180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 6/30/2018
Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 380x Inflatable Kayak Reviews

6 Discount Packages available. starting at $999

380x Reviews (72 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

9/15/2008
themnmoores posted on Paddling.net

After a lot of online research, I picked up a Sea Eagle Explorer 380 in June. Spent the summer fishing the Cannon and Mississippi river from the Explorer. This is one well put together boat, very tough and stable. My son and I did a run down the Porneuf river through Lava Hot Springs, many rapids and small waterfalls. At not time during all my trips I have I felt unstable like a regular kayak. The boat does not track like a regular kayak, but some practice in rowing and the rear stabilizer helps (think quick shallow strokes). I works well for two people to fish out of. My recommendation would be skip the tall back seats and go with the deluxe kayak seats, much better back support and comfort. They also let you sit 4 inches higher for easier fishing. The deluxe foot pump allows me to fill up the kayak in 5 minutes or less. Yes the Sea Eagle Explorer is more expensive but I look forward to many years of kayaking without it wearing out.

9/9/2008
Quigley posted on Paddling.net

Paddled at the Bay of Quinte in Ontario.

With the directional stabilizer boat tracks straight & moves slower than a kayak but faster than a canoe.

Paddling into a strong headwind requires effort but this is really a great boat that will handle open water & for some reason is easier paddled sitting up front as possible, & even easier when there is some weight behind you as the boat will carry it's momentum better.nn Big waves & boat wake are easily handled & still water is surprisingly fast.

more ▼
6/19/2008
Ken posted on Paddling.net

I've been fishing lakes in a Sea Eagle 420X for the past week. Most days in pretty high winds. ANY inflatable watercraft is going to be lumbering on flat water and catch wind like a sail. Nature of the beast. But the SE 420X was BY FAR the best inflatable I have ever used...AND my absolute favorite fly fishing boat of all time. I ordered a 380X after the 2nd day. I don't need the extra length more ▼

1/29/2008
JP posted on Paddling.net

We purchased a 340x and a 380X one each for my spouse and I in 2007. We are experienced paddlers with canoes and hard shell sea kayaks. While the Sea Eagles are sold as kayaks, they are really more like an inflatable Canoes (in terms of load carrying) that you paddle like a kayak, and which behaves like a raft.

In flatwater any substantial wind will seriously affect your progress and while this may be true of all water craft the effects are really serious with the sea eagle. We purchased the boats for long (read 7+ days) treks in rivers of Canadian wilderness. The boats are great for that. Have taken them in Class 3 rapids fully loaded, while you do get wet, the boat rides the rapids just like a raft. No more long portages. One benefit of these inflating crafts is that they load on aircraft at a fraction of the cost (or impossible for) hard shell watercraft. They pack inside your vehicle and no wind drag. We plan more river trips in 2008.

more ▼
8/31/2006
haught posted on Paddling.net

I first reviewed my 14 foot Sea Eagle in 2004 & thought I would add a couple of observations. I have used the boat in a wide variety of conditions & I still enjoy the boat's versatility. She excells at camping & load carrying. We took her to Baja Sur Mexico & was a comfortable day long fishing craft during an extended camping trip. Also discovered that she was perfect for birding & approaching wildlife - very quiet - you can't make noise if you bump your paddle into the side. Can be a bear in the Sea of Cortez winds, but all the paddlers I saw were working hard. Now that I have a home, I plan to buy a hard boat that I can throw onto the roof of my truck & go. The ritual of inflating, deflating, & wrestling her into a packable unit grows tiresome for casual paddles around the area. I could leave her ready to go, but fear the elements would get to her. Still, she has been a great boat & I will hang on to her for road trips & other suitable adventures.

8/19/2005
checkertail64 posted on Paddling.net

I bought the 380 two years ago as a go anywhere boat. Nope this won't give you a hard shell's performance on flat water but if you are looking for quality, load capacity and at an economical price, this is a great boat. The skeg will really help out in flat water as will not carrying your stroke past 90 degrees otherwise you get that left/right fishtail go nowhere movement. The hull is rugged raft type material. This is a great multi purpose boat which will find itself at home in an apt closet.

7/22/2004
sailmaster posted on Paddling.net

I bought the boat 2 years ago because my wife insisted on a tandem. As it turns out, this boat is a perfect starting out boat for newbys. With the skeg mounted, the tracking is good on flat water, I think this boat may be impossible to capsize, we have paddled the Puget Sound and many lakes between there and Los Angeles. It handles ocean as well as lakes. I haven't tryed witewater yet in it but plan to next month. I strongly recommend this boat if you are thinking about giving Kayaks a try for the first time. I also own hard kayaks but we keep coming back to the Sea Eagle because it is stress free and holds everything you could want.

7/5/2004
JTR posted on Paddling.net

First, this kayak is not comparable to a "hard" kayak, but it will fit in the backseat or trunk of the smallest car when deflated. I purchased the boat to be used as a fishing craft in swift river situations. I have now owned this craft for 2 years. It handles well and performs admirably up to class III (I have not had to brave anything higher so far). The optional stablizer is almost necessary for flat water paddling. It is certainly a tough craft. I have bounced off many rocks and often suspend the craft on rocks to fish. I have even stood up in this kayak but this is definitely not recommended nor safe. The 380 is a good stable IK for fishing or fun in moderate white water. By the way, the fly fisherman's optional seat will raise your seated position about 3 inches--very helpful when fishing.

6/1/2004
haught posted on Paddling.net

I puchased the 380x because I have no place to keep a hard boat right now. I have been very pleased with craft, accepting its limitations. It is broad & doesn't have the speed of a sleek hard boat, but you gain a ton of comfort. For camping it's hard to beat its gear carrying capacity (850 lbs) and it's by far the most stable boat I've owned. The removable skeg permits very straight tracking & it can be removed for whitewater. I've paddled the California coast, Lake Mead, Kern River & lower Colorado river & the boats versatility has been exceptional. If you accept the craft for what she is, you have a versatile workhorse that will handle a variety of conditions.

5/2/2003
--- posted on Paddling.net

Not bad for an inflatable kayak. Though it is a very hard boat to paddle in flat water (maybe due to the large surface area in contact with the water) VERY VERY poor tracking for beginners in flat water. This is contrary to what they state on their web site .I think on their site they stated that there could be "hours and hours of flat water paddling enjoyment". Well, for beginners, it's going to be hours and hours of paddling in circles. That was my only major disappointment. (According to their website though, an optional stablizer is suppose to help improve tracking greatly. Another 40 bucks US) I haven't tried the boat yet in white water but from the looks of it, it's built to last so when I get better I'm definitely going to take her down a class 2 or 3. Prepare to get WET! because of the boats width, the water dripping from the paddles tend to drip on the pontoons and splash back into your lap or your seat. I will be upgrading my paddles as the flat ones that came with the boat weigh a ton. Other than those few things, this boat is good price wise and is pretty portable. I hope that with enough time and experience, maybe the boat will prove itself to me.

FREE 48 Page Huge Color Catalog

and sample hull material swatch

menu images