Main Content
Due to high order and call volume we are seeing delays in processing and customer service wait times.
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968

Sea Eagle 420x Inflatable Kayaks and Canoe Reviews

7 Discount Packages available. starting at $999

420x Reviews (47 total, avg. review: 4.8 out of 5)

10/31/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Richard Gowans , MILTON Verified Owner

We love our sea eagle 420. It's super stable carries both of us and our two whippets with room left over. We have been down rivers, small rapids and on the Great Lakes this summer without any issues. The two stage pump makes Inflating and deflation a breeze. The kayak packs back into the storage bag with no issues very neat and tidy. I would recommend Sea Eagle to anyone, the customer service is outstanding.

7/11/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Mark Tatham , SALT LAKE CITY Verified Owner
Mark Tatham's boat

We bought our 420X for a multi day trip down the Rio Grande and it performed great. The water level was really low so we wouldn't have been able to use a regular kayak since they have a deeper draft. Our kayak is very controllable. The person at the back has to do most of the steering otherwise it will have a tendency to want to turn to go backwards down the river. Lots of room for camping kit and cooler box. Really a robust solid adventure machine. Love it.

6/18/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. John Donaldson , BULLARD Verified Owner

I love it,I would by from you guys again,when I get all my parts for my new engine,I will send you a video,water whizz

4/21/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Richard Reynolds , Dripping Springs Verified Owner

Great little boat. Extremely convenient. We use it on rivers and lakes often, and I am impressed with the overall strength of material. After several river runs I was worried about all the times I've hit large rocks and dragged the bottom of the boat; however, you can barely see any scratches. Often, my son and I will head to the river and take the boat in a Smart Car (small two-seat vehicle with a little luggage space behind the seats). I can fit the boat, seats, oars, battery inflation, vests, storage bins, and a small cooler in there. People are stunned to see us inflate a boat twice the length of my car and jump in the river. Fun stuff.

show full review ▼

Note for Staff: For future versions of this boat, you should include some kind of clip or bungee for all the drainage holes to make it easier to keep the caps completely open and off the drain holes for river runs. They can flop around a bit and partially cover the drainage holes from time to time. It's not a big deal, but something to consider.

Sea Eagle's reply:

Hi Richard, our recommendation is to tuck the caps in between inflatable floor and the rugged outer black fabric floor.

4/18/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Rick Mueller , Mesa Verified Owner
Selfie of Rick Mueller with their boat

We love our 420X Explorer. It's the perfect size for my wife and I plus our two dogs with gear. We find it to be a stable, comfortable boat on both rivers and lakes. I look forward to our first white water adventure with our Sea Eagle. Highly recommend this product.

4/1/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Breck Dickinson , El Centro, CA Verified Owner
Breck Dickinson's boat

I took this Kayak to the Aleutian Islands in January for its maiden voyage and was not disappointed. Next adventure is Prince of Wales Island in May, and then back to the Bering Sea in December. Most people are skeptical of inflatables but this is not a pool toy.

3/20/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. William Brackin , Marysville, WA Verified Owner
William Brackin's boat

I have been quite impressed with my Sea Eagle 420x. I have used it on lakes, ocean, and rivers, and it has performed well in all environments.

I used it on a recent trip on the Powell River Canoe Route in British Columbia where we paddled a series of lakes and portaged between them. At 42 lbs. it was easy to portage, and paddled well.

show full review ▼

We also recently ran a whitewater section of the Clackamas River in Oregon, and I was very impressed with how well it handled hitting rocks and dragging over gravel bars. I fully expected to see some damage on the bottom at the end of the trip, but there was none!

The size of the deflated boat is small enough to carry in the trunk of my Toyota Camry with room to spare. The foot pump inflates the 3 chambers very quickly, and the quick release valves allows it to be deflated and put away quickly too.

William Brackin, WA

2/26/2017
5.0 out of 5 stars. Gregory Gillis , Ferndale Verified Owner

61 Years Old. I Absolutely LOVE My Sea Eagle 420x,, Quality Is Exceptional!! Ease Of Inflation, Storage And Portability Are Second To None!! I Have Kayaked The Bay,, VERY Stable In The Sea, Even With Bigger Swells. The River Was AWESOME!!,, And Kayak Camping On My Local Large Lake's Is So Fun!! Load It With Gear And Away You Go!! Even By Myself, Loaded For Camping It Paddles Effortless Thru The Water!! I Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND This Kayak,, And Do,, To The Many People Who Ask About It!! LOVE IT!! Keep Up The Great Work Sea Eagle!! Sincerely,, Greg

12/12/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Peter G. Montague , New Brunswick Verified Owner

Great boat. Light, stable, strong, fun. No complaints.

7/29/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Scott Hazelton , Yreka, CA Verified Owner
Scott Hazelton's boat

Our first journey out with the Sea Eagle 420x. Had a blast on Taylor Lake (near Etna Summit, CA). I'm a big guy at 6'00" and 290 LBS and this yak wasn't even near at drawing water...very buoyant! My 13 year old daughter was able to stand up on it and use it as a paddle board...very stable! Only problem we had (no fault of Sea Eagles) was that we decided to haul our new 420x and two other sit on top kayaks the 1/4 mile from the trailhead to the lake. It was quite a task but well worth it as we had the lake to ourselves. Today was our first outing and so far, so good!