sea Eagle 420. Now that we got the Kayak we went down a flat river one time with our dogs, Now my wife felt better knowing the kayak would not tip over, Then tried a class two and she liked the kayak and fast water even more. We had so much fun that we would now try a class III with our dogs. WE HAD A BLAST. The class III water waves were so large that when we dipped nose down between waves we got a bath from head to foot and loved it. We never once felt that we would even come close to tipping over even when we slid over some rocks and bounced off other rocks. If the kayak got turned sideways going around a rock I found it very easy to get the nose turned back down river. Now my wife and I dawned a couple of river kayak helmets and hit the big class IV rapids minus the dogs and we were howling with joy. I opened 8 of the self bailing drain holes and as fast as the water came in the kayak the water drained back out.

more ▼
9/8/2015
southforty posted on Paddling.net

We use our Sea Eagle when traveling. It is nice to have an inflatable boat that we can safely store out of sight when we leave out truck/car. We have used out sea eagle on many single and multi-day trips. It has been very durable and gets us where we want to go. It is not as fast as some boats but does a reasonable job. It took a while to get the hang of portaging our Sea Eagle but after a bit of experimenting we could do even 1/2 mile portages without too much trouble. We find it a great boat to have.

9/13/2014
db2000 posted on Paddling.net

I purchased the 2013 420X Pro. This is my 2nd summer of whitewater kayaking and I love it. I tried whitewater kayaking in a hard-shell but it takes too much skill and it seems far more dangerous. With my 420X I was able to bomb through class IV rapids without any trouble.

The 420X can plow into obstacles and bounce right off without showing any wear. I also take it out with my 2 daughters to for mild whitewater and flat water. I don't know of anyone else making a 3 person inflatable that is this versatile.

more ▼
3/12/2012
pcgolfer posted on Paddling.net

I have two inflatables (one pontoon and one kayak). Both are good boats, but they take forever to set up and I often get out and portage at some locations.

I ordered a 420x, and took it out with my wife. We live in Iowa, and are used to high winds. Well, I learned going downstream on a slow moving current into a 20-25 mph wind is not a good idea. There are times, when we were going upstream. Was that the boat's fault... no mine. The waves were 2 feet + high, and at no time did I ever have concerns. So I agree with others that these kayaks are not speed demons or masters of handling. What they are, is bombproof, extremely well built kayaks that come with everything you need.

more ▼
9/1/2010
Shane G posted on Paddling.net

I too am new to the world of kayaking, as is my family. We were looking for an activity that we could ALL do together and the 420x seemed to be the best answer for us.nn All in all, I am pretty pleased with the HULLS construction. I was at first frustrated with the inflation valves, but once I gathered how they functioned, I am pleased as punch. The electric pump is not necessary (imo) as it didn't take long at all to have the boat completely inflated and ready to go. Space wise, I am able to fit me, my wife and my daughter (as well as necessary gear AND the dog) I am over 6' and the wife is a couple of inches shy, so the added length of the 420x was essential.nn One thing I would suggest is to go with the DELUXE package as opposed to the PRO if you plan to have this boat on open water. The pro seats I think would be better suited for whitewater excursions as they put you LOW in the boat and it makes it a little more difficult to paddle on open water. That and the fact that the flag snaps are cheap (I broke 2 of them within the first 2 days). Of course this isn't a 'speedy' kayak but you can get and maintain comfortable speeds with 2 people in sync. (and of course the skeg is essential on flat water)

more ▼
9/28/2006
wade777 posted on Paddling.net

This is my first kayak/canoe or any boat for that matter so this review might not carry much weight with more experienced paddlers. I've enjoyed my explorer in a variety of conditions this past year and would definitely recommend it as a starter boat / camping boat for the storage space challenged individuals such as myself. I ordered the 420x Explorer as the 'Pro' package which has the upgraded seats and such, and I will say that I have not been dissapointed in the overall comfort the boat has. I researched many boats and read through Theboatpeople.com website, which has great info and isn't all that keen on these Sea Eagles, but still decided on this boat for what I needed to use it for -

more ▼

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images