180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states, excluding RIBs) available through 12/25/2018
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 420x Inflatable Kayak Reviews

7 Discount Packages available. starting at $1,099

420x Reviews (36 total, avg. review: 4.7 out of 5)

4/21/2016
Simeon Ward , Lake Oswego, OR Verified Owner

Well beyond expectations.

Me and my dog (Ozzy The Wonder-Pup) are riders of motorcycles and do not own a car. We needed an inflatable that would allow us to explore the many rivers of Montana and the Pacific Northwest... One of exceptional quality (that would last for years) and uncompromising durability to get us through the FUN STUFF.

more ▼
2/12/2016
Brenden Osier , Concord, NC Verified Owner

Absolutely a fantastic boat. Very well made from high quality, professional grade materials and the accessories that came with the pro carbon package were top notch. The 420x is also a huge hit with the family on lake and beach vacations. All my little nieces can't stay off the thing! Thank you Sea Eagle! I will definitely be a return customer. :)

Sea Eagle's reply:

Absolutely a fantastic boat. Very well made from high quality, professional grade materials

1/13/2016
Hugo Ochoa , Bahia Blanca, Buenos Aires, Argentina Verified Owner

Hi Everybody

As an owner of a 420x I am very satisfied with the product. It is covering all my expectations for kayaking on lakes, rivers or in the sea.

The quality is very good.

One point to enhance the kayak could be a drainage on the rear for a more easy cleaning after use.

The order and delivery time was as promised and expected, and the customer service helped me being in Argentina when I have some issues with the local custom.

more ▼
1/8/2016
Howard Hildebrandt , Grand Junction, CO Verified Owner

Exactly what I needed for the rivers and lakes in Colorado. I could not be happier. Very solid and stable, love the floor..Howard

1/8/2016
Ross Phillips , Easton, MD Verified Owner

I've been very happy with my kayak! I've had it for about 6 months now and I have no complaints whatsoever!

1/7/2016
George Rapin , Burlington, WA Verified Owner
George Rapin's boat

We have a Krogen 42 trawler as our cruising boat and cruise in the northwest waters of British Columbia. During that time we stay at various anchorages in some of the most beautiful waters to be found anywhere. We bought the SeaEagle 420x to provide a safe way for my wife to take the dog ashore instead of having to use our dinghy. The 420x was stable, seaworthy and easy for her to get ashore and back again. It also became the preferable mode of touring the multitude of islands we frequent. You can get close to the surf surrounding the islets and not be fearful of damaging the kayak if you scrape a reef. Ours is a salt water application primarily. In the 10 years we have had a 380x and a 420x there has never been a deflated chamber. Yes, we are satisfied with this kayak and SeaEagle.

1/7/2016
Ken Leys , Moosejaw, SASKATCHEWAN, Canada Verified Owner

We have alot of good times,we use it on the lakes and rivers, even did a little white water. Great unit easy to use and set up. We travel in 5th wheel the Kayks fits in the compartment and is ready to use in the a few minutes. One of our Daughters put our six grand children in the Kayak there ages were from 4 to 7 and down the river they went and all had room and fun.Had an other couple try our boat and they purchaced one a short time later.

more ▼
Sea Eagle's reply:
Ken Leys's boat

The trick is to pack/store your kayak with the skeg base flat. I assume because you have to slightly force the skeg in place that there is a deformity of some sort. Heating the skeg base up with a hair dryer and then inserting the replacement skeg and allowing it to cool will remedy this. The plastic mold wants to return to it's original shape. It just needs a little assistance. This video should help: youtu.be/I3UbOhLz8L4 (note the folding starts at 11:27) also Explorer Kayaks print instructions: www.seaeagle.com/img/InstructionalPDF/ExplorerKayaks.pdf (pg9).

1/7/2016
Bob Neidinger , Saint Joseph, MO Verified Owner
Bob Neidinger's boat Bob Neidinger's boat

We have the 420x Explorer and we absolutely love our Sea Eagle and can't wait for summer to go back on the water. It has plenty of room for two and our gear, our gear being: bottles of water, snacks, sunscreen, extra towels and my shoes. People were in disbelief to see such a big rigid kayak inflate from such a small pack. Many times we would go out on the main lake, during the busy times and in rough conditions, to the disbelief of on lookers. By the way it handles great in rough water. Every time we took our Sea Eagle out heads turned. Not only did heads turn but people of all ages and backgrounds wanted to know all about our Sea Eagle and I think we always did a good job of being Sea Eagle Ambassadors.

more ▼
1/7/2016
Vincent Kurpan , Hillsboro, OR Verified Owner

We like the Explorer better than the Fast Track because it is deeper so waves will not splash over the sides so easily and less worry about gear falling out. It does not track quite as well but we added a couple extra fins up front to help with that and we like it. We generally use canoe paddles to avoid being dripped on but it is faster with kayak paddles. It is a well made boat and very versatile. It's a good camping boat - which is mostly how we use it. I do wish the self bailing drain plugs sealed better. They don't leak much but even a little water means we have remove the floor and dry things before putting away. We always leave them in so will probably try sealing them permanently in some way. Overall, we like the explorer a lot. It's stable & safe and goes along pretty well for an inflatable. It's also light weight and easy to carry and stow. I would give it 5 stars if the drain plugs didn't leak at all.

11/9/2015
JuneauDale posted on Paddling.net

Let me start by saying Stacy and I are not avid paddlers, in fact, neither of us has ever sat in a kayak. I have been on several canoe trips and I hate to say it, I am a novice at best. The last trip I was on was about 30 years ago so I am sure time has not worked in my favor as an athlete.

We had issues the boat would need to address due to our unique geography. We live, work and play in Alaska. We live on the Gastineau Channel. The water we would be kayaking in has an average temperature of 47 degrees. Today's forecast for the channel is a Southeast wind of 35kt and 7 foot seas, air temperature of 45 degrees and rain. The beaches here have razor clams, mussel beds and are rocky. The tides in this area travel at 2 to 3 Kt and the tidal changes are as big as 25 feet. Those are a lot of hazards.

more ▼

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images