Main Content
180 Day Trial & FREE SHIPPING* (boat orders to lower 48 states) available through 4/30/2020
menu
Return to home page Quality Inflatable Kayaks, SUPs & Boats since 1968
1-800-748-8066
M-F, 9-5 EDT

Sea Eagle 380x Inflatable Kayaks and Canoe Reviews

6 Discount Packages available. starting at $899

380x Reviews (88 total, avg. review: 4.6 out of 5)

1/7/2016
5.0 out of 5 stars. Robert Williams , Oklahoma City, OK Verified Owner

Our inflatable kayak is just what my wife and I needed to enjoy lakes and rivers around Glacier Park. Easy to transport and inflate, comfortable and stable. I also use it for fishing and our dogs also enjoy an occasional ride.

1/7/2016
4.0 out of 5 stars. Bill Stansbury , Templeton, CA Verified Owner
Bill Stansbury's boat

We have had our Sea Eagle since 2005. We have been all over the continent. From Jasper, Alberta to San Diego.We have used our 380x in the ocean,lakes,lagoons,harbors and rivers. We have loaded it with gear and paddled to remote spots and camped for days. I have used it in class three rapids in seven different states and provinces. It has help produce some of fondness memories.

show full review ▼
8/27/2015
4.5 out of 5 stars. anave26 posted on Paddling.net

So, I've had my Sea Eagle 380X (new version with the 16 drain valves 38lbs) for about 2 weeks now and I've had the opportunity to get it out on flat water, open water and white water so I thought it was time to share my thoughts.

I give the 380X a 9 rating but that really should be a *9. The asterisk is because this is marketed as an all water, versatile kayak and it is... it's just not equally good on all types of water.

show full review ▼
8/26/2015
5.0 out of 5 stars. TK414 posted on Paddling.net

Sea Eagle is the best! They really do stand behind the money back guarantee/wty as I bought a FT385 and wasn't happy so they took it back w/out issue. I shopped all of the other inflatables (tried many) as well as hard shells trying to find the best "fit all for my needs". W/out a doubt the 380X is that boat. Tracks well w/fin. Not a touring boat but speed id decent. Stability is amazing. Handles boat wakes, white caps with ease. Can stand it in as well (tad tippy, but I'm top heavy too though). Def. stays drier than the FT-the larger pontoons keep a lot splash out and even the drip from the paddles (The openings for the drain plugs help collect any H2O that does venture in.) Went into a rock/tree ridden Texas lake cove, hit one submerged tree and thought "ouch that's gonna hurt". Not a mark. I find it very comfortable with the high back seats. Although I put a Boat cushion under it to lift it up a couple inches which really adds to the comfort especially with the inflatable foot rest. For easy paddling and and floating I added the inflatable cushion on top of the seat. This made it extremely comfortable and was just below pontoon level. In really rough water, I let the seat air out to add stability/lower center gravity.... Great Boat!!!

7/31/2015
3.5 out of 5 stars. SA posted on Paddling.net

I have owned the 380x for over a year now. I also own the SE 370, so I can compare the two. If you are considering purchasing the 380x, there are some pros and cons (sometimes the same things that are pros are cons!):

Pros:

-It bails quickly. I have sat, stuck, in a class III rapid, and witnessed the kayak not filling all the way.

show full review ▼
7/13/2015
5.0 out of 5 stars. Ed E posted on Paddling.net

Just came back from Monksville Reservoir in New Jersey for a 4-hour kayaking day trip with my new 380x. What an impressive inflatable kayak! Firstly, setup is literally less than 10 minutes. I especially like the adaptor for the valve being a twist in and twist out, pump and done! The seats also inflated with ease because of their boston valves. The floor, wow how rigid! making it super easy in and out of the boat! The material of the boat is as advertised - see the "hammer-cinderblock-Jeep" stress test, which made me a believer.

show full review ▼
4/22/2015
3.5 out of 5 stars. Suneel Kanuri posted on Paddling.net

Pros:

1. Stable & forgiving

2. Tough material.

3. Spacious

Cons:

1. Very slow in flat water.

You can find my detailed review (constantly updated with my experiences) with pics at:

http://funonbayou.blogspot.com/2015/03/sea-eagle-explorer-380x-brief-review.html

9/3/2014
4.5 out of 5 stars. JMS posted on Paddling.net

For the last two years I've owned both a SE 385 FastTrack and a SE 380X Explorer. Both are excellent inflatable kayaks each with their own strengths and weakness but the 380X Explorer is the best in my opinion. First, a little about my wife an I. She's 5 foot 0 inches and I'm 5 foot 8 inches and we are both very overweight. If you're a tall person or weigh over 200 pounds then this review will show full review ▼

pertain to you.
8/4/2014
5.0 out of 5 stars. BV posted on Paddling.net

The Sea Eagle Explorer (47 years in business!) is an excellent class IV rated white water inflatable - yes you heard right: inflatable - kayak.

I have had different types of hard shell and I can honestly say the Explorer soft shell 380x is an amazing Kayak very forgiving, you can sail, add a motor or paddle it. at the end of the day deflate it and pack it in your car trunk. this Kayak is very rugged and durable awesome unit highly recommend it.

7/3/2014
4.5 out of 5 stars. nenegrande posted on Paddling.net

If you enjoy the water you will love the Explorer 380x made by Sea Eagle. This inflatable kayak is tough and rugged and yet fairly spacious even for someone who is 6'8" like myself. It holds up to 750 lbs including cargo which gives plenty of space for overnight trips.

The 380x can handle class 3 and 4 with ease. this kayak is great in white water in addition to paddling in the ocean. I have used it to travel down the kayak down the Snake River in Wyoming and "kayak surfing" in California. I agree that a directional stabilizer or fin is needed if you do not want to fishtail while paddling on flat water.

show full review ▼